ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportHow to improve throughput ?

Post new topicReply to topic
How to improve throughput ? View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
MQMB&WAS
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 6:51 am Post subject: How to improve throughput ? Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 12 Jun 2016
Posts: 88

Hello everyone,

We have a JAVA app that GETs persistent msgs in syncpoint from a remote qmgr (Linux). Each transaction takes about 2 -3 seconds. The problem is, the through is very less (app is able to GET about 80 -100 msg/sec ) and this rate doesn't change with tweaking the no. of concurrent connections (tested with 50.,100, 200 conns) and the Kernel settings are all high. I don't see any errors on MQ side. I'd appreciate if someone could tell what else to check/try to improve the throughput.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mvic
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 7:03 am Post subject: Re: How to improve throughput ? Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 2050

Sounds like you are bottle-necking on something outside of MQ.
How big are the messages?
What is your Q depth like in this period of time? Does it steadily grow?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MQMB&WAS
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 7:40 am Post subject: Re: How to improve throughput ? Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 12 Jun 2016
Posts: 88

mvic wrote:
Sounds like you are bottle-necking on something outside of MQ.
How big are the messages?
What is your Q depth like in this period of time? Does it steadily grow?


Messages are of 15KB size. Queue Depth wasn't more than 45K and it doesn't grow while getting the messages.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 10:02 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8128
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Is there a data base involved in the transactions?
_________________
I would tell you a UDP joke, but you might not get it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MQMB&WAS
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 10:25 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 12 Jun 2016
Posts: 88

bruce2359 wrote:
Is there a data base involved in the transactions?


There's no DB involved. The client is a b2b integrator, it GETs the message, transforms it and then sends it to a vendor.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 12:03 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8128
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Transforms it how?
_________________
I would tell you a UDP joke, but you might not get it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 4:11 pm Post subject: Re: How to improve throughput ? Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 1870
Location: Melbourne, Australia

mvic wrote:
Sounds like you are bottle-necking on something outside of MQ.

Agree. Check CPU and network utilisation on both sides. Check the elapsed time per transaction for "b2b integrator, transforms it and then sends it to a vendor".
_________________
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hughson
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2018 12:58 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Shaman

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 796
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

Try turning on application activity trace which will show you how long each MQ verb takes. That will help you determine whether to eliminate or investigate the MQ parts of the transaction.

Here's the presentation I gave on Application Activity Trace at last year's MQTC conference. See page 12 where each MQ verb has a time in micro seconds next to it.

Cheers,
Morag
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PeterPotkay
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2018 9:46 am Post subject: Re: How to improve throughput ? Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 7459

MQMB&WAS wrote:
Each transaction takes about 2 -3 seconds. The problem is, the through is very less (app is able to GET about 80 -100 msg/sec )

How do you know the app can get 80-100 msg/sec it its only doing one every 2 to 3 seconds?
_________________
Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mvic
PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2018 2:59 pm Post subject: Re: How to improve throughput ? Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 2050

MQMB&WAS wrote:
Messages are of 15KB size. Queue Depth wasn't more than 45K and it doesn't grow while getting the messages.

So each transaction performed by your getter takes 2-3 seconds.
Let's say each one is exactly 2 seconds, and run some numbers.
One app would be able to process 0.5 messages per second.
If you have 200 apps processing in parallel, this gives a maximum of 200*0.5 = 100 messages per second over the whole 200-app suite.
This matches what you say you see from your test.
But MQ is not your limiting factor.
(To be fair, you did not say it was!)
If you start 400 apps in parallel, I guess you will get 400*0.5 = 200 messages per second, in total?
If you start 1000 apps in parallel, I guess you will get 1000*0.5 = 500 messages per second, in total?

I wonder what your app is doing for 2-3 seconds (others have asked the same).
It won't be spending much of it inside MQ.

If you try, but you can't get to 1000 apps in parallel, then again I do not think it will be MQ that is the bottleneck. MQ can move 1000*15KB = 15 MB per second via 1000 connections easily.
(The greater time taken within MQ will be connecting and opening queues, and I hope you're doing that once near the start of the app).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportHow to improve throughput ?
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.