Author |
Message
|
zhaobin |
Posted: Wed Jan 01, 2003 8:24 pm Post subject: MQOutput Node |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 29 Oct 2002 Posts: 20
|
In the MQOutput node properties, the queue manager can be defined. According to the online-help, the Queue Manager property defines the name of the Queue Manager where the output queue resides. At first, I left it empty and defined a queue in the broker's queue manager. The message ended up in the correct queue. Then I created another queue manager and a queue in it. I changed the queue manager and queue name property values, but no messages were received in the queue.
Can I specify a queue manager other than the broker's queue manager in MQOutput Node?
Another two questions. Where can I find the error messages if anything goes wrong in a message flow? Besides the control center online-help, which document contains the explanation of each primitive node's properties?
thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kirani |
Posted: Wed Jan 01, 2003 9:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Jedi Knight
Joined: 05 Sep 2001 Posts: 3779 Location: Torrance, CA, USA
|
Yes, you can specify another queue manager name in MQOutput node. You must have channels defined between Broker's queue manager and this new queue manager.
If anything goes wrong in the message flow, an exception will be thrown and the message will be propogated to outer catch terminal. At this point ExceptionList tree will have detailed information about the error.
Appendix A in WMQI 2.1 Using the Control Center manual describes IBM primitive nodes. _________________ Kiran
IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zhaobin |
Posted: Thu Jan 02, 2003 12:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 29 Oct 2002 Posts: 20
|
thanks, kirani.
What type of channel should I define? I guess it should be sender-receive channel, right? Then in the broker's queue manager, which transmission queue should be assigned to the sender channel?
How to capture exception message into a log file? I connect the failure terminal point with a trace node, but nothing is written to the log file. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
VivekMeshram |
Posted: Thu Jan 02, 2003 1:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 25 Mar 2002 Posts: 83
|
Hi Zhaobin,
i guess in the trace property write a
File Path /var/wmqi/log/BK.ERROR
Patern${ExceptionList}
Try like this, hope this will help.. _________________ Thanks
Vivek S Meshram.
·IBM Certified Specialist – IBM WebSphere MQ v5.3 / v5.2 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kirani |
Posted: Thu Jan 02, 2003 5:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Jedi Knight
Joined: 05 Sep 2001 Posts: 3779 Location: Torrance, CA, USA
|
zhaobin,
You should define a pair of channel (Sender and Receiver) between these two queue managers. On broker queue manager you will also have to define new Transmission queue with the same name as another queue manager.
ExceptionList tree is only available in Catch path, so you should attach your trace node to the catch terminal of MQInput node.
Set following properties in your Trace node,
File Path: Path of the file on Broker machine, eg. c:\mqsilog\flow1_err.txt on Windows or /var/log/flow1_err.txt on UNIX platform.
Pattern: Print ${ExceptionList} to print the ExceptionList in the trace file. _________________ Kiran
IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
woolmerc |
Posted: Mon May 17, 2004 5:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 12 May 2004 Posts: 21
|
I am having similar problems.
For starters I am having trouble setting up a sender channel to send messages to a queue manager residing on the same machine. There are 2 properties I seem to be having trouble with:
"Connection Name"
What do I put here? I have tried localhost, and my machines IP address, but no good.
"Local Communication Address"
What does this mean? I have no idea, and contact admin does not specify anything.
I get the following error when trying to start the channel:
------------------------------------------------
Type of remote channel not suitable for action requested.
The operation requested cannot be performed because channel 'CHANNEL1' on the remote machine is not of a suitable type. For example, if the local channel is defined as a sender the remote machine must define its channel as either a receiver or requester.
Check that the channel name is specified correctly. If it is, check that the remote channel has been defined correctly.
--------------------------------------------------
I have been able to set up my receiver channel no problems. Is a listener required on this receiving queue manager, even though it is local to the machine? I created one anyway, listening on port 1514.
Help much appreciated. _________________ Chris Woolmer
Programmer
KAZ Group Limited |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
woolmerc |
Posted: Mon May 17, 2004 5:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 12 May 2004 Posts: 21
|
Oh, and one more question along with my others above:
What do we specify in the MQOutput Node for the "Queue Manager" property if we are using a transmit queue as Kiran specifies above? Do we leave it blank? _________________ Chris Woolmer
Programmer
KAZ Group Limited |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Nizam |
Posted: Mon May 17, 2004 7:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Disciple
Joined: 10 Feb 2004 Posts: 160
|
It is ok if you leave the 'Queue Manager' property blank as you are putting the message on a remote queue definition in the same queue manager as the first.
So if you want to specify the name of the queue manager give the name of the sending queue manager. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
woolmerc |
Posted: Mon May 17, 2004 7:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 12 May 2004 Posts: 21
|
Yep, as I thought. The sending QM will be the QM local to the broker so we will leave this blank.
However that has not helped me with my channel problems above. Can anyone suggest some solutions?
Thanks _________________ Chris Woolmer
Programmer
KAZ Group Limited |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fschofer |
Posted: Tue May 18, 2004 12:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Knight
Joined: 02 Jul 2001 Posts: 524 Location: Mainz, Germany
|
Hi,
i think you first have to understand how communication between two queue managers via sender/receiver channels works.
Please take a look at the Redbook "MQSeries Primer"
http://publib-b.boulder.ibm.com/Redbooks.nsf/RedpaperAbstracts/redp0021.html?Open
There is a basic example for a sender/receiver channel communication.
For further information take a look at the "Intercommunication" handbook.
Greetings
Frank |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
woolmerc |
Posted: Tue May 18, 2004 3:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 12 May 2004 Posts: 21
|
Hi,
Thanks for your advice Frank, but it has not helped my problem. I have read all your references. Everything is set up as I need it. I have the following on my local 'broker' QM:
-- Remote Queue Definition
-- Transmission queue
-- Sender Channel (not working)
And on the destination QM (sitting on the same machine):
-- Receiver channel
-- Local Queue
-- Listener (on port 1514 over TCP/IP)
My Sender Channel and Receiver Channel are both named the same, and the transmission queue is the same name as the QM that I am trying to communicate with.
All this is well and good, but of no use to me if I cannot start the SENDER channel.
I am running Windows MQ 5.3 on XP with CSD05 applied. _________________ Chris Woolmer
Programmer
KAZ Group Limited |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kirani |
Posted: Tue May 18, 2004 5:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Jedi Knight
Joined: 05 Sep 2001 Posts: 3779 Location: Torrance, CA, USA
|
Chris,
Are there any errors logged into Event Viewer or MQSeries log when you start the channel? This is clearly a MQSeries setup issue. _________________ Kiran
IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
woolmerc |
Posted: Tue May 18, 2004 6:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 12 May 2004 Posts: 21
|
Yep, the one I listed above appears in the Event Log, and I also get
------**************------
Type of channel not suitable for action requested.
The operation requested cannot be performed on channel 'DBIOMAP1/FYSNMRP1'. Some operations are only valid for certain channel types. For example, you can only ping a channel from the end sending the message.
Check whether the channel name is specified correctly. If it is check that the channel has been defined correctly.
------**************------ _________________ Chris Woolmer
Programmer
KAZ Group Limited |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
alphacentari |
Posted: Tue May 18, 2004 7:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 15 May 2004 Posts: 12
|
Ping the box manually from sending system to recieving system.
What is the Sender channel status saying?
Are the connection name and port number correct on sender chl?
Did you specify the xmitq name inside sender channel definition.
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
woolmerc |
Posted: Tue May 18, 2004 8:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 12 May 2004 Posts: 21
|
Pinging the box is useless as both queue managers are on the same box.
The Sender channel status remains as 'retrying' indefinitely.
I have tried setting the connection name to a number of different things. Some of these include 'localhost', '127.0.0.1', 'localhost:1514' and the IP address of the box. But none of these work.
As far as the port number goes I am not aware of where this setting resides on the Sender channel. Can't see it anywhere. As in my example above I have tried adding it at the end of the connection name but this fails.
The xmitq has been specified inside the sender channel. _________________ Chris Woolmer
Programmer
KAZ Group Limited |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|