Author |
Message
|
sachinramesh |
Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2023 6:11 am Post subject: Load Test on MQ Qmgr |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 20 Feb 2007 Posts: 170
|
Hi ,
I am working on a script to do Load test on MQ qmgr ,need some suggestions here.
I wanted to send some data on to the queue's with different sizes and check the put and get rate on the queue.
my question is
1.how do i send persistence messages on the queue(q properties are set to persistant,will this be enough)
2. how to check for the get and put rate on the queue
3.Is there any other things that we can test |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2023 7:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
Take a look a the MA0T Support Pac, which will give you what you want.
Look at the sample reports included to see if what you need is in there, otherwise Queue statistics etc. should give you what you need. _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gbaddeley |
Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2023 2:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 25 Mar 2003 Posts: 2538 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
Raw MQ put/get rate is not normally that useful, particularly in artificial tests like this, as the ultimate messaging performance is usually determined by other limitations and constraints, such as Application performance/efficiency, Database, Network, and to a lesser extent CPU, Disk speed and Memory.
It is more instructive to do end-to-end performance tests in a production-like environment, so that you can identify weaknesses and bottle-necks before the app goes into production. Usually MQ does not constrain performance. _________________ Glenn |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sachinramesh |
Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2023 12:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 20 Feb 2007 Posts: 170
|
Thanks Exerk and Gbaddeley for the inputs.
I am trying to load some data on to the queue's using various svrconn channels and then check the server and qmgr performance.
also i want to failover the server to a different node and check if there is any Data loss .
for this i have started to use q utility to write messages to the queue.i can write the messages but the channels connection is closing as soon as it writes the data .is there is any option to not close the channel connection.
my sample code looks like below
amqscnxc -x hostname -c TOOLS.MQMON
/me01/mq/share/bin/q -m TESTINGQM -o TEST.QUEUE -f /tmp/file.txt |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2023 2:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
sachinramesh wrote: |
...i can write the messages but the channels connection is closing as soon as it writes the data .is there is any option to not close the channel connection.
my sample code looks like below
amqscnxc -x hostname -c TOOLS.MQMON
/me01/mq/share/bin/q -m TESTINGQM -o TEST.QUEUE -f /tmp/file.txt |
Hardly surprising as that sample application is designed to connect to a queue manager, print on screen that it has done so (or not), and if successful it will immediately disconnect.
You could examine the source code of the sample, make changes and recompile, or use the suggested Support Pac. _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hughson |
Posted: Mon Oct 09, 2023 2:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 09 May 2013 Posts: 1959 Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
|
<vendor_plug>
I believe you might be able to achieve all you need to do by using this: QLOAD - Required Rate
</vendor_plug>
Cheers,
Morag _________________ Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gbaddeley |
Posted: Mon Oct 09, 2023 2:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 25 Mar 2003 Posts: 2538 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
sachinramesh wrote: |
...also i want to failover the server to a different node and check if there is any Data loss. |
If you are putting persistent messages to a MQ queue, there will be no data loss on failover. Browse the messages on the queue to check that they are persistent. eg. Use sample program amqsbcg. _________________ Glenn |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|