Author |
Message
|
marko.pitkanen |
Posted: Mon Oct 19, 2015 3:23 am Post subject: Round robin algorithm for calling http endpoints from IIB? |
|
|
 Chevalier
Joined: 23 Jul 2008 Posts: 440 Location: Jamsa, Finland
|
Hi,
I need your advice what are then options to implement round robin algorithm for calling http endpoints from IIB?
--
Marko |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Mon Oct 19, 2015 4:07 am Post subject: Re: Round robin algorithm for calling http endpoints from II |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
marko.pitkanen wrote: |
Hi,
I need your advice what are then options to implement round robin algorithm for calling http endpoints from IIB?
--
Marko |
Have you tried putting a network device in between, and calling that from IIB? _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
marko.pitkanen |
Posted: Mon Oct 19, 2015 4:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Chevalier
Joined: 23 Jul 2008 Posts: 440 Location: Jamsa, Finland
|
Thanks fjb_saper,
Not yet. That is one option. Any others? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Mon Oct 19, 2015 4:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
marko.pitkanen wrote: |
Not yet. That is one option. Any others? |
Well you could store a list of possible IP addresses in a database or similar, query that and use it to programmatically alter the URL prior to calling it.
Or you could use a network device like the rest of us.
Avoids problems when a new end point is added, one of the end points moves to a different server, the DNS names are altered because the network people got bored last Friday, etc, etc, etc... _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Mon Oct 19, 2015 12:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Vitor wrote: |
marko.pitkanen wrote: |
Not yet. That is one option. Any others? |
Well you could store a list of possible IP addresses in a database or similar, query that and use it to programmatically alter the URL prior to calling it.
Or you could use a network device like the rest of us.
Avoids problems when a new end point is added, one of the end points moves to a different server, the DNS names are altered because the network people got bored last Friday, etc, etc, etc... |
At least when you use a network device and something like what Vitor is alluding to changes, guess what? You get to blame it on the network team for not having planned / done their job as expected...  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
marko.pitkanen |
Posted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 7:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Chevalier
Joined: 23 Jul 2008 Posts: 440 Location: Jamsa, Finland
|
Thanks,
I'll try to convince they to use http load balancer in front of the web service.
--
Marko |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 7:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
marko.pitkanen wrote: |
Thanks,
I'll try to convince they to use http load balancer in front of the web service.
--
Marko |
You can use apache or IHS (IBM HTTP Server) to act as a load balancer. It can be configured by exporting the config from the broker/eg using tools that come with IIB. _________________ chmod -R ugo-wx / |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|