Author |
Message
|
MQMB&WAS |
Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 8:09 pm Post subject: MQCONNX ended with reason code 2538 |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 12 Jun 2016 Posts: 130
|
Hello Everyone,
I'm trying to test communication between MQ client(8.0.0.4) and server(8.0.0.4) and I'm getting 2538 error, I did check other posts from this forum but nothing helped. Any help is appreciated.
ON SERVER
bash-4.1$ dspmq -m QM1
QMNAME(QM1) STATUS(Running)
dis qmgr CHLAUTH
1 : dis qmgr CHLAUTH
AMQ8408: Display Queue Manager details.
QMNAME(QM1) CHLAUTH(DISABLED)
DIS LSSTATUS(QM1.LSTR)
2 : DIS LSSTATUS(QM1.LSTR)
AMQ8631: Display listener status details.
LISTENER(QM1.LSTR) STATUS(RUNNING)
PID(46893) STARTDA(2016-09-15)
STARTTI(08.21.4 DESCR( )
TRPTYPE(TCP) CONTROL(QMGR)
IPADDR(*) PORT(1515)
BACKLOG(100)
DIS QL(QUEUE1)
4 : DIS QL(QUEUE1)
AMQ8409: Display Queue details.
QUEUE(QUEUE1) TYPE(QLOCAL)
DIS CHANNEL(QM1.CHL)
5 : DIS CHANNEL(QM1.CHL)
AMQ8414: Display Channel details.
CHANNEL(QM1.CHL) CHLTYPE(SVRCONN)
ALTDATE(2016-09-15) ALTTIME(07.14.04)
CERTLABL( ) COMPHDR(NONE)
COMPMSG(NONE) DESCR( )
DISCINT(0) HBINT(300)
KAINT(AUTO) MAXINST(999999999)
MAXINSTC(999999999) MAXMSGL(4194304)
MCAUSER( ) MONCHL(QMGR)
RCVDATA( ) RCVEXIT( )
SCYDATA( ) SCYEXIT( )
SENDDATA( ) SENDEXIT( )
SHARECNV(10) SSLCAUTH(REQUIRED)
SSLCIPH( ) SSLPEER( )
TRPTYPE(TCP)
bash-4.1$ setmqaut -m QM1 -t qmgr -p myusername +connect
The setmqaut command completed successfully.
bash-4.1$ setmqaut -m QM1 -n QUEUE1 -t q -p myusername +put +get
The setmqaut command completed successfully.
bash-4.1$ ifconfig | grep inet
inet addr:192.168.11.129
ON CLIENT
C:\Program Files\IBM\WebSphere MQ>ECHO %MQSERVER%
QM1.CHL/TCP/192.168.11.129(1515)
C:\Program Files\IBM\WebSphere MQ>amqsputc QUEUE1 QM1
Sample AMQSPUT0 start
MQCONNX ended with reason code 2538
C:\Program Files\IBM\WebSphere MQ>MQRC 2538
2538 0x000009ea MQRC_HOST_NOT_AVAILABLE
I don't see any errors in qmgr logs. MQ client is installed on my local windows, MQ server is installed on VMware workstation. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 9:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
What official IBM instructions document are you following? _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hughson |
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 6:10 am Post subject: Re: MQCONNX ended with reason code 2538 |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 09 May 2013 Posts: 1959 Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
|
MQMB&WAS wrote: |
ON CLIENT
C:\Program Files\IBM\WebSphere MQ>ECHO %MQSERVER%
QM1.CHL/TCP/192.168.11.129(1515)
C:\Program Files\IBM\WebSphere MQ>amqsputc QUEUE1 QM1
Sample AMQSPUT0 start
MQCONNX ended with reason code 2538
C:\Program Files\IBM\WebSphere MQ>MQRC 2538
2538 0x000009ea MQRC_HOST_NOT_AVAILABLE
I don't see any errors in qmgr logs. MQ client is installed on my local windows, MQ server is installed on VMware workstation. |
There should be details in your client error log. If there's nothing in your QMGR error log, that suggests that the client didn't make it that far.
Cheers
Morag _________________ Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 7:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
2538 could be a CHLAUTH issue. _________________ chmod -R ugo-wx / |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hughson |
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 7:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 09 May 2013 Posts: 1959 Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
|
mqjeff wrote: |
2538 could be a CHLAUTH issue. |
It could be if blocked by a BLOCKADDR rule, but then there would be an error in the QMgr error log.
Cheers
Morag _________________ Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
rammer |
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 8:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 02 May 2002 Posts: 359 Location: England
|
I presume you can Telnet from Client to Server to rule out any network issues? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MQMB&WAS |
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 10:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 12 Jun 2016 Posts: 130
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 10:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
Did you successfully complete every step in these instructions? No errors or warnings?
Can you successfully telnet from the client platform to the server platform?
On the server, use runmqsc to DISPLAY QMGR. Is CHLAUTH enabled or disabled? If enabled, have you created CHLAUTH rules to allow the SVRCONN channel?
One more time, navigate down the filesystem path to the ERRORS directory for the qmgr - the AMQERR01.LOG file is the current errors file. What error(s) are logged for this (or any) channel? _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MQMB&WAS |
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 10:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 12 Jun 2016 Posts: 130
|
@Morag, I'm seeing the below error on client side and my telnet is not going through.
9/26/2016 12:36:01 - Process(6836.1) User(myusername) Program(amqsputc.exe) Host(myhostname) Installation(Installation1) VRMF(8.0.0.4)
Slow DNS lookup for address '192.168.11.129'.
An attempt to resolve address '192.168.11.129' using the 'getnameinfo' function call took 5 seconds to complete. This might indicate a problem with the DNS configuration.
Ensure that DNS is correctly configured on the local system. &P If the address was an IP address then the slow operation was a reverse DNS lookup. Some DNS configurations are not capable of reverse DNS lookups and some IP addresses have no valid reverse DNS entries. If the problem persists, consider disabling reverse DNS lookups until the issue with the DNS can be resolved.
9/26/2016 12:36:01 - Process(6836.1) User(myusername) Program(amqsputc.exe) Host(myhostname) Installation(Installation1) VRMF(8.0.0.4)
Remote host '192.168.11.129 (1515)' not available, retry later.
The attempt to allocate a conversation using TCP/IP to host '192.168.11.129 (1515)' for channel QM1.CHL was not successful. However the error may be a transitory one and it may be possible to successfully allocate a TCP/IP conversation later. &P In some cases the remote host cannot be determined and so is shown as '????'.
Try the connection again later. If the failure persists, record the error values and contact your systems administrator. The return code from TCP/IP is 10060 (X'274C'). The reason for the failure may be that this host cannot reach the destination host. It may also be possible that the listening program at host '192.168.11.129 (1515)' was not running. If this is the case, perform the relevant operations to start the TCP/IP listening program, and try again.
QMGR listener is running fine.
C:\Program Files\IBM\WebSphere MQ>telnet 192.168.11.129 1515
Connecting To 192.168.11.129...Could not open connection to the host, on port 1515: Connect failed
Could someone tell how to fix this please. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
rammer |
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 10:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 02 May 2002 Posts: 359 Location: England
|
<C:\Program Files\IBM\WebSphere MQ>telnet 192.168.11.129 1515
Connecting To 192.168.11.129...Could not open connection to the host, on port 1515: Connect failed >
Thats your problem
1 Ensure the Listener is running on your MQ Server
If Yes
Fix your network / firewall / routing between your VM and O/S |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hughson |
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2016 4:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 09 May 2013 Posts: 1959 Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
|
rammer wrote: |
<C:\Program Files\IBM\WebSphere MQ>telnet 192.168.11.129 1515
Connecting To 192.168.11.129...Could not open connection to the host, on port 1515: Connect failed >
Thats your problem
1 Ensure the Listener is running on your MQ Server
If Yes
Fix your network / firewall / routing between your VM and O/S |
Can you ping the connection from your client box?
Cheers
Morag _________________ Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MQMB&WAS |
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2016 11:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 12 Jun 2016 Posts: 130
|
Can you ping the connection from your client box?
Cheers
Morag[/quote
Yes, Morag. I can ping it fine, but can't telnet. Looks like the Linux box hosting MQ server doesn't have telnet program and I can't download.
C:\Program Files\IBM\WebSphere MQ>ping 192.168.11.129
Pinging 192.168.11.129 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.11.129: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.11.129: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.11.129: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.11.129: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Ping statistics for 192.168.11.129:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms
Is there any other way I can check the connection between the servers? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hughson |
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2016 1:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 09 May 2013 Posts: 1959 Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
|
MQMB&WAS wrote: |
Is there any other way I can check the connection between the servers? |
Ping is the usual trick, but of course it doesn't involve the port number.
The other trick you can use is to point your browser at the IP address and listener port. If connectivity is successful you will cause an FDC to be generated because the MQ listener will not understand the HTTP sent by the browser, but at least you'll know you have connectivity to that port.
The other thing that I wonder about us that you are using 192.168 addresses. These are usually a private network. Is there any chance that you have two unconnected private networks and that when you run the ping, you're actually pinging a different machine on the same network that your client is on rather than actually pinging the queue manager machine? The test with the browser using the listener port will show this up where ping would not.
Cheers
Morag _________________ Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MQMB&WAS |
Posted: Sun Oct 09, 2016 8:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 12 Jun 2016 Posts: 130
|
hughson wrote: |
MQMB&WAS wrote: |
Is there any other way I can check the connection between the servers? |
Ping is the usual trick, but of course it doesn't involve the port number.
The other trick you can use is to point your browser at the IP address and listener port. If connectivity is successful you will cause an FDC to be generated because the MQ listener will not understand the HTTP sent by the browser, but at least you'll know you have connectivity to that port.
The other thing that I wonder about us that you are using 192.168 addresses. These are usually a private network. Is there any chance that you have two unconnected private networks and that when you run the ping, you're actually pinging a different machine on the same network that your client is on rather than actually pinging the queue manager machine? The test with the browser using the listener port will show this up where ping would not.
Cheers
Morag |
I tried to point the browser to the IP address, port number of my mq server, but it wasn't loading anything and I didn't see any fdcs on the server side either. Looks like some firewall rule is blocking traffic to the server.
However, it is able to receive inbound traffic. So I installed mq server on my windows and mq client on VMware (Linux) and I"m able to test the configuration fine.
Thanks for all your time. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|