ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexWebSphere Message Broker SupportCannot start Debug port

Post new topicReply to topic
Cannot start Debug port View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
mca
PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2021 7:57 am Post subject: Cannot start Debug port Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 09 Mar 2005
Posts: 185

The developers are not able to start the Debug mode on the Dev environment, this was always working since many years, but now it complains that it cant start. This is happening on all Brokers and EGs defined on the server. What could have changed or how can i start debugging this, please advice...The error says...

Can not communicate with the flow engine.

Reason:
The flow engine has been attached to another debug session, or
The flow engine is not listening on the specified port, or
The Broker is not running, or
Timeout occurred while connecting

Resolution:
Assign a different debug port to the flow engine and restart the Broker, and
Ensure the flow engine is running and listening on the specified port, and
Ensure the broker is running or
Increase the timeout setting in the Preference page
Attach to server at BROKER:7208 failed.
Connection could not be established.
This can occur for one or more of these reasons:
The host name and/or port are incorrect.
The server on LinuxServer is not started in debug mode.
Communication timeouts in the Debug preferences (under the Java node in the Preferences dialog box) are not long enough.
The state of port 7208 on LinuxServer must be LISTENING. If the state of the port is ESTABLISHED, then another debug session is already connected to the port.
The "netstat" command line tool can be used to determine port status.
A firewall is interfering with the connection.
Ensure that these settings are properly made before attempting to attach to the server.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2021 9:54 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20458
Location: LI,NY

You are attaching the debugger to the wrong port.
You need to set a debug port onto the execution group. Then you need to attach to that debug group. If you do not see the debug port restart the execution group.
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mca
PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2021 10:10 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 09 Mar 2005
Posts: 185

I set the debug Port on the Execution group...

mqsichangeproperties TEST -e default
-o ComIbmJVMManager -n jvmDebugPort -v 7208

and also restarted the EG. I got that error. I am guessing the SLES upgrade or something is blocking the port. Before i reach to system admin, i want to amke sure i did my research and debug on the IIB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2021 9:27 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20458
Location: LI,NY

mca wrote:
I set the debug Port on the Execution group...

mqsichangeproperties TEST -e default
-o ComIbmJVMManager -n jvmDebugPort -v 7208

and also restarted the EG. I got that error. I am guessing the SLES upgrade or something is blocking the port. Before i reach to system admin, i want to amke sure i did my research and debug on the IIB.

Your port is chosen in the range of http ports for the broker.
Checkout the http/https ranges and use something else like port 22000...
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mca
PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2021 5:23 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 09 Mar 2005
Posts: 185

It was a firewall against the VPN issue. We were able to open the firewall for the debug port and its working now. Thank you for your assistance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexWebSphere Message Broker SupportCannot start Debug port
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.