ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Is Java Compute Node Singleton ?

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Is Java Compute Node Singleton ? « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
gauraveca
PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2015 7:22 pm    Post subject: Is Java Compute Node Singleton ? Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Posts: 5

Hi

I am new to broker. We have a use case where we need to use java compute node for some transformation.

I need to know whether the class for my java compute node is a singleton ? For every incoming request a new instance of the class is created ?

I tried searching but couldn't find an answer to this.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2015 4:29 am    Post subject: Re: Is Java Compute Node Singleton ? Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

gauraveca wrote:
I tried searching but couldn't find an answer to this.


I'm suprised the searching didn't turn up the InfoCenter piece on the Java Compute Node.

gauraveca wrote:
I need to know whether the class for my java compute node is a singleton ? For every incoming request a new instance of the class is created ?


Why? I'm by no means the Java guy, but isn't the point of a singleton that there's only one of it between multiple instances?
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2015 4:41 am    Post subject: Re: Is Java Compute Node Singleton ? Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

Vitor wrote:
gauraveca wrote:
I tried searching but couldn't find an answer to this.


I'm suprised the searching didn't turn up the InfoCenter piece on the Java Compute Node.

Quote:
Only one instance of the JavaCompute node is created regardless of the number of threads that are running against the flow (either as a result of extra instances or multiple input nodes).


The most important skill you can have when working wtih any technology is understanding how to use the documentation it provides.

The second most important skill is how to convince the maintainers to ensure the documentation is useful...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mapa
PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2015 5:24 am    Post subject: Re: Is Java Compute Node Singleton ? Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 09 Aug 2001
Posts: 257
Location: Malmö, Sweden

Vitor wrote:

I'm suprised the searching didn't turn up the InfoCenter piece on the Java Compute Node.


Why read about how the JCN works when you can post a question here?

The link Vitor provided clearly express how it works if you read it.
However it does not mention Singleton (which is a design pattern) but if you know how the Singleton pattern works in Java you will know if the JCN is one or not if you read about it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kimbert
PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2015 5:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 29 Jul 2003
Posts: 5542
Location: Southampton

@mqjeff:
Arguably, this
Quote:
Only one instance of the JavaCompute node is created
...could be interpreted in terms of the node, and not the Java class that implements the user's transformation logic.
You and I know that it's talking about the latter, but it's not necessarily obvious.

@gauraveca:
There is sometimes a need to have a singleton class ( a common reason is to implement a process-wide cache for all message flows. Can be useful for storing session state, reference data etc. ). As mapa points out, you can easily implement one ( but make sure that you do some research on Java best practices first - it is easy to get it wrong ).
_________________
Before you criticize someone, walk a mile in their shoes. That way you're a mile away, and you have their shoes too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kimbert
PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2015 5:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 29 Jul 2003
Posts: 5542
Location: Southampton

...and before somebody else points it out, you may want to investigate using the global cache ( genuinely global ) before implementing a cache that can only be accessed from one OS process/execution group/integration server.
_________________
Before you criticize someone, walk a mile in their shoes. That way you're a mile away, and you have their shoes too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gauraveca
PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2015 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Posts: 5

Thank you all for your replies. Apologies i didn't checked out the documentation in details. I did checked out the documentation and have some confusion or it might be my lack of experience in broker and java as i am just starting out.

This page says

http://www-01.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/SSMKHH_9.0.0/com.ibm.etools.mft.doc/ac20805_.htm

"Only one instance of the JavaCompute node is created regardless of the number of threads that are running against the flow (either as a result of extra instances or multiple input nodes). Therefore, all of your user Java code must be threadsafe and reentrant."

And this one says

http://www-01.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/SSMKHH_9.0.0/com.ibm.etools.mft.doc/ac01541_.htm?lang=en

In the message flow execution environment, the message flow is thread-safe. You can run message flows concurrently on many operating system threads, without having to consider serialization issues. Each input message that passes through a message flow for processing by a series of nodes executes on a single thread; it is processed only by the thread that received it.

The confusion is in the first article it asks the user to write the java code which is thread safe, however in the second article it says that the message flow itself is thread safe. So if the message flow is thread safe why do i need to explicitly write thread safe java code ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2015 4:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

gauraveca wrote:
So if the message flow is thread safe why do i need to explicitly write thread safe java code ?

Because only one instance of your JavaComputeNode class is created, and so all message flow threads will call it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2015 4:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

gauraveca wrote:
The confusion is in the first article it asks the user to write the java code which is thread safe, however in the second article it says that the message flow itself is thread safe. So if the message flow is thread safe why do i need to explicitly write thread safe java code ?


The message flow is thread safe in that a message, once consumed by a given thread instance of the flow, will only be processed by that thread and flow artifacts (such as the Environment tree) are not shared / cross contaminated / locked by other thread instances of the same flow. The ESQL and the rest of the inbuilt functionality provide this thread safety by design.

To preserve this flow level thread safety it's essential that user written Java code is equally thread safe, as Java is the only part of the flow where it's physically possible to break the thread safe model; you simply can't write thread crossing ESQL, the language doesn't support or allow it.

You'll find the same requirement for thread safe code in the InfoCenter pieces about user defined nodes and user defined parsers, for the same reason. But you'll write Java Compute Nodes much, much more frequently.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kimbert
PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2015 5:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 29 Jul 2003
Posts: 5542
Location: Southampton

Quote:
you simply can't write thread crossing ESQL, the language doesn't support or allow it
You can, if you declare SHARED variables in your ESQL.
Vitor knows this, of course. He just chose not to say it. And I only chose to say in order to annoy Vitor
_________________
Before you criticize someone, walk a mile in their shoes. That way you're a mile away, and you have their shoes too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2015 5:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

kimbert wrote:
Quote:
you simply can't write thread crossing ESQL, the language doesn't support or allow it
You can, if you declare SHARED variables in your ESQL.

Only the data crosses the threads, not the code...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2015 6:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

kimbert wrote:
Quote:
you simply can't write thread crossing ESQL, the language doesn't support or allow it
You can, if you declare SHARED variables in your ESQL.
Vitor knows this, of course. He just chose not to say it. And I only chose to say in order to annoy Vitor


This I assume to be the 2nd part of your cunning plan, the 1st part being to have one of your minions sabotage the coffee machine.....

....I echo the comments of yourself and our most worthy associate.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gauraveca
PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2015 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Posts: 5

Thank you all for the help. I understand it now.

kudos to the community here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Is Java Compute Node Singleton ?
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.