|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
How can I move 1 byte, variable field to a fixed length one? |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
jayffic |
Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2003 6:04 pm Post subject: How can I move 1 byte, variable field to a fixed length one? |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 12 Mar 2003 Posts: 12
|
I have a message definition of:
byte-field PIC X(1) occurs 29995 depending on length-field
I am trying to move this entire field to a new message; however, the only way I can seem to access it is by byte-field[length-field]. This only returns one byte which is not acceptable if my length is 29995 bytes.
Question is, how can I get the entire field to move?
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jayffic |
Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2003 6:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 12 Mar 2003 Posts: 12
|
OK, got past that one. Sorry no one had a response to this.
It looks like the COBOL import is to blame AGAIN! It appears it put an integer field under the occurs depending on field which made it a fixed single-byte field instead of a field that can be of varying length. I have some unkind words for this thing. But, I am objective and will re-test, and re-post, all of this once I have my message working.
Anyway, after removing the integer field, I changed the field to repeat: No. And made the length depend on the length field in the message (another mistake by the importer made it repeat the single byte field instead of the length). That fixed it.
And on to the next problem...(in another post) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kirani |
Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2003 9:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Jedi Knight
Joined: 05 Sep 2001 Posts: 3779 Location: Torrance, CA, USA
|
There were few bugs with CSD2 COBOL importer, but most of them are fixed in later CSD releases (CSD3 and CSD4). I'd recommend that you upgrade your CSD level.
I think what WMQI importer did was correct. As per your PIC clause, your field is single byte long and it repeats maximum 29995 times depending on the length-field.
If I am not wrong, your properties should be set to following in MRM:
Repeat set to Yes.
Max Occur set to 29995.
Repeat Value Of: length-field
Now it's upto you to see how best you can model this message in WMQI, so that it's easy for you to do the transformation. _________________ Kiran
IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|