|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
|
|
how to test QM clusters and workload balancing |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
mqprimerib |
Posted: Tue Nov 08, 2016 6:56 am Post subject: how to test QM clusters and workload balancing |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 30 Mar 2016 Posts: 36 Location: Detroit Rock City
|
So I have my environment all setup and now I want to test workload balancing. I want to make sure I open the queue with BIND_NOT_FIXED but I don't see an option in MQ Visual Edit's put server for that. I looked at amqsput but I'm not sure how to force it to NOT_FIXED.
Does anyone know the syntax to do this in amqsput or another utility I can use for simple testing?
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Nov 08, 2016 7:00 am Post subject: Re: how to test QM clusters and workload balancing |
|
|
Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
mqprimerib wrote: |
Does anyone know the syntax to do this in amqsput or another utility I can use for simple testing? |
The amqsput sample takes the queue bind setting.
Also amqsput is not a utility, it's a sample. You want it to do something else, change it. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bruce2359 |
Posted: Tue Nov 08, 2016 7:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9442 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
Bind option is a queue attribute. Alter the QLocals to specify NOT_FIXED. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tczielke |
Posted: Tue Nov 08, 2016 8:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
Guardian
Joined: 08 Jul 2010 Posts: 941 Location: Illinois, USA
|
For what it is worth, you can specify the open option in amqsput with the third command line option:
Code: |
/* AMQSPUT0 has the following parameters */
/* required: */
/* (1) The name of the target queue */
/* optional: */
/* (2) Queue manager name */
/* (3) The open options */
/* (4) The close options */
/* (5) The name of the target queue manager */
/* (6) The name of the dynamic queue */ |
Here are the open options listed in their hex values:
Code: |
0x00000001 MQOO_INPUT_AS_Q_DEF
0x00000002 MQOO_INPUT_SHARED
0x00000004 MQOO_INPUT_EXCLUSIVE
0x00000008 MQOO_BROWSE
0x00000010 MQOO_OUTPUT
0x00000020 MQOO_INQUIRE
0x00000040 MQOO_SET
0x00000080 MQOO_SAVE_ALL_CONTEXT
0x00000100 MQOO_PASS_IDENTITY_CONTEXT
0x00000200 MQOO_PASS_ALL_CONTEXT
0x00000400 MQOO_SET_IDENTITY_CONTEXT
0x00000800 MQOO_SET_ALL_CONTEXT
0x00001000 MQOO_ALTERNATE_USER_AUTHORITY
0x00002000 MQOO_FAIL_IF_QUIESCING
0x00004000 MQOO_BIND_ON_OPEN
0x00008000 MQOO_BIND_NOT_FIXED
0x00010000 MQOO_RESOLVE_NAMES
0x00020000 MQOO_CO_OP
0x00040000 MQOO_RESOLVE_LOCAL_TOPIC
0x00040000 MQOO_RESOLVE_LOCAL_Q (C++ only)
0x00080000 MQOO_NO_READ_AHEAD
0x00100000 MQOO_READ_AHEAD
0x00200000 MQOO_NO_MULTICAST
0x00400000 MQOO_BIND_ON_GROUP |
If you just wanted to just specify MQOO_BIND_NOT_FIXED for the open option, that would be 0x00008000 = 32,768. _________________ Working with MQ since 2010. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
hughson |
Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2016 2:29 pm Post subject: Two different possibilities |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 09 May 2013 Posts: 1948 Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
|
You have all the answers in the above responses, but in case it is not clear, please note you have two different ways of providing the Bind options for an application using a cluster queue.
Your application can explicitly specify the bind option:- MQOO_BIND_ON_OPEN
- MQOO_BIND_NOT_FIXED
- MQOO_BIND_ON_GROUP
Or if your application does not do this, then it is essentially saying MQOO_BIND_AS_Q_DEF which tells the queue manager to look at the queue definition (AS_Q) to find the default (DEF) bind option.
The default bind option is found in the queue attribute DEFBIND. This queue attribute is *ONLY* used if the application has not explicitly provided one of the above bind options.
So you have two different ways to solve your problem when using the amqsput sample.
1) Specify the MQOO_BIND_NOT_FIXED (value 32768) in addition to the options already used by the amqsput sample. If you look in the sample code you'll see these are MQOO_OUPUT and MQOO_FAIL_IF_QUIESCING which the comment beside them tells you adds up to a value of 8208. Parameter 3 when you run the amqsput sample needs to be the total of these numbers, that is 32768 + 8208 = 40976.
So you'd run amqsput as follows:-
Code: |
amqsput q-name qmgr-name 40976 |
2) Alternatively, you can issue the following MQSC command on *EACH* of your queue managers hosting the cluster queue:
Code: |
ALTER QLOCAL(q-name) DEFBIND(NOTFIXED) |
I hope that your options are now clear to you.
Cheers
Morag _________________ Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
|
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|