Author |
Message
|
rolivieri |
Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 10:52 am Post subject: Keeping RQSTR Channels in RUNNING state |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 05 Nov 2010 Posts: 3
|
Is there any mechanism to keep RQSTR channels RUNNING when there is no data to send.
HBINT =15
Connection can still die after a few hours.
Is there an exit routine that can startup the channel when the channel is closed?
Other than a cron job to call a script like the one below
#!/bin/bash
echo "start channel(XYZ)" | runmqsc QMGR |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:19 am Post subject: Re: Keeping RQSTR Channels in RUNNING state |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
rolivieri wrote: |
Is there any mechanism to keep RQSTR channels RUNNING when there is no data to send. |
Why would you want to do this?
Why not have the channel start when there's data to send? Or indeed use a receiver rather than a requestor?
Or put another way, what exactly is the problem with the channel not running?
Channels that never stop are vulnerable to network issues. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:25 am Post subject: Re: Keeping RQSTR Channels in RUNNING state |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
rolivieri wrote: |
Connection can still die after a few hours.
|
By 'die' do you mean go into STOPPED state? Or something else?
If the channel goes into STOPPED state, it means that was a channel failure of some kind. If the channel goes into INACTIVE, then it disconnected (or was never started). You can change disconnect interval (DISCINT) value to a higher number.
RUNNING means one of two things: the channel is currently transmitting a batch of messages; or: the channel believes that next time it needs to transmit a batch of messages, it will be able to do so - in other words, the channel has not yet detected a channel failure. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
rolivieri |
Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2015 7:35 am Post subject: Re: Keeping RQSTR Channels in RUNNING state |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 05 Nov 2010 Posts: 3
|
The issue is we are using the RQSTR channels to connect MQIPT which then forward to our SVR channels.
Our app may send data to the remote queue at anytime, but if the RQSTR channels isn't up then they won't get the message.
We have setup a RQSTR->SVR channel, where we would be send data to the remote queue
This was to inplace of a SDR->RCVR channel because we need all channel initiations to come from 1 side to allow it thru firewall into MQIPT |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
rolivieri |
Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2015 7:36 am Post subject: Re: Keeping RQSTR Channels in RUNNING state |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 05 Nov 2010 Posts: 3
|
They don't goto into STOPPED state.
Network devices on either side may terminate the TCP connection if it sees there isn't any data |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2015 7:40 am Post subject: Re: Keeping RQSTR Channels in RUNNING state |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
rolivieri wrote: |
They don't goto into STOPPED state.
Network devices on either side may terminate the TCP connection if it sees there isn't any data |
What state does the channel go into? _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|