Author |
Message
|
ANILK |
Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2016 2:29 am Post subject: Using existig .NET code in IIB |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 01 May 2014 Posts: 61
|
Hi Friends,
I got a strange requirement from my boss. client is using .NET code to do some business algorithms and to integrating with external web-service systems. now client is planing to migrate these operations to IIB 9 version , and strictly informed us to reuse the same .NET code which they are already using.
I never used .NET compute node in any of my projects.
Questions
---------------
1)Is it possible to use same .NET code (Copy/paste) in IIB .NET compute node and migrate entire operation to IIB?
2)is it a good approach to accept this requirement ? or better to migrate the business logic and use ESQL instead of .NET ?
3)is there any major concern or performance impact if we use .NET compute node instead of ESQL or JAVA?
My preference is to use ESQL instead of .NET , so i need a answer to convince my boss
Please share you advises
Thanks
Anilk |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2016 4:54 am Post subject: Re: Using existig .NET code in IIB |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
ANILK wrote: |
1)Is it possible to use same .NET code (Copy/paste) in IIB .NET compute node and migrate entire operation to IIB? |
Yes, unless the existing .NET code interfaces directly with the outside world when you're out of luck. If it's just taking a set of parameters you can feed it like you do in a native .NET app.
ANILK wrote: |
2)is it a good approach to accept this requirement ? or better to migrate the business logic and use ESQL instead of .NET ? |
It depends. If you're going to be saving a ton of testing time reusing the .NET then it's a good approach. If you need to bend the .NET to fit into IIB then it's not. If you have a lot of .NET developers it is. If you don't it's not. And so forth, and so forth.
ANILK wrote: |
3)is there any major concern or performance impact if we use .NET compute node instead of ESQL or JAVA? |
There's no particular issue with the node. You could easily write ESQL or Java that performs worse than the .NET because you can write poorly performing code in any language.
I'd be more worried that by using .NET you're trapped on a Windoze platform instead of a nice powerful Linux one, but that's just me.
ANILK wrote: |
My preference is to use ESQL instead of .NET , so i need a answer to convince my boss  |
If the client wants to reuse the existing .NET, then remember the old saying:
"The customer is always right. Even if the customer is barking mad and shouldn't be allowed out without a keeper". _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ANILK |
Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2016 7:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 01 May 2014 Posts: 61
|
Thank you Vitor for sharing valuable information.
I don't have any prior .NET coding knowledge ,and how it works in IIB product. can you provide any useful reference link related to .NET development in IIB system.
Anilk |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2016 7:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
Have you looked at the Samples? Perhaps their is one that uses a .Net Compute Node? _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ANILK |
Posted: Thu Mar 31, 2016 2:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 01 May 2014 Posts: 61
|
Thank you sam for your inputs, i hope .NET code can be deployed only on a windows environment , so need to install IIB in a windows server ?
Anil |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu Mar 31, 2016 4:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
ANILK wrote: |
i hope .NET code can be deployed only on a windows environment , so need to install IIB in a windows server ? |
 _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ANILK |
Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2016 8:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 01 May 2014 Posts: 61
|
Hi Friends,
I am trying to run a sample by using .NET compute node.
for that i have installed Visual studio 2015 , but when i try to open .NET compute node by using Visual studio i am getting a error "The following files were specified on the command line C:\Users\ANILK\Desktop\%1 These files could not be found and will not be loaded".
do i need to change any path ? . have u ever heard about these errors,
Please share your advice.
Anil |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ANILK |
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2016 3:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 01 May 2014 Posts: 61
|
Thanks Friends,
Fixed the issue and able to deploy and run .NET application in IIB.
Anil
 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|