ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Extract the numeric Values

Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
 Extract the numeric Values « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
chris boehnke
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2015 12:29 pm    Post subject: Extract the numeric Values Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 369

Hi All,

I have to extract numeric values from an incoming telephone field. The input may come as any of below
in_phone = 123-456-7890 or 123.456.7890 or 123 456 7890 or +123 456 7890

I couldn't find any function which extracts numeric digits. Can you pls help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2015 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

Don't quite understand the requirement. Most dialers use a string to dial the number... So what's the purpose?
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mrgate
PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2015 8:27 pm    Post subject: Re: Extract the numeric Values Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 28 Feb 2007
Posts: 141
Location: India

chris boehnke wrote:
Hi All,

I have to extract numeric values from an incoming telephone field. The input may come as any of below
in_phone = 123-456-7890 or 123.456.7890 or 123 456 7890 or +123 456 7890

I couldn't find any function which extracts numeric digits. Can you pls help.


Try trimming + sign from input string and use overlay function to replace - , . (or) ' ' from input string with ''.
_________________
MQSeries terrorist
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smdavies99
PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2015 9:24 pm    Post subject: Re: Extract the numeric Values Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 6076
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.

mrgate wrote:

Try trimming + sign from input string and use overlay function to replace - , . (or) ' ' from input string with ''.


The '+' sign on a phone number string usually indicates that the next digits are the country code for the number that follows.

Almost all the numbers held on my Mobile are prefixed with +44. This means I can phone home from anywhere in thr world that I might be without having to worry about local internatonal access codes. Those that don't have +44 have their own country code.

Personal Rant
I am still surprised that at least one International Hotel chain in the USA can't accept International Numbers on its website when making a booking. It won't accept '+44', '001144' or any other combination of those numbers. Doh!
Even worse, it will only accept USA or Canadian area codes. For example, "246" is rejected. This is the area code for Antigua.
Really sloppy design and coding for 2015.
_________________
WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995

Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
akil
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 2:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 27 May 2014
Posts: 338
Location: Mumbai

If you can be sure of what non digit characters would come in , and want to use ESQL

Code:

REPLACE(REPLACE(REPLACE(inPhone, '+', ''),'-',''),'.','')


For JCN, it'll be a more appropriate to use a simple regular expression, that replaces all non-digit characters , or something more accurate would be using google phone number validation library

https://github.com/googlei18n/libphonenumber
_________________
Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 4:13 am    Post subject: Re: Extract the numeric Values Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

smdavies99 wrote:

Personal Rant
I am still surprised that at least one International Hotel chain in the USA can't accept International Numbers on its website when making a booking. It won't accept '+44', '001144' or any other combination of those numbers. Doh!
Even worse, it will only accept USA or Canadian area codes. For example, "246" is rejected. This is the area code for Antigua.
Really sloppy design and coding for 2015.


Well 001144 now would be wrong. Looks like you're getting confused...
There are parts of the world where 00 is the international prefix. [Europe]
There are parts of the world where 011 is the international prefix. [N. America]
Don't know about parts where the international prefix would be 0011...

But I do agree that an international convention such as +countrycode (area code) number would go a long way about standardizing the input field. Now if all telecom companies could subscribe to that as dialing string, that would be nice too.

Have fun
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
inMo
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 5:01 am    Post subject: Re: Extract the numeric Values Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 216
Location: NY

smdavies99 wrote:

This means I can phone home from anywhere in the world that I might be
... "246" is rejected. This is the area code for Antigua.


Do you have these problems based on your IIB work assignments?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 5:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

So you want to convert a string to a number?

Hmm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smdavies99
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 7:09 am    Post subject: Re: Extract the numeric Values Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 6076
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.

fjb_saper wrote:


Well 001144 now would be wrong. Looks like you're getting confused...
There are parts of the world where 00 is the international prefix. [Europe]
There are parts of the world where 011 is the international prefix. [N. America]
Don't know about parts where the international prefix would be 0011...

But I do agree that an international convention such as +countrycode (area code) number would go a long way about standardizing the input field. Now if all telecom companies could subscribe to that as dialing string, that would be nice too.

Have fun

Sorry, too many '0''s .

I have yet to find a country where '+' does not work. There probably are some but any member of the ITU should allow '+'.
_________________
WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995

Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smdavies99
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 7:14 am    Post subject: Re: Extract the numeric Values Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 6076
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.

inMo wrote:


Do you have these problems based on your IIB work assignments?


did you read what I said?

The Hotel Chain's US website won't take International numbers AND the site makes the entry of a phone number mandatory or you can't make a booking with them directly. How do you proceed then?
To me this is akin to having to use an 'in state' Zip code when buying Gas even though you have already entered the PIN number of your credit card. Sloppy programming. The CC BIN Number should tell the system that the person trying to buy Gas is not a local.

Sloppy, sloppy design and development.
_________________
WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995

Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 7:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5866
Location: UK

For Gas: Enter your UK (or Canada) postcode numbers (only) padded on right with zeros to five digits.
_________________
Well, I don't think there is any question about it. It can only be attributable to human error. This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smdavies99
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 7:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 6076
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.

zpat wrote:
For Gas: Enter your UK (or Canada) postcode numbers (only) padded on right with zeros to five digits.

won't work. 27800 is not valid but 27801 is.
However one station in Southampton, Long Island will only accept NYC or Long Island Zip codes. Not Albany or upstate. Bonkers if you ask me.

Anyway, that is the USA for you. 5,000 little countries divided by a common language or two.
_________________
WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995

Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 8:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5866
Location: UK

Can we sue for copyright infringement of our placenames?
_________________
Well, I don't think there is any question about it. It can only be attributable to human error. This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 8:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

smdavies99 wrote:
5,000 little countries

Except for those that are bigger than several EU nations put together.

And several that are bigger than a large number of individual EU states...

hush Australia
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
inMo
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 9:03 am    Post subject: Re: Extract the numeric Values Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 216
Location: NY

smdavies99 wrote:

did you read what I said?


Yes. You highlighted Antigua as a problem. While I didn't state it clearly, I was asking if you travel to Antigua or the like for work related maters involving IIB?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next Page 1 of 2

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Extract the numeric Values
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.