ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportRunning shell command using message flow in remote server

Post new topicReply to topic
Running shell command using message flow in remote server View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
vmanel
PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2019 4:45 am Post subject: Running shell command using message flow in remote server Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 12 Mar 2019
Posts: 37

Hi,

I want to run shell command (such as dmpmqmsg) in a server, but only mqm user can run such commands. So decided to create a flow which can invoke that command. But the problem is MQ and IIB are in different servers and MQ policy is used to connect to MQ from IIB. Since command should be dynamic based on the parameter entered by the user. Cannot set that in process definition directly and execute it. So is there a way to set process definition application id dynamically or any other way by which shell command can be run in MQ server by a flow present in IIB server? Or what other way can be used to run command as mqm user, as we cannot login as mqm user?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Mon Sep 16, 2019 4:34 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25855
Location: Texas, USA

This is not a good use case for IIB.

Speak to your system admins about what mechanisms they have set up to run privileged access commands on remote servers - for example a combination of ssh and sudo wrapped in a script.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HubertKleinmanns
PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 12:11 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Shaman

Joined: 24 Feb 2004
Posts: 724
Location: Germany

You could also use a triggered application which then switches to another user. You still need "sudo" but not "ssh" (which is not allowed in some companies). The triggered application may run as "mqm" or any other user you want. If you want to use another user than 'mqm', run a trigger monitor as this other user and grant this user with "setmqaut" (or "SET AUTHREC...).
_________________
Regards
Hubert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportRunning shell command using message flow in remote server
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.