ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportDo MQ remote connectios work in all cases?

Post new topicReply to topic
Do MQ remote connectios work in all cases? View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
MQMB&WAS
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 7:27 am Post subject: Do MQ remote connectios work in all cases? Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 12 Jun 2016
Posts: 88

Hi experts,

I'm looking for information on scenarios where MQ client connections do not work. Lets say, all our applications are having local mq qmgrs and connecting with local bindings, and Now, we want to move all the qmgrs to seperate VMs and have all the apps connect with client bindings. Do we need to be concerned about any scenarios where the client connections might not work? Do there exist any scenarios/requirements where only local bindings can be used?
Appreciate any inputs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 7:39 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8156
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Client bindings apps invoke bi-directional network flows for each MQI call; so, a reliable network is required. Network flows are slower than cross-memory flows; so, your apps will be slower than the equivalent server-bindings app.
_________________
I would tell you a UDP joke, but you might not get it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MQMB&WAS
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 8:02 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 12 Jun 2016
Posts: 88

bruce2359 wrote:
Client bindings apps invoke bi-directional network flows for each MQI call; so, a reliable network is required. Network flows are slower than cross-memory flows; so, your apps will be slower than the equivalent server-bindings app.


Thaks bruce. other than this performance issues, is there anything else that we need to be concerned about? And what about XA transactions, do they work ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 8:20 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8156
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Are the XA transactions local - only affect qmgr objects? Or, are databases or other resource managers involved?
_________________
I would tell you a UDP joke, but you might not get it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
markt
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 8:27 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Chevalier

Joined: 14 May 2002
Posts: 404

Clearly performance and reliability are potential issues, as are security requirements, and perhaps even things like data conversion. And of course, how configuration is managed for the connection.

But the one show-stopper is use of the MQBEGIN() verb where you are using MQ as a transaction coordinator for XA two-phase transactions. That is simply not possible with client connections.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MQMB&WAS
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 8:58 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 12 Jun 2016
Posts: 88

bruce2359 wrote:
Are the XA transactions local - only affect qmgr objects? Or, are databases or other resource managers involved?


we have both cases. How to remediate this if we want them to use client bindings?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 9:36 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 19758
Location: LI,NY

you cannot use MQ as a Transaction Manager (TM) when in client mode. MQ can participate in a global transaction as resource manager.
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Vitor
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 10:15 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25253
Location: Ohio, USA

fjb_saper wrote:
you cannot use MQ as a Transaction Manager (TM) when in client mode. MQ can participate in a global transaction as resource manager.


Unless you're using the ETC.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 12:40 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8156
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Vitor wrote:
fjb_saper wrote:
you cannot use MQ as a Transaction Manager (TM) when in client mode. MQ can participate in a global transaction as resource manager.


Unless you're using the ETC.

And the Unit of Work must be managed by an XA-compliant transaction manager like BeaTuxedo, TXSERIES, others.
_________________
I would tell you a UDP joke, but you might not get it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
markt
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 10:21 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Chevalier

Joined: 14 May 2002
Posts: 404

Quote:
Unless you're using the ETC.


No.

That feature (which has not existed for several releases, and whose function is part of the standard client) is only for RM (participant) access, not TM (coordinator).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MQMB&WAS
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 5:54 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 12 Jun 2016
Posts: 88

Thanks for all your inputs.
I have another question on client connections,
Is there anything called stateful and stateless client connections ? I couldn't find anything in infocenter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 8:50 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8156
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Applications are generally responsible for application-level state data. JMS allows for state data.

Channel state data is maintained by MQ internals, allowing a client to try to reconnect to the same qmgr channel.

Is this what you are asking?
_________________
I would tell you a UDP joke, but you might not get it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportDo MQ remote connectios work in all cases?
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.