ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportHung IPPROCS on MQ Appliance

Post new topicReply to topic
Hung IPPROCS on MQ Appliance View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
ibmmqrock
PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2019 3:09 am Post subject: Hung IPPROCS on MQ Appliance Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 30 May 2019
Posts: 14

I have not seen this problem before but then I never used MQ appliance before.

we have shut down our application but we are still seeing IPPROCS on our MQ Appliance QMGR. We relooked but we could not find any application instances running, infact we killed all Java processes on application server and then we stopped SVRCONN channel manually on MQ Appliance QMGR.
But I am still seeing multiple IPPROCS on those local queues.

What could be the reason and if there is a way to fix it without restarting QMGR?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2019 3:49 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20130
Location: LI,NY

You need to look at dis conn(") where (objname = qname) or dis qs(qname) all
This will allow you to narrow down where the ipprocs are comming from.
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ibmmqrock
PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2019 7:22 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 30 May 2019
Posts: 14

fjb_saper wrote:
You need to look at dis conn(") where (objname = qname) or dis qs(qname) all
This will allow you to narrow down where the ipprocs are comming from.


Quote:
infact we killed all Java processes on application server and then we stopped SVRCONN channel manually on MQ Appliance QMGR.

Hi , it was showing the IP addresses of application servers and we went ahead and killed all Java processes and application instances on that server but it is still showing those IPPROCS.
looks like a bug on MQ Appliance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2019 7:30 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8525
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Have you opened a PMR with IBM on this issue?
_________________
There are two types of people in this world:
1) Those that can extrapolate from incomplete data
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hughson
PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2019 9:57 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 1282
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

ibmmqrock wrote:
fjb_saper wrote:
You need to look at dis conn(") where (objname = qname) or dis qs(qname) all
This will allow you to narrow down where the ipprocs are comming from.


Quote:
infact we killed all Java processes on application server and then we stopped SVRCONN channel manually on MQ Appliance QMGR.

Hi , it was showing the IP addresses of application servers and we went ahead and killed all Java processes and application instances on that server but it is still showing those IPPROCS.
looks like a bug on MQ Appliance.

When you stopped the SVRCONN channel manually, what command did you use?

Did you remember to use MODE(FORCE)?

In short, the queue manager still believes that there is a network connection for the application. Once it detects (or is told) that the network connection is not there, then the IPPROCs count should free up. Using STOP CHANNEL MODE(FORCE) will forcibly break the network connection.

Cheers,
Morag
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2019 7:52 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20130
Location: LI,NY

ibmmqrock wrote:

Hi , it was showing the IP addresses of application servers and we went ahead and killed all Java processes and application instances on that server but it is still showing those IPPROCS.
looks like a bug on MQ Appliance.

Who said it was a java process? Remember some tools (MO71) and programs do not use Java...
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportHung IPPROCS on MQ Appliance
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.