ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportBoQ Not working

Post new topicReply to topic
BoQ Not working View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
JPN
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 1:01 am Post subject: BoQ Not working Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 27 Feb 2015
Posts: 14

Hi Gurus,

Can you please help me with the BOQ issue.

Issue: Poison message is not moving to the Backout Queue

dis ql(QL.*.2)
1 : dis ql(QL.*.2)
AMQ8409: Display Queue details.
QUEUE(QL.*.2)
TYPE(QLOCAL) ACCTQ(QMGR)
ALTDATE(2017-07-06) ALTTIME(23.04.13)
BOQNAME(QA.RJT*.2)
BOTHRESH(15) CLUSNL( )

We have migrated from 7.0.1.9 to MQ v8.0.0.4 and the rejection seems to be not working. When checked on the BOC then it runs in thousands.

Any pointers on what could be missing?

A VER 2
A RPT 0
A MST 8
A EXP -1
A FDB 0
A ENC 273
A CCS 1208
A FMT MQHRF2
A PRI 4
A PER 1
A MSI 414D5120514D432E504F53542E4143208E3A4A5906317C22
A COI 000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000
A BOC 27155
A RTQ
A RTM QMC.POST.AC
A USR mqtmmca
A ACC 0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000
A AIX 2020202020202020202020202020202020202020202020202020202020202020
A PAT 28
A PAN jar
A PTD 20170626
A PTT 13135069
A AOX 20202020
A GRP 000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000
A MSQ 1
A OFF 0
A MSF 0
A ORL -1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 1:26 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 5756

Is the application Java/JMS? Client or bindings? Recompiled against the later MQ libraries? And you imply it was working when using the previous version of MQ, but was a code review carried out before migration?
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 2:34 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5578
Location: UK

This is the classic MQ mis-understanding.

When MQ transactionally backs out the message , it increments the backout count in the MQMD.

It will happily do this forever, each time the transaction fails on this same message.

The backout count threshold and backout queue name are purely placeholders to store values that the application can choose to act upon.

So the application must check MQMD.back and if above the threshold it must put it to another queue. Do this immediately after the MQGET, or don't use SYNCPOINT (if you are happy to lose the poison message).

MQ by itself does not handle this. IIB is programmed to do it though.
_________________
Well, I don't think there is any question about it. It can only be attributable to human error. This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error.


Last edited by zpat on Fri Jul 07, 2017 2:36 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JPN
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 2:35 am Post subject: BoQ Not working Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 27 Feb 2015
Posts: 14

Yes, the client is JMS Client. No, there was no compilation of the application code before or after migration.

BoQ is something to do with the queue manager and as long as BoC increases above the threshold value, should the queue manager not move the messages automatically?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 2:37 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5578
Location: UK

No, although this would be a great feature for IBM to implement.

Some JMS frameworks, such as Spring can do this for you.
_________________
Well, I don't think there is any question about it. It can only be attributable to human error. This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 2:43 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 5756

zpat wrote:
...Some JMS frameworks, such as Spring can do this for you.

Hence my questions.
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 4:38 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 19432
Location: LI,NY

Open a PMR. If you are using the JMS or XMS client this should be handled for you by the framework.
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportBoQ Not working
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.