ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportTIMEOUT 360

Post new topicReply to topic
TIMEOUT 360 View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
zrux
PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2019 7:32 am Post subject: TIMEOUT 360 Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 21 May 2006
Posts: 7
Location: UK

This is the scenario

VM1 has QM(QM1A, QM2A)
sending to

VM2 QM (QM1B)


We want the messages from QMs(QM1A, QM2A) on VM1 to QM (QM1B) on VM2 at the same time


We are able to send the message from QM1A -> QM1B (using SDR chl QM1A.QM1B )

We are able to send the message from QM2A -> QM1B (using SDR chl QM2A.QM1B )

but as soon as we try to start both the channels QM1A.QM1B and QM2A.QM1B the messages stops flowing and piles up on their XMITQs and we get the following error. the HBINT is set to 300.

Subsequent restart of the channels doesn't allow the messages to flow, till the channel is "resolved" .

The channel is set to "Trigger" and "Disconnect interval" set to 0, the rest of the values are defaults on the channel.
The system is not under heavy load, all critical parameters e.g CPU, Memory, IO is doing fine.
Any idea what could be going wrong here ..? Network issue?

.
AMQ9259: Connection timed out from host 'xxxx(yyyy)'.

EXPLANATION:
A connection from host 'xxxx(yyyy)' over TCP/IP timed out.
ACTION:
The select() [TIMEOUT] 360 seconds call timed out. Check to see why data was
not received in the expected time. Correct the problem. Reconnect the channel,
or wait for a retrying channel to reconnect itself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2019 7:45 am Post subject: Re: TIMEOUT 360 Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25823
Location: Ohio, USA

zrux wrote:
Any idea what could be going wrong here ..? Network issue?


Unlikely if resolving the channels fixes it

Post the channel definitions (obfuscating any sensitive stuff like the real IP addresses).

Are you absolutely certain you have 2 separate channels, with 1 sender on each of QM1A & QM2A and 2 receiver channels on QM1B? Because it sounds a lot like the sender channels are tripping over each other's sequence numbers somehow.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hughson
PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2019 3:00 pm Post subject: Re: TIMEOUT 360 Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 1253
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

zrux wrote:
Subsequent restart of the channels doesn't allow the messages to flow, till the channel is "resolved" .

What prompted you to RESOLVE the channel? Is there another error message that led you to issue that command. Can you show us the actual command you issued also?

Cheers,
Morag
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2019 3:34 pm Post subject: Re: TIMEOUT 360 Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia

zrux wrote:
...but as soon as we try to start both the channels QM1A.QM1B and QM2A.QM1B the messages stops flowing and piles up on their XMITQs and we get the following error. the HBINT is set to 300...

AMQ9259: Connection timed out from host 'xxxx(yyyy)'.
EXPLANATION:
A connection from host 'xxxx(yyyy)' over TCP/IP timed out.
ACTION:
The select() [TIMEOUT] 360 seconds call timed out. Check to see why data was not received in the expected time. Correct the problem. Reconnect the channel,or wait for a retrying channel to reconnect itself.

That's quite unusual. select() is a low level OS function that will be waiting on TCP data to be received. If it times out, there may be a network issue or an issue in the TCP stack or OS on either side. Are there any other errors in the log, or in /var/mqm/errors ?
_________________
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportTIMEOUT 360
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.