ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexWebSphere Message Broker SupportIIB not making connection to Linux file

Post new topicReply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
IIB not making connection to Linux file View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
syedimtiyaz1234
PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2020 12:14 pm Post subject: IIB not making connection to Linux file Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 22 Jan 2018
Posts: 24

Hey Guys,

We have IIB 10.0.0.13 and in one message flow we are trying to use Trace node and Destination is as File.

And we logging to AIX server.

The flow is able to log the content to the file in Lower environment. but its not logging when we deployed to higher environment.

When we run this command
lsof <fileName>
in lower environment , it shows the details
COMMAND PID USER FD TYPE DEVICE SIZE/OFF NODE NAME
DataFlowE **** **** ****

but when i run the same command in other environment, it does not show anything.

SO it looks like IIB is not able to make connection to the files

I tried redeploying/Restarting but no luck.

we also did Log rotation to this but removed the setup just to rule out if this is causing issue.

Please let me know if you have any thoughts about it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2020 12:48 pm Post subject: Re: IIB not making connection to Linux file Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25979
Location: Texas, USA

syedimtiyaz1234 wrote:
Please let me know if you have any thoughts about it.


And you've confirmed the file permissions are the same in the lower (working) and upper (non-working) environment?

Because this sounds a lot like an OS level permissions problem.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syedimtiyaz1234
PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2020 5:02 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 22 Jan 2018
Posts: 24

Yes, i have checked the permission also and gave all required permission to Folder in linux.

And when i debugged it , i dont see any error.
I also used Debug trace and it looks fine.

but still not logging to the file. I even tried changing the location but still no luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2020 5:52 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25979
Location: Texas, USA

This still sounds OS level to me.

Is there a difference is configuration between the 2 environments? Is (for example) the directory on a local disc in the lower environment but on an NFS mount in the higher?
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syedimtiyaz1234
PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2020 5:53 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 22 Jan 2018
Posts: 24

now we tried to deploy to different Integration Server and it worked.

but when i tried to deploy to original EG , it still does not work.

So not sure what permission is missing for this EG.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2020 6:22 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25979
Location: Texas, USA

Everything is of course running as the same user?

Is the security local to AIX or delegated to LDAP?
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syedimtiyaz1234
PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2020 6:43 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 22 Jan 2018
Posts: 24

i did not get your question.

but the OS is Linux server. and yes all are running with same User.

Its not with LDAP.

but wht could be the configuration difference between 2 IS when it is running on same Linux server.

i see that below i have written AIX server, i think by mistake i wrote it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2020 8:24 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25979
Location: Texas, USA

syedimtiyaz1234 wrote:
but wht could be the configuration difference between 2 IS when it is running on same Linux server.


Ok, in your original post, you said:

syedimtiyaz1234 wrote:
The flow is able to log the content to the file in Lower environment. but its not logging when we deployed to higher environment.


So you have both environments running on the same server, logging to the same location?

syedimtiyaz1234 wrote:
i see that below i have written AIX server, i think by mistake i wrote it.


Significant, but doesn't change any of the advice.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syedimtiyaz1234
PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2020 11:04 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 22 Jan 2018
Posts: 24

maybe i am confusing , so let me write again:

we have 3 Non Prod Environment(different Broker/Different QM) both running on Different Linux server

Env1: Integration Server1---Deployed the App: Here logging is working
Env2: Integration Server1 --- Deployed the app: here logging is not working
when we deploy to Integration Server2 : the logging works

And just now i have deployed on Env3 and same behaviour as Env2. It does nor work on 1 IS.

So i am wondering why 1 EG is able to log and another not.

Initially i dinot try deploying to another EG. but later when i tried deploying to another EG then logging works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2020 11:15 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25979
Location: Texas, USA

Are all these logging to the same directory? Do you have contention?
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syedimtiyaz1234
PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2020 11:52 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 22 Jan 2018
Posts: 24

yes , the directory location doesnot change /data/apLogs/

when we deploy to one EG , it is still writing trace to /data/appLogs/
when we deploy to another EG , it is still same directory

I didnot get Contention meaning ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2020 12:12 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25979
Location: Texas, USA

syedimtiyaz1234 wrote:
I didnot get Contention meaning ?


That one EG is trying to write to the same file as another EG and can't because the first EG has it open.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syedimtiyaz1234
PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2020 12:53 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 22 Jan 2018
Posts: 24

No No, its the same Application, which writes log to one directory.

when i deploy to 1 EG , this application is not able to writes log to that directory file.

but I deploy to another EG after deleting from previous, the same application writes to that same directory.

so it rules out all possibility of permission issue on folders/files and also rules out the issue with Application as same Bar files works in different EG.

now the only issue i see on the EG but not able to figure out what and why from this EG , its not able to write.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2020 4:51 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25979
Location: Texas, USA

syedimtiyaz1234 wrote:
No No, its the same Application, which writes log to one directory.


But it's two instances of the same application.

syedimtiyaz1234 wrote:
when i deploy to 1 EG , this application is not able to writes log to that directory file.

but I deploy to another EG after deleting from previous, the same application writes to that same directory.


Because one instance had the file handle (and can write), the other one didn't.

syedimtiyaz1234 wrote:
so it rules out all possibility of permission issue on folders/files and also rules out the issue with Application as same Bar files works in different EG.


Absolutely. You've successfully eliminated permissions as a problem. What you have are different instances fighting over the same file resources.

syedimtiyaz1234 wrote:
now the only issue i see on the EG but not able to figure out what and why from this EG , its not able to write.


Because the file handle is inaccessible. Remember that Linux can't see what's deployed to the EG nor does it understand the architecture. All it can see is an instance of DataFlowEngine.exe (with a unique and specific PID) trying to write to a file. If anything else tries to write to that file, be it a DataFlowEngine with another PID or foo.exe, then it won't be allowed to.

Remember also that just because a flow has stopped doesn't mean the file handle is released. The file handle is owned by the EG not the flow so it can persist long after the flow has stopped using it.

Try this as an experiment. Use the ProcessId broker property to make the file name unique to each EG and see if that helps. Failing that, use it to make the directory unique.

Post your results.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syedimtiyaz1234
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2020 6:49 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 22 Jan 2018
Posts: 24

i have also tried removing from the original EG, meaning only 1 instance is deployed so its not like one EG is trying to lock the file.

I could not understand "see the ProcessId broker property to make the file name unique to each EG"

because there is only 1 message Flow that logs to that directory. and there is no other flow is logging to directory.

because when i do this command
lsof <fileName>

it just shows me one process id connected to this file
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next Page 1 of 2

MQSeries.net Forum IndexWebSphere Message Broker SupportIIB not making connection to Linux file
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.