ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportClear message and amqrmppa application

Post new topicReply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Clear message and amqrmppa application View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
pcouas
PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 2:19 am Post subject: Clear message and amqrmppa application Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 06 Sep 2011
Posts: 76

Hi

I tried to clear message with PCF commands, but i see with MQMON tool application in Usage application there is an application named "amqrmppa" on Channel
What is this application ? it seems blocking Clear ?
My Qmanager is in version 9.1.2.0 and my Java Jar using 8.0.0.6 version

Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HubertKleinmanns
PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 2:59 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Shaman

Joined: 24 Feb 2004
Posts: 723
Location: Germany

This is the (receiving) channel itself. Stop the receiver channel which opened the queue.

Do NOT kill the process, because it may handle more than one channel.
_________________
Regards
Hubert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pcouas
PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 3:53 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 06 Sep 2011
Posts: 76

Ok
But This channel could block CLEAR QUEUE operation and giving an 4004 Error ?

Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HubertKleinmanns
PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:13 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Shaman

Joined: 24 Feb 2004
Posts: 723
Location: Germany

Yes, if messages are put to a queue across a channel, the MCA (which is "amqrmppa") opens the queue and blocks the clear command.

Run the MQSC command
Code:
DISPLAY QSTATUS(<_your_queue_>) IPPROCS OPPROCS

to see, if there are any processes which opened the queue (IPPROCS and OPPROCS must both be "0").

Run the MQSC command
Code:
DISPLAY QSTATUS(<_your_queue_>) TYPE(HANDLE) APPLTAG

to see the process(es) which have opened the queue.
_________________
Regards
Hubert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pcouas
PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:59 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 06 Sep 2011
Posts: 76

So my Queue Connection is NOT CLOSED ? so i could not CLEAR !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 5:16 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8516
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

A quick Google search for 'mqsc clear queue command' resulted in this: https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/en/SSFKSJ_7.5.0/com.ibm.mq.ref.adm.doc/q085470_.htm which contains this:

Quote:
The command fails if either:
- The queue has uncommitted messages that have been put on the queue under syncpoint
- The queue is currently open by an application (with any open options)


So, yes.
_________________
There are two types of people in this world:
1) Those that can extrapolate from incomplete data
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HubertKleinmanns
PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 5:36 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Shaman

Joined: 24 Feb 2004
Posts: 723
Location: Germany

pcouas wrote:
So my Queue Connection is NOT CLOSED ? so i could not CLEAR !


As long as the channel process opens the queue, you should see a value of (at least) "1" for OPPROCS - and so you cannot CLEAR the queue.

As long as a reading process (e. g. an application) opens the queue, you should see a value of (at least) "1" for IPPROCS - and so you cannot CLEAR the queue too.
_________________
Regards
Hubert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
HubertKleinmanns
PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 5:44 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Shaman

Joined: 24 Feb 2004
Posts: 723
Location: Germany

bruce2359 wrote:
Quote:
The command fails if either:
- The queue has uncommitted messages that have been put on the queue under syncpoint
- The queue is currently open by an application (with any open options)

I would say, both statements tell the same, because when a eonnection to a QMgr disappears, the QMgr would either COMMIT (on a regular stop of the application) or BACKOUT (on an application crash) the messages.
_________________
Regards
Hubert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pcouas
PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 5:47 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 06 Sep 2011
Posts: 76

Hi,

Display QSTATUS give me an OPPROCS(1) and MSGAGE(0) before CLEAR QUEUE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 5:59 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8516
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

pcouas wrote:
Hi,

Display QSTATUS give me an OPPROCS(1) and MSGAGE(0) before CLEAR QUEUE

Is there a question here? The queue is clearly open, so the CLEAR command will fail.
_________________
There are two types of people in this world:
1) Those that can extrapolate from incomplete data
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pcouas
PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 6:08 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 06 Sep 2011
Posts: 76

Sorry
DISPLAY QSTATUS(E.MQEMMO2.MQEMMO3.X.205.QL) IPPROCS OPPROCS
--> OPPROCS(1)
DISPLAY QSTATUS(E.MQEMMO2.MQEMMO3.X.205.QL) TYPE(HANDLE) APPLTAG
--> APPLTAG(amqrmppa)


Last edited by pcouas on Wed Sep 11, 2019 6:09 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HubertKleinmanns
PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 6:09 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Shaman

Joined: 24 Feb 2004
Posts: 723
Location: Germany

pcouas wrote:
Hi,

Display QSTATUS give me an OPPROCS(1) and MSGAGE(0) before CLEAR QUEUE


Hmm, that's what bruce2359 and I told in our last threads:

The values for OPPROCS and IPPROCS must be "0".

And the command "QSTATUS" with options "TYPE(HANDLE) APPLTAG" would show (I'm pretty sure) the channel process "amqrmppa".

So STOP the channel before clearing the queue!

A queue must not be in use by any application, when you want to clear it.
_________________
Regards
Hubert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 6:13 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25847
Location: Texas, USA

HubertKleinmanns wrote:
So STOP the channel before clearing the queue!


While it may come to that, I'd be interested in the channel status and why the receiver MCA is persisting a handle on that queue.

Best case (which I think is where you're going) is that the channel is in active use and a remote application is putting messages to the queue being cleared. So stopping the queue will allow the target to be cleared, but at risk of causing problems upstream (like a full xmitq).

Worse case is the channel is stuck / in-doubt / some other condition which means the MCA is persisting the handle long after it should have closed it.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pcouas
PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 6:13 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 06 Sep 2011
Posts: 76

Humm

I create the Queue with Java program and i test it by sending and reading message in this new Queue !
I juste want be sure there is no new messsage in this Queue

Regards


Last edited by pcouas on Wed Sep 11, 2019 6:28 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 6:14 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25847
Location: Texas, USA

pcouas wrote:
I create the Queue with Java program and i test it by sending and reading message in this new Queue !
I juste want be sure there is no new messsage in tis Queue


Then in your place I would be very interested to discover why this queue manager process feels the need to open a handle to it.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next Page 1 of 3

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportClear message and amqrmppa application
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.