ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportMQ queuestatus - ASTATE(SUSPENDED)

Post new topicReply to topic
MQ queuestatus - ASTATE(SUSPENDED) View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
sarabennet
PostPosted: Wed Aug 14, 2019 5:18 am Post subject: MQ queuestatus - ASTATE(SUSPENDED) Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 23 Jun 2019
Posts: 8

Hi All,

We have a JMS application trying tp receive messages from MQ7.5 server. We see that the queue is showing ASTATE(SUSPENDED) and messages are starting to pile up. Only when the application is restarted, the messages are further processed. Is there a way to reprocess the messages without restarting the application?

Please help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed Aug 14, 2019 5:32 am Post subject: Re: MQ queuestatus - ASTATE(SUSPENDED) Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25841
Location: Texas, USA

sarabennet wrote:
Is there a way to reprocess the messages without restarting the application?


From this part of the product documentation:

Quote:
For asynchronous message consumption to proceed, the application must issue an MQCB call with the Operation parameter set to MQOP_RESUME.




Given that you seem surprised this is happening, I'd ask whoever owns the JMS application if they received this (from the same page):

Quote:
If it has been suspended by the system, as part of the process of suspending asynchronous message consumption the call-back function is initiated with the reason code that describes the problem resulting in suspension. This code is reported in the Reason field in the MQCBC structure that is passed to the call-back function.


Do they correctly handle such a situation, by responding to the reason code with an error? Or do they just eat it?

It's also worth asking them if they've done this (again from the same page you've clearly failed to find):

Quote:
an MQCB call with Operation MQOP_SUSPEND has been issued against this object handle by the application


Just in case they're deliberately suspending it and forgetting (or failing) to turn it back on.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportMQ queuestatus - ASTATE(SUSPENDED)
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.