Author |
Message
|
mqsara |
Posted: Tue May 23, 2017 8:59 am Post subject: amqsmon GetFailCount - possible causes |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 03 Nov 2016 Posts: 6
|
Hello Everyone,
Need your inputs on finding the possible cause for amqsmon returning a high GetFailCount.
amsmon returned the below output
QMinDepth:QMaxDepth:PutCount:GetCount: GetFailCount: BrowseCount: BrowseFailCount:
0 51 2486 2486 2416 4910 4715
0 54 2285 2285 2214 4513 4176
0 88 1020 1020 893 1929 1702 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Tue May 23, 2017 9:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
The usual culprit is a RC 2033 no message available. Could also be queue attribute get(inhibited). Take a look at the IBM documentation for MQGET reason codes to see the small fleet of possible get failures. What errors did the app(s) catch? _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JPN |
Posted: Wed Jul 05, 2017 10:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 27 Feb 2015 Posts: 14
|
Queue depth is more than 15000 when we have the GetFailCount in the range of 5k. Could there be any other reason? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Wed Jul 05, 2017 11:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
JPN wrote: |
Queue depth is more than 15000 when we have the GetFailCount in the range of 5k. Could there be any other reason? |
Uncommitted messages count toward queue depth but are unavailable for GET could be one reason... _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
RogerLacroix |
Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2017 11:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 3264 Location: London, ON Canada
|
Bad programming? In a loop getting messages but forgot to clear MsgId and/or CorrelId before issuing the next MQGET.
Regards,
Roger Lacroix
Capitalware Inc. _________________ Capitalware: Transforming tomorrow into today.
Connected to MQ!
Twitter |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vicks_mq |
Posted: Fri May 10, 2019 12:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Disciple
Joined: 03 Oct 2017 Posts: 162
|
we have below statistics, our PUTCOUNT AND GETCOUNT is matching but still it is showing GetFailCount of 359. any reason for that?
QueueStatistics: 0
QueueName: 'ALPHA.BETA.CHARLIE'
CreateDate: '2016-04-13'
CreateTime: '10.33.07'
QueueType: Local
QueueDefinitionType: Predefined
QMinDepth: 0
QMaxDepth: 7
AverageQueueTime: [0, 46559]
PutCount: [0, 994]
PutFailCount: 0
Put1Count: [0, 0]
Put1FailCount: 0
PutBytes: [0, 5896474]
GetCount: [0, 994]
GetBytes: [0, 5896474]
GetFailCount: 359
BrowseCount: [0, 0]
BrowseBytes: [0, 0]
BrowseFailCount: 0
NonQueuedMsgCount: 0
ExpiredMsgCount: 0
PurgeCount: 0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hughson |
Posted: Sun May 12, 2019 7:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 09 May 2013 Posts: 1959 Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
|
vicks_mq wrote: |
we have below statistics, our PUTCOUNT AND GETCOUNT is matching but still it is showing GetFailCount of 359. any reason for that? |
Most likely is 359 x 2033 return codes. If you are not expecting that many unsatisfied MQGETs, check that your MQGMO.WaitInterval is using the correct units. A common programmer error is to believe it is in seconds!
Cheers,
Morag _________________ Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vicks_mq |
Posted: Sun May 12, 2019 1:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Disciple
Joined: 03 Oct 2017 Posts: 162
|
hughson wrote: |
vicks_mq wrote: |
we have below statistics, our PUTCOUNT AND GETCOUNT is matching but still it is showing GetFailCount of 359. any reason for that? |
Most likely is 359 x 2033 return codes. If you are not expecting that many unsatisfied MQGETs, check that your MQGMO.WaitInterval is using the correct units. A common programmer error is to believe it is in seconds!
Cheers,
Morag |
found out the root cause was some hung threads of application which was supposed to be not running and it was picking up chunk of messages causing the main application to return GET failure. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|