ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Security » AUTHREC Question(MQ V8.0.0.2)

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 AUTHREC Question(MQ V8.0.0.2) « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
smdavies99
PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2015 3:57 am    Post subject: AUTHREC Question(MQ V8.0.0.2) Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 6076
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.

I have a queue manager that is Clustered on a pair of Windows Servers (with MSCS)
If I define a local queue called TEST.IN and specifically auth it for a domain user I can see the following records.
Code:

dis authrec objtype(QUEUE) profile (TEST.IN)
    19 : dis authrec objtype(QUEUE) profile (TEST.IN)
AMQ8864: Display authority record details.
   PROFILE(TEST.IN)                        ENTITY(administrator@XXX-DEMO)
   ENTTYPE(PRINCIPAL)                      OBJTYPE(QUEUE)
   AUTHLIST(BROWSE,CHG,CLR,DLT,DSP,GET,INQ,PUT,PASSALL,PASSID,SET,SETALL,SETID)
AMQ8864: Display authority record details.
   PROFILE(TEST.IN)                        ENTITY(mqm@INT01)
   ENTTYPE(GROUP)                          OBJTYPE(QUEUE)
   AUTHLIST(BROWSE,CHG,CLR,DLT,DSP,GET,INQ,PUT,PASSALL,PASSID,SET,SETALL,SETID)
AMQ8864: Display authority record details.
   PROFILE(TEST.IN)                        ENTITY(myuser@XXX-DEMO)
   ENTTYPE(PRINCIPAL)                      OBJTYPE(QUEUE)
   AUTHLIST(BROWSE,CLR,DSP,GET,INQ,PUT)

If I fail over the QMGR to the other node and display the authrec for that object again I see this.
Code:

dis authrec objtype(QUEUE) PROFILE('TEST.IN')
     1 : dis authrec objtype(QUEUE) PROFILE('TEST.IN')
AMQ8864: Display authority record details.
   PROFILE(TEST.IN)                        ENTITY(administrator@XXX-DEMO)
   ENTTYPE(PRINCIPAL)                      OBJTYPE(QUEUE)
   AUTHLIST(BROWSE,CHG,CLR,DLT,DSP,GET,INQ,PUT,PASSALL,PASSID,SET,SETALL,SETID)
AMQ8864: Display authority record details.
   PROFILE(TEST.IN)
   ENTITY(S-1-5-21-1287421938-2882423402-1750416858-1008)
   ENTTYPE(UNKNOWN)                        OBJTYPE(QUEUE)
   AUTHLIST(BROWSE,CHG,CLR,DLT,DSP,GET,INQ,PUT,PASSALL,PASSID,SET,SETALL,SETID)
AMQ8864: Display authority record details.
   PROFILE(TEST.IN)                        ENTITY(myuser@XXX-DEMO)
   ENTTYPE(PRINCIPAL)                      OBJTYPE(QUEUE)
   AUTHLIST(BROWSE,CLR,DSP,GET,INQ,PUT)

The auth for the local 'mqm' group has now gone and is replaced by the UID (S-1-5...)

My question is
- How can we enable the auth for the local mqm group on the second server? does this mean that connections from applications on the second server that are running with a group that is part of 'mqm' will not connect?
- do we have to define it manually with the QMGR running on the second server

- or is there a better way to do this.

my reason for asking is that we are trying to lock down our queue managers when we move to V8 and I'm trying to produce some guidelines for securing them.
_________________
WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995

Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2015 5:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20696
Location: LI,NY

You need to stick to domain users and domain groups for security and administration.

Don't use anything local as the SID of mqm@box1 is different from the SID of mqm@box2...

The only entry in the local mqm group should be "Domain mqm@<domain>" or equivalent...

Have fun
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
smdavies99
PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2015 5:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 6076
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.

As the mqm@INT01 record gets defined automatically what do you suggest to overcome it?
Because the local mqm group does not have access to the object on the second node could not run into issues where the user is a member of 'domain mqm' and has not had specific auths for each object?

The only members of the local MQM group are 'domain mqm' and optionally 'domain mb'.
_________________
WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995

Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2015 5:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

the local mqm user should always have local mqm access...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2015 5:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20696
Location: LI,NY

smdavies99 wrote:
As the mqm@INT01 record gets defined automatically what do you suggest to overcome it?
Because the local mqm group does not have access to the object on the second node could not run into issues where the user is a member of 'domain mqm' and has not had specific auths for each object?

The only members of the local MQM group are 'domain mqm' and optionally 'domain mb'.


Just to make sure I understood correctly, your MQ Service account is a domain account, member of Domain mqm right? And the service account has query rights to the domain about group membership? Does the domain have cross trust for the machines in the domain?

If the domain mqm, or domain accouts is/are the only member of the local mqm account, you can forget that entry. Just make sure that the content/members of the local mqm group are kept in sync. The easiest way to do that is to allow only domain group accounts into the local mqm group. The local mqm group may well appear on every object created while on that box. This way you can track which box was active when a specific object was created...
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Security » AUTHREC Question(MQ V8.0.0.2)
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.