ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportMQ Appliance and Housekeeping CRON JOBs and Security exit

Post new topicReply to topic
MQ Appliance and Housekeeping CRON JOBs and Security exit View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
krypton
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 5:29 am Post subject: MQ Appliance and Housekeeping CRON JOBs and Security exit Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 14 Mar 2010
Posts: 139

Hi, we are planning to migrate our whole MQ from our LINUX server to MQ Appliance.
we currently have MQ Housekeeping scripts running as cron jobs on our linux server, can we migrate those housekeeping scripts and cron jobs to MQ appliance BOX?

also, we have a client channel security exit jar on our LINUX MQ, can we migrate that?
if we can not, what are the options for channel security exits on the MQ appliance box?
_________________
Dreams are not something which you watch when you are asleep,it is something which doesn't let you sleep.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 5:51 am Post subject: Re: MQ Appliance and Housekeeping CRON JOBs and Security exi Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25165
Location: Ohio, USA

krypton wrote:
Hi, we are planning to migrate our whole MQ from our LINUX server to MQ Appliance.
we currently have MQ Housekeeping scripts running as cron jobs on our linux server, can we migrate those housekeeping scripts and cron jobs to MQ appliance BOX?

also, we have a client channel security exit jar on our LINUX MQ, can we migrate that?
if we can not, what are the options for channel security exits on the MQ appliance box?


See here.

You can't run user code directly on the Appliance, not even scripts (the appliance has no user-accessible Unix shell). You might be able to adapt the scripts to run as clients, but if you have no available server as you indicate in your other thread, that's not going to help.

What do the security exits do that you can't do in the base product, i.e. are these exits remediating a deficiency in an earlier version of MQ that you can now use base functionality for?
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krypton
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 6:06 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 14 Mar 2010
Posts: 139

Hi Vitor,

Thank you for your suggestion,

Quote:
What do the security exits do that you can't do in the base product, i.e. are these exits remediating a deficiency in an earlier version of MQ that you can now use base functionality for?


This is a Capitalware MQ User security exit which authenticate users UserID and Password against LDAP.
I think we can work around it but our main concern would be houskeeping cron jobs, we have around 10+ of them and they are really good in giving us updates about our MQ health on timely basis.
_________________
Dreams are not something which you watch when you are asleep,it is something which doesn't let you sleep.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 6:28 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 5921

Review what your housekeeping scripts do, and whether any are still relevant to being 'migrated'; Review what your cron jobs do, and whether any are still relevant to being 'migrated'.

All too often, when migrations/upgrades go in, stuff like that just gets copied across and not re-validated.

As regards the Capitalware exit, contact them for assistance.
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RogerLacroix
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 12:39 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 3069
Location: London, ON Canada

No vendor or user programs/exits can run on the MQ Appliance. Every year at MQTC, I bug the people from IBM Labs in Hursley UK, that the MQ Appliance needs to have an app store. If Apple and Google can create one then surely IBM can create one. But so far, the answer is no.

Regards,
Roger Lacroix
Capitalware Inc.
_________________
Capitalware: Transforming tomorrow into today.
Connected to MQ!
Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 4:12 pm Post subject: Re: MQ Appliance and Housekeeping CRON JOBs and Security exi Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 1871
Location: Melbourne, Australia

krypton wrote:
Hi, we are planning to migrate our whole MQ from our LINUX server to MQ Appliance.
we currently have MQ Housekeeping scripts running as cron jobs on our linux server, can we migrate those housekeeping scripts and cron jobs to MQ appliance BOX?

Can the housekeeping be done remotely? ie. Run on an external Linux server and use tools that support remote operation (MQ Client, SSH, SCP etc)
_________________
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krypton
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2018 8:39 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 14 Mar 2010
Posts: 139

Quote:
Can the housekeeping be done remotely? ie. Run on an external Linux server and use tools that support remote operation (MQ Client, SSH, SCP etc)


Thank you for replying. We were earlier planning not to do that but it seems we may not have a choice or we are planning to use a 3rd party tool like ITCAM to do the monitoring.

There is even a tool which mentions that -
http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.wss?uid=swg21700672
_________________
Dreams are not something which you watch when you are asleep,it is something which doesn't let you sleep.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2018 2:35 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 19744
Location: LI,NY

krypton wrote:
Quote:
Can the housekeeping be done remotely? ie. Run on an external Linux server and use tools that support remote operation (MQ Client, SSH, SCP etc)


Thank you for replying. We were earlier planning not to do that but it seems we may not have a choice or we are planning to use a 3rd party tool like ITCAM to do the monitoring.

There is even a tool which mentions that -
http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.wss?uid=swg21700672


Looks to me like you missed the most important part of the technote:
Quote:
ITCAM for WebSphere MQ Monitoring does not currently run on MQ Appliance.

_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportMQ Appliance and Housekeeping CRON JOBs and Security exit
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.