ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexClusteringMQ High Availability Setup in Azure

Post new topicReply to topic
MQ High Availability Setup in Azure View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
sdrazi
PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2018 8:25 am Post subject: MQ High Availability Setup in Azure Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 34

Hello

We have a high availability setup on premise for websphere MQ using microsoft failover cluster and it has worked pretty well for us over the years.
We want to migrate this setup over to Azure so wanted to check what should be our approach.
Multi Instance Queue manager setup is fairly well documented in some github documetation but because of the way clients connect to our MQ we cannot have IP address changes.
I havent found any documentation as it relates MQ setup in High Availability mode maintaining IP address on the MQ Queue Manager.


Any help/guidance is appreciated.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2018 9:07 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25298
Location: Ohio, USA

How do you have low availability on a cloud based solution? Isn't one of the key benefits that the cloud container restarts on failure?

Or is Azure another quality MSoft product?
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sdrazi
PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2018 11:04 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 34

Nice question . We had the same assumption when we were starting on our cloud journey.
We are going for IaaS which means Microsoft give 99.9% uptime SLA on the VM itself.
For production workloads Microsoft recommends a clustered environment
a. to get 99.95% uptime and
b. most importantly to guard against application/software issues sitting on the VM where HA setup gives additional redundancy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2018 11:13 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25298
Location: Ohio, USA

sdrazi wrote:
For production workloads Microsoft recommends a clustered environment


I bet they mean using MSCS and buying more Azure resource to do it.

sdrazi wrote:
I havent found any documentation as it relates MQ setup in High Availability mode maintaining IP address on the MQ Queue Manager.


Because it doesn't. The assumption of MI is that clients are using a connection list and automatic reconnect to go from one queue manager to the other in the event of a failover. If you can't change the clients (as you intimate) then this won't work for you.

I'd also be impressed if you could get 99.95% uptime from an MI solution.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sdrazi
PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2018 3:11 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 34

Yeah some form of clustering in Azure is what we are going to try but wanted to check if anyone has done it.

We havent used the Multi Instance concept yet though its an interesting one. In the context of this migration effort the client changes werent baked in so not an option.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mvic
PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2018 3:51 pm Post subject: Re: MQ High Availability Setup in Azure Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 2050

sdrazi wrote:
We have a high availability setup on premise for websphere MQ using microsoft failover cluster and it has worked pretty well for us over the years.
We want to migrate this setup over to Azure so wanted to check what should be our approach.

I am sorry if you have to reinvent a tried and tested system.
Doesn't MS provide a similar capability to the one you have already?
Yes I bet it costs $$$ but you (should) get value for that money.
Also, in the very newest 9.0.x releases of MQ there are HA RDQMs and DR RDQMs, which might be of interest (Linux only though, I think).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rammer
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2018 9:17 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 02 May 2002
Posts: 359
Location: England

Hi - Did you ever resolve a solution in Azure?, I am starting to look in AWS (request of client) but at moment I dont have a lot of knowledge on AWS, we do have AWS people though but there may be a disconnect between my understanding and theres...

From what I understand looking at using Kubernetes Container and wanting HA across AZ's.... trying to find some links that may help / discuss this even at a high level.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexClusteringMQ High Availability Setup in Azure
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.