ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportHow to use Q MA01 Program to generate set of Test msgs

Post new topicReply to topic
How to use Q MA01 Program to generate set of Test msgs View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
vicks_mq
PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2019 6:04 am Post subject: How to use Q MA01 Program to generate set of Test msgs Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 03 Oct 2017
Posts: 155

Hi, I would like to know how to use Q program to generate 10,000 test messages and put them into the queue at an interval of 1 second.

we have received one message from the application team and we want to run some kind of stress test , so need count of 10,000 for those messages.

also, is there a way we can do Queue Splitter using Q program , like putting 12000 messages into 3 different queues.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2019 8:59 am Post subject: Re: How to use Q MA01 Program to generate set of Test msgs Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25614
Location: Ohio, USA

vicks_mq wrote:
Hi, I would like to know how to use Q program to generate 10,000 test messages and put them into the queue at an interval of 1 second.


You mean the withdrawn MA01 support pac?

<plug>You might want it's successor.</plug>

vicks_mq wrote:
we have received one message from the application team and we want to run some kind of stress test , so need count of 10,000 for those messages.


When you followed the instructions in the documentation for the Q program to do what you require (10k messages at 1 second intervals) what happened? What went wrong? Why did you post here?

Better information, better advice.

vicks_mq wrote:
is there a way we can do Queue Splitter using Q program , like putting 12000 messages into 3 different queues.


You can put 12k messages into 3 different queues by running Q 3 times.

If you mean put 4k messages into each queue from a single execution, I don't believe you can (unless the queues are in an MQ cluster obviously). You therefore have 3 options:

- see if someone knows better than me
- get the code from GitHub (where it's been put out to pasture) and amend it to your needs
- speak to <plug>MQGem</plug> and see if that has the facility, or if it can be added for you.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2019 10:06 am Post subject: Re: How to use Q MA01 Program to generate set of Test msgs Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6015

Vitor wrote:
...If you mean put 4k messages into each queue from a single execution, I don't believe you can (unless the queues are in an MQ cluster obviously)...

Pub/Sub, unless there are 'funnies' such as unique message IDs to worry about for Request/Reply purposes...
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vicks_mq
PostPosted: Wed May 08, 2019 2:15 am Post subject: Re: How to use Q MA01 Program to generate set of Test msgs Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 03 Oct 2017
Posts: 155

Vitor wrote:
vicks_mq wrote:
Hi, I would like to know how to use Q program to generate 10,000 test messages and put them into the queue at an interval of 1 second.


You mean the withdrawn MA01 support pac?

<plug>You might want it's successor.</plug>

vicks_mq wrote:
we have received one message from the application team and we want to run some kind of stress test , so need count of 10,000 for those messages.


When you followed the instructions in the documentation for the Q program to do what you require (10k messages at 1 second intervals) what happened? What went wrong? Why did you post here?

Well, I tried taking backup of a Queue which has 133 messages using this program and dumped into the file and then I tried to output that file into another queue but it put that as a single message instead of 133 different messages. This is not the expected behaviour.
/clocal/mqm/user/mqm/q -iPAPER.QUEUE -fPAPER.QUEUE_file_050819
/clocal/mqm/user/mqm/q -oTESTABC -FPAPER.QUEUE_file_050819


Better information, better advice.

vicks_mq wrote:
is there a way we can do Queue Splitter using Q program , like putting 12000 messages into 3 different queues.


You can put 12k messages into 3 different queues by running Q 3 times.

If you mean put 4k messages into each queue from a single execution, I don't believe you can (unless the queues are in an MQ cluster obviously). You therefore have 3 options:

- see if someone knows better than me
- get the code from GitHub (where it's been put out to pasture) and amend it to your needs
- speak to <plug>MQGem</plug> and see if that has the facility, or if it can be added for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed May 08, 2019 4:45 am Post subject: Re: How to use Q MA01 Program to generate set of Test msgs Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25614
Location: Ohio, USA

vicks_mq wrote:
Well, I tried taking backup of a Queue which has 133 messages using this program and dumped into the file and then I tried to output that file into another queue but it put that as a single message instead of 133 different messages. This is not the expected behaviour.
/clocal/mqm/user/mqm/q -iPAPER.QUEUE -fPAPER.QUEUE_file_050819
/clocal/mqm/user/mqm/q -oTESTABC -FPAPER.QUEUE_file_050819


Single message or single commit group?
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RogerLacroix
PostPosted: Wed May 08, 2019 3:38 pm Post subject: Re: How to use Q MA01 Program to generate set of Test msgs Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 3115
Location: London, ON Canada

vicks_mq wrote:
Well, I tried taking backup of a Queue which has 133 messages using this program and dumped into the file and then I tried to output that file into another queue but it put that as a single message instead of 133 different messages. This is not the expected behaviour.
/clocal/mqm/user/mqm/q -iPAPER.QUEUE -fPAPER.QUEUE_file_050819
/clocal/mqm/user/mqm/q -oTESTABC -FPAPER.QUEUE_file_050819

<Vendor_Plug>

May I suggest you try out MQ Visual Edit because what you want to do is very easy with MQ Visual Edit:

- Open the queue
- Select all messages Ctl-A or click View -> Select All
- Click Queue -> Backup Queue
- Pick your options, directory and filename then click Save

Next:
- Click Tools -> Put Server
- Select the Queue
- Change "Max number of messages to be written" to whatever value you want. Note: If your Backup file has 133 messages then it will be 133 times whatever number you input.
- Click the radio button for MQVE Backup file and click Browse button to select the Backup file
- Click the Start button

Done. It's that easy.

</Vendor_Plug>

Regards,
Roger Lacroix
Capitalware Inc.
_________________
Capitalware: Transforming tomorrow into today.
Connected to MQ!
Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
hughson
PostPosted: Wed May 08, 2019 11:09 pm Post subject: Re: How to use Q MA01 Program to generate set of Test msgs Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 1075
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

vicks_mq wrote:
Hi, I would like to know how to use Q program to generate 10,000 test messages and put them into the queue at an interval of 1 second.

Q really isn't designed for storage of messages to a file. QLOAD would be a more appropriate tool for such. However, there is little need for a file for what you wish to do. Suggest to have a side queue with your test messages on it, and use Q as follows to copy them to the new queue with the timing you want. e.g:-
Code:
q -iSAVED.MSGS -W 1000 -o TESTABC

Here the -W indicates how many milliseconds to wait before each MQGET, thus spreading out the puts to TESTABC to one per second. If you want feedback to the screen as it runs, you can add the -s flag on the end.

vicks_mq wrote:
Well, I tried taking backup of a Queue which has 133 messages using this program and dumped into the file and then I tried to output that file into another queue but it put that as a single message instead of 133 different messages. This is not the expected behaviour.
/clocal/mqm/user/mqm/q -iPAPER.QUEUE -fPAPER.QUEUE_file_050819
/clocal/mqm/user/mqm/q -oTESTABC -FPAPER.QUEUE_file_050819

Here you used the -F (captial) rather than -f (lower case). These have different meaning.
  • [-f Input file] Each line is one message
  • [-F Load/Unload file] Entire file for one message


vicks_mq wrote:
is there a way we can do Queue Splitter using Q program , like putting 12000 messages into 3 different queues.

You don't say whether you want a copy of each message to go to each queue or whether you want to round-robin. For the former, you can use Q as follows:-
Code:
q -iSAVED.MSGS -W1000 -ai -oQ1 -oQ1 -oQ1 -s

The -ai is optional. Use of that flag will cause individual MQPUTs to the destination queues, without, distribution lists will be used.

The round-robin behaviour does not exist in Q or QLOAD. Of course you can use MQ clustering, and just point Q or QLOAD at a single queue name and let MQ do it. If you're interested in that pattern being added to QLOAD get in touch off-board.

QLOAD has many capabilities that are useful for loading up test messages, including being able to copy the same timing pattern that they originally arrived in. QLOAD contains the MQMD information in the file as well as the message data so the PutTime can be used to create the same pattern when you re-load up the test messages. Having the MQMD also means that your test messages have the correct format, user id and so on, as well.

Cheers,
Morag
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vicks_mq
PostPosted: Thu May 09, 2019 12:28 am Post subject: Re: How to use Q MA01 Program to generate set of Test msgs Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 03 Oct 2017
Posts: 155

Hi, I would like to know how to use Q program to generate 10,000 test messages and put them into the queue at an interval of 1 second.
hughson wrote:
Q really isn't designed for storage of messages to a file. QLOAD would be a more appropriate tool for such
Morag, You are absolutely right..
hughson wrote:
However, there is little need for a file for what you wish to do.
Suggest to have a side queue with your test messages on it, and use Q as follows to copy them to the new queue with the timing you want. e.g:-
Code:
q -iSAVED.MSGS -W 1000 -o TESTABC

Here the -W indicates how many milliseconds to wait before each MQGET, thus spreading out the puts to TESTABC to one per second. If you want feedback to the screen as it runs, you can add the -s flag on the end.
Thanks for this command, but I am looking for How do I generate 10,000 copies of the same message? can Qload do that or Q program ? I got both just want to know if there is a way to do it.
What about generating with different MESSAGE IDs?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hughson
PostPosted: Thu May 09, 2019 12:37 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 1075
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

I would use QLOAD, and create the message you want if it is to be the same. Remove the line in the file with the message ID so a new one is generated each time.

Look into the Required Rate processing in the new QLOAD for useful techniques to load messages to a queue at the rate you need.

Cheers,
Morag
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vicks_mq
PostPosted: Thu May 09, 2019 5:33 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 03 Oct 2017
Posts: 155

hughson wrote:
I would use QLOAD, and create the message you want if it is to be the same. Remove the line in the file with the message ID so a new one is generated each time.

Look into the Required Rate processing in the new QLOAD for useful techniques to load messages to a queue at the rate you need.

Cheers,
Morag


Thank you Morag, I will definitely check it out
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vicks_mq
PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2019 4:04 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 03 Oct 2017
Posts: 155

hughson wrote:
I would use QLOAD, and create the message you want if it is to be the same. Remove the line in the file with the message ID so a new one is generated each time.

Look into the Required Rate processing in the new QLOAD for useful techniques to load messages to a queue at the rate you need.

Cheers,
Morag


Hi Morag, Qload is same program - opt/mqm/bin/dmpmqmsg , right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vicks_mq
PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2019 4:06 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 03 Oct 2017
Posts: 155

Also in the documenation, I could not find how to generate 10,000 copies of same message?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vicks_mq
PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2019 5:46 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 03 Oct 2017
Posts: 155

vicks_mq wrote:
Also in the documenation, I could not find how to generate 10,000 copies of same message?


In the MQGems documentation, I found how to copy the messages.

qload -i SOURCE -o TARGET -R500:300

This command instructs QLOAD to continue copying messages for 5 minutes. The other key difference about this command though is that if QLOAD reaches the end of the source queue then it will just start again at the first message.
this way we can repeatedly reach the end of SOURCE Q and then start over again.

But I don't see these parameters in the /dmpmqmsg utility with our MQ 8 installation. The above program specifically mention "qload", not sure of /dmpmqmsg will cover it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2019 8:28 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8364
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

vicks_mq wrote:
Also in the documenation, I could not find how to generate 10,000 copies of same message?

In future posts, when you refer to 'the documentation,' please post the URL for it.

IBM's Knowledge Center should be your first place to search for official MQ product doc.
_________________
There are two types of people in this world:
1) Those that can extrapolate from incomplete data
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulClarke
PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2019 8:45 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Guardian

Joined: 17 Nov 2005
Posts: 936
Location: New Zealand

vicks_mq wrote:
hughson wrote:
I would use QLOAD, and create the message you want if it is to be the same. Remove the line in the file with the message ID so a new one is generated each time.

Look into the Required Rate processing in the new QLOAD for useful techniques to load messages to a queue at the rate you need.

Cheers,
Morag


Hi Morag, Qload is same program - opt/mqm/bin/dmpmqmsg , right?


QLOAD and dmpmqmsg both have the same roots. They are both based on the MO03 SupportPac I wrote many years ago when I worked for IBM. When I left IBM in 2012 the current version of MO03 was subsumed into the product as dmpmqmsg. However, I have continued developing and enhancing QLOAD to cater for a number of customer requests. As a consequence QLOAD can do an awful lot more than the vanilla dmpmqmsg can. It also has the advantage that if you raise a requirement it is very likely to be added

Cheers,
Paul.
_________________
Paul Clarke
MQGem Software
www.mqgem.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportHow to use Q MA01 Program to generate set of Test msgs
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.