ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexWebSphere Message Broker SupportMQ9 with MB7 , and Can IIB10 utilise the Same Qmger of MB7

Post new topicReply to topic
MQ9 with MB7 , and Can IIB10 utilise the Same Qmger of MB7 View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
ShubhP
PostPosted: Tue Oct 01, 2019 5:35 pm Post subject: MQ9 with MB7 , and Can IIB10 utilise the Same Qmger of MB7 Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 03 Jul 2019
Posts: 15

Hi All,

We are doing WMQ7 to WMQ9 migration which is in place migration, so current MQ configuration will be same as it is and just version get upgraded.

We are also doing WMBv7 migration to IIBv10 , which having a parallel migration approach, so IIB broker(Integration Node) will be run parallel to wmb broker in the same OS.

I have following two queries :

- Is WMB7 flows will be fine with WMQ9 ( is MQ9 is compatible with WMB7 flows ) ?

- Can IIB use the same Local MQ queue Manger while installing and further use, which WMB currently using ?

Please assist.

Thanks
ShubhP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
timber
PostPosted: Wed Oct 02, 2019 3:41 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Aug 2015
Posts: 1033

Quote:
- Is WMB7 flows will be fine with WMQ9 ( is MQ9 is compatible with WMB7 flows ) ?
After migrating to IIBv10, the flows will be IIBv10 flows. IIBv10 can use MQv9, so you should be OK.
Quote:
- Can IIB use the same Local MQ queue Manger while installing and further use, which WMB currently using ?
Not exactly sure what your migration strategy is. What do you mean by 'while installing and further use'?
Are you planning to upgrade WMQv7 to MQv9 first, and then upgrade WMBv7 to IIBv10 later? If so, you may run into problems with WMBv7/MQv9 compatibility.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
abhi_thri
PostPosted: Wed Oct 02, 2019 4:26 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 17 Jul 2017
Posts: 312
Location: UK

timber wrote:
Not exactly sure what your migration strategy is. What do you mean by 'while installing and further use'?
Are you planning to upgrade WMQv7 to MQv9 first, and then upgrade WMBv7 to IIBv10 later? If so, you may run into problems with WMBv7/MQv9 compatibility.


hi...i think the OP wants to run both v7 and v10 on the same local queue manager (which will be upgraded from v7 to v9)...don't think this will work as multiple brokers surely cannot use the same local queue manager, there is an option in v10 to connect via MQ client connection but that will require changes to your flows and in my opinion will add unnecessary complication.

Regarding your first query of whether Broker v7 will work with MQ v9, not sure whether that will work either...you could try creating a v7 Broker with v9 MQ to see whether that works.

In my opinion you are better off creating new instances of MQ and Broker and migrating the interfaces to it...even if you want to use a parallel migration approach you could have some sort of a traffic switcher (eg:- MQ Gateway/routing) which allows to switch interface traffic b/w v7 and v9 MQs (or get the client to reconnect to the new world) and then deploy whichever interface you want to migrate to the new Broker which uses the v9 QMgr.

Also the idea of running the new MQ/Broker on the existing servers, may be better to revisit this as it may be worth upgrading your hardware/operating systems as well.

v10 system requirements can be found here - https://www.ibm.com/support/pages/system-requirements-ibm-integration-bus-100
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShubhP
PostPosted: Wed Oct 02, 2019 6:07 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 03 Jul 2019
Posts: 15

timber wrote:
Quote:
- Is WMB7 flows will be fine with WMQ9 ( is MQ9 is compatible with WMB7 flows ) ?
After migrating to IIBv10, the flows will be IIBv10 flows. IIBv10 can use MQv9, so you should be OK.
Quote:
- Can IIB use the same Local MQ queue Manger while installing and further use, which WMB currently using ?
Not exactly sure what your migration strategy is. What do you mean by 'while installing and further use'?
Are you planning to upgrade WMQv7 to MQv9 first, and then upgrade WMBv7 to IIBv10 later? If so, you may run into problems with WMBv7/MQv9 compatibility.


Thanks timber,

- The plan is first upgrade the MQ from 7 to 9 , and then WMB migration from wmb7 to IIBv10.
- MQ upgrade will be inplace so dont know if WMB7 flows will work with MQ9 or Not.
-Yes We are planning MQ upgrade fisrt then WMB upgrade.
IIB Upgrade strategy is to have parallel migration that means WMB7 flows keep running and we will will IIBv10 on which we will deploy the same mb7 flows one be one.

Please suggest, what should e the best for MQ upgrade as that will be inplace upgrade. no two two Parallel WMQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShubhP
PostPosted: Wed Oct 02, 2019 6:17 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 03 Jul 2019
Posts: 15

abhi_thri wrote:
timber wrote:
Not exactly sure what your migration strategy is. What do you mean by 'while installing and further use'?
Are you planning to upgrade WMQv7 to MQv9 first, and then upgrade WMBv7 to IIBv10 later? If so, you may run into problems with WMBv7/MQv9 compatibility.


hi...i think the OP wants to run both v7 and v10 on the same local queue manager (which will be upgraded from v7 to v9)...don't think this will work as multiple brokers surely cannot use the same local queue manager, there is an option in v10 to connect via MQ client connection but that will require changes to your flows and in my opinion will add unnecessary complication.

Regarding your first query of whether Broker v7 will work with MQ v9, not sure whether that will work either...you could try creating a v7 Broker with v9 MQ to see whether that works.

In my opinion you are better off creating new instances of MQ and Broker and migrating the interfaces to it...even if you want to use a parallel migration approach you could have some sort of a traffic switcher (eg:- MQ Gateway/routing) which allows to switch interface traffic b/w v7 and v9 MQs (or get the client to reconnect to the new world) and then deploy whichever interface you want to migrate to the new Broker which uses the v9 QMgr.

Also the idea of running the new MQ/Broker on the existing servers, may be better to revisit this as it may be worth upgrading your hardware/operating systems as well.

v10 system requirements can be found here - https://www.ibm.com/support/pages/system-requirements-ibm-integration-bus-100



Thanks abhi,
When you say separate MQ instances, you mean MQ7 and MQ9 both needs to run in the same OS, and then to use MQ Gateway/routing to swith the flow.

Can we have two separate MQ version running in a same OS ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu Oct 03, 2019 5:46 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25823
Location: Ohio, USA

ShubhP wrote:
Can we have two separate MQ version running in a same OS ?




So long as you abide by the rules for coexistence and use the proper configuration to keep them separate.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
abhi_thri
PostPosted: Thu Oct 03, 2019 6:22 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 17 Jul 2017
Posts: 312
Location: UK

ShubhP wrote:

When you say separate MQ instances, you mean MQ7 and MQ9 both needs to run in the same OS, and then to use MQ Gateway/routing to swith the flow.


hi...what I meant was, you can leave the current server as-is and create a new server (with the latest OS version and better memory/cpu) for the new world where you can install MQ9 and IIB10.

Regarding switching traffic between old and new world, you could get the client apps to connect to an MQ Gateway Qmgr (create one in the new world if one doesn't exist at the moment) and use it to route traffic to WMB7 or IIB10 Qmgr.

PS: If the client apps are currently sending messages by directly connecting to Broker's local queue manager that is a bad pattern as it directly couples the application connections with the Broker server...eg:- if you need to restart the MQ/Broker server you will have to coordinate it with the client apps which is not ideal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexWebSphere Message Broker SupportMQ9 with MB7 , and Can IIB10 utilise the Same Qmger of MB7
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.