ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity

MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups

Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages

RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » How to drop connections to a queue

How to drop connections to a queue « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
hp1411
PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2015 4:54 pm    Post subject: How to drop connections to a queue Reply with quote

Hello All,

I am a complete newbie to MQ and had a question regarding clearing messages of a queue.

I have noticed that the clear qlocal command will clear all the messages of a queue if there are no open connections.

Is there a way to drop all the connections to a queue so that I can clear it? OR if there a way to force a clear queue command?

Thanks!!
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2015 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

If there are processes attached to the queue you usually use the MQExplorer to clear the queue doing a destructive get. Takes a little bit longer but works for a queue that is in use.
mo_lightapps
PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2015 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

You haven't said how the client is connected to the queue manager. I will assume that its a server connection channel. If so, you need to issue a stop channel command:

runmqsc <QMGR>
dis chs(<CHANNEL_NAME>)
stop channel(<CHANNEL_NAME>) mode(force)
dis chs(<CHANNEL_NAME>)

The dis chs command on either side of the stop channel will show you whether or not it worked. If that still doesnt work, change mode to "terminate".