ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ Supportmqclient.ini

Post new topicReply to topic
mqclient.ini View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
JosephGramig
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2016 11:44 am Post subject: mqclient.ini Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 09 Feb 2006
Posts: 1227
Location: South Florida, USA

So I installed MQ Client V8.0.0.5 on Win7 64bit.

made a file mqclient.ini in a test directory with:
Code:

TCP:
   KeepAlive=Yes

ClientExitPath:
   ExitsDefaultPath=C:\ProgramData\IBM\MQ\exits
   ExitsDefaultPath64=C:\ProgramData\IBM\MQ\exits64
CHANNELS:
   ChannelDefinitionDirectory=C:\Temp\MQClientTest
   ChannelDefinitionFile=TEST.tab
   DefRecon=YES


This link at #2 says it should pick up the mqclient.ini from the current directory. When I run:

runmqsc -n

it is trying to build the default CCDT in the default location and it is not picking up my location from the mqclient.ini file.

what gives?

I would open a PMR but my client does not feel like it because the ENV vars works...

You know, all I can think of is because I use the -n option, it is not looking at the mqclient.ini at all no matter where I put it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
exerk
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2016 12:47 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6261

OK, extracts the following from the link are:

Quote:
...A file called mqclient.ini in the present working directory of the application...

...A file called mqclient.ini in the IBM MQ data directory for Windows, UNIX and Linux systems...


So, where is runmqsc executing from and where is your test directory?
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JosephGramig
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2016 2:25 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 09 Feb 2006
Posts: 1227
Location: South Florida, USA

C:\Temp for the mqclient.ini and where I run the program.

My testing shows that when I actually connect to a Qmgr, it is reading the mqclient.ini file. When I use "runmqsc -n" it is not. This is inconsistent with the equivalent environment variables MQCHLLIB and MQCHLTAB which are respected when in effect.

I'm sure a PMR will result in a "works as designed" but the two things are inconsistent.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
exerk
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2016 7:20 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6261

JosephGramig wrote:
C:\Temp for the mqclient.ini and where I run the program.

So C:\Temp has a copy of runmqsc in it?

Quote:
...A file called mqclient.ini in the present working directory of the application...

_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JosephGramig
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2016 6:18 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 09 Feb 2006
Posts: 1227
Location: South Florida, USA

Of course not! When you install MQ Client it will set a default instance which puts all the commands in your PATH.

Just because the program lives in some other directory does not mean that directory is the present working directory. That is the directory where you start the program.

It is too early on the east coast to be drinking...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
exerk
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2016 2:18 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6261

JosephGramig wrote:
Just because the program lives in some other directory does not mean that directory is the present working directory. That is the directory where you start the program.

Hence my question of whether you had a copy of runmqsc in C:\Temp. Have you tried putting a copy of the mqclient.ini file in the same directory with runmqsc and seeing what happens?

JosephGramig wrote:
It is too early on the east coast to be drinking...

The sun is always over the yardarm somewhere in the world!
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PeterPotkay
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2016 2:33 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 7676

Check this link out:
http://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/en/SSFKSJ_7.1.0/com.ibm.mq.doc/cs13360_.htm

I interpreted #2 the way exerk did, but I'm not sure on this.

For Ha-Has, try #1. Set the MQCLNTCF variable pointing to wherever you have the file, then run runmqsc from wherever you are and see if that helps?

JosephGramig wrote:

It is too early on the east coast to be drinking...

Not anymore!
_________________
Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ Supportmqclient.ini
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.