Author |
Message
|
harsha8127 |
Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 6:00 am Post subject: Move Messages from one queue to another. |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 25 Nov 2013 Posts: 72
|
Hi docs,
Iam working in an environment where MQ ver 6.0 is installed in AS400 V6R1,
To monitor and administrate the QMGRS I am taking them to windows MQ client.
Now for a QMGR i have two queues INPUTQ and OUTPUTQ . There are 200 messages in INPUTQ where I want to move 100 messages to OUTPUTQ.
I have been trying the MOVE Q option in RFHUTILC but it is throwing
" Error reading to first message cc=2 rc=2046 read=0 newQName=OUTPUTQ".
can anyone plz check this.
And do we have any other options to move messages from one queue to another .
Please help urgent. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 6:05 am Post subject: Re: Move Messages from one queue to another. |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
harsha8127 wrote: |
" Error reading to first message cc=2 rc=2046 read=0 newQName=OUTPUTQ".
can anyone plz check this. |
Yes, and so can you. The 2046 reason code is well documented, and only you can investigate why you're getting that code in your specific circumstances.
harsha8127 wrote: |
And do we have any other options to move messages from one queue to another . |
Well the other utilities that come in the same support pac as RFHUtil come to mind. Along with any number of other options you'll find discussed on this forum. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 6:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
all of the MQRC values are documented.
There are a lot of tools that will move messages from one queue to another.
It's also straight forward programming to write a program that does an MQGet and then an MQPut.
You shouldn't be moving these administratively. This should be the responsibility of the application that is supposed to actually process these messages.
You should also find another job that does not require you to work with out of support versions of MQ. _________________ chmod -R ugo-wx / |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
harsha8127 |
Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 8:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 25 Nov 2013 Posts: 72
|
Thank for the reply, I mean like from MQ side as a MQ admin is there any other process or commands that can move msg from one queue to other queue in a same qmgr. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 8:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
Don't use RFHUTILC for admin purposes.
Use QLOAD support pac to move from queue to queue (or queue to file and file to queue if you prefer).
Or use MO71 to move messages using the GUI (if you prefer that). _________________ Well, I don't think there is any question about it. It can only be attributable to human error. This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 8:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
zpat wrote: |
Don't use RFHUTILC for admin purposes.
Use QLOAD support pac to move from queue to queue (or queue to file and file to queue if you prefer).
Or use MO71 to move messages using the GUI (if you prefer that). |
or dmpmqmsg _________________ chmod -R ugo-wx / |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 8:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
harsha8127 wrote: |
I mean like from MQ side as a MQ admin is there any other process or commands that can move msg from one queue to other queue in a same qmgr. |
I mean, again, that you shouldn't be doing this on anything other than an emergency basis.
And even then with extensive documentation on why the app team is unable to deal with it, and what risks and caveats they are assuming by asking you to handle it. _________________ chmod -R ugo-wx / |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
harsha8127 |
Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 8:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 25 Nov 2013 Posts: 72
|
is dmpmqmsg command supported by MQ ver 6 in AS40 server. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 8:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
harsha8127 wrote: |
is dmpmqmsg command supported by MQ ver 6 in AS40 server. |
no, but you can probably do it from an mq v8 client. _________________ chmod -R ugo-wx / |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
harsha8127 |
Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 8:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 25 Nov 2013 Posts: 72
|
dear docs ,
is it possible to move messages from one queue to other queue using RFHUTIL.
in RFHUTIL there are option call load q and move queue. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 8:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
To connect QLOAD or dmpmqmsg as a client, you will need a CCDT (or I suppose the equivalent MQSERVER variable) to refer to your AS400 QM.
If you haven't got a copy of MO71 - then you are making life a lot harder for yourself. It can make life a lot easier for MQ admin. _________________ Well, I don't think there is any question about it. It can only be attributable to human error. This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 8:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
harsha8127 wrote: |
dear docs ,
is it possible to move messages from one queue to other queue using RFHUTIL.
in RFHUTIL there are option call load q and move queue. |
You have been given good advice by two experienced MQ experts.
Why not take it? Or why bother asking for it?
No, RFHUTIL does not move queue to queue, it is possible to SAVEQ to a file and LOADQ to a queue, but get the options wrong and you will lose the original MQMD.
Much better to use the IBM provided tool (or support pac version) for the job. _________________ Well, I don't think there is any question about it. It can only be attributable to human error. This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
harsha8127 |
Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 9:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 25 Nov 2013 Posts: 72
|
dear docs i have say from starting that iam using MQ version 6 in AS400 server where all the advised tool doesnt work and every tool need licences.
RFHUTIL dsnt need licence and also has a option 'MOVE Q'. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 9:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
dmpmqmsg comes with MQ client v8 and is free.It can use a client connection to the QM.
qload (the support pac version) is free (now on GIT hub). It can use a client connection to the QM.
http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.wss?uid=swg24009368
Use rfhutilc if you like, it's not a tool I would use for this. In fact I think it is both relatively hard to use and has dangerous defaults.
Given that I have been posting here for many years, you can assume that I won't give advice that can't be used, or requires a chargeable license. _________________ Well, I don't think there is any question about it. It can only be attributable to human error. This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error.
Last edited by zpat on Wed Mar 02, 2016 9:37 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 9:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
harsha8127 wrote: |
i have say from starting that iam using MQ version 6 in AS400 server where all the advised tool doesnt work and every tool need licences. |
Not true. None of the options listed require a license and you've been told how to use them with your version. All of them will probably suffer the same 2046 that RFHUtil does for the same reason. That reason you've not bothered to find.
And I agree with the other posters that say you shouldn't be doing this. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|