ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ Installation/Configuration SupportSourcing the "mqprofile" script ( MQ v8)

Post new topicReply to topic
Sourcing the "mqprofile" script ( MQ v8) View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Anant.v
PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2015 6:35 am Post subject: Sourcing the "mqprofile" script ( MQ v8) Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 26 Nov 2014
Posts: 40
Location: Malaysia

Hello All,

Hope you all are doing fine.

I am trying to use the "mqprofile" script supplied by IBM to automatically target my commands to the specific installation. The only difficulty is, i am not able to do it !

here is what i have done so far :

1. download the "mqprofile" script and place it under /etc/opt/mqm/ .

2. As prescribed, add it to .bash_profile under mqm user.

. /etc/opt/mqm/mqprofile

3. logout and log in again.

But its not getting sourced. I am unable to even debug it by editing the script to take debugging into account. When i tried to run it simply by issuing the command manually, then also iam unable to target my commands automatically to the specific installations.

I am using MQv8. Please let me know if anybody else has faced similar issue.


As always, Thanks for your never ending support !!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2015 6:47 am Post subject: Re: Sourcing the "mqprofile" script ( MQ v8) Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

Anant.v wrote:
download the "mqprofile" script


From where?

Why can't you use setmqenv ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anant.v
PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:33 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 26 Nov 2014
Posts: 40
Location: Malaysia

Hi mqjeff,

setmqenv has to be set each and every time if you are working with multiple installations. this "mqprofile" script is provided by "IBM" to simplify admin task by smartly targeting your commands to its associated installation.

Iam new to MQ, correct me if i am wrong anywhere
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2015 8:01 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

I haven't worked with mqprofile before, in fact, I hadn't heard of it.

So when I asked 'where', I meant http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.wss?uid=swg21587504

Are you sure that the script is not getting sourced in your .bash_profile?

Are you sure that the mqm user has the necessary permissions to access the mqprofile script?

Have you asked your unix administrator for assistance?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tczielke
PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2015 8:12 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Shaman

Joined: 08 Jul 2010
Posts: 720
Location: Illinois, USA

Just a few notes on sourcing a script which might be helpful here.

When you source a script (i.e. put a period before the script at your shell prompt):

. /etc/opt/mqm/profile

you are telling your active shell to read in the script but execute the commands in your active shell process. This is helpful if the script is setting environment variables, so your active shell can pick up the environment variable changes, itself.

When you do not source a script:

/etc/opt/mqm/profile

you are telling your active shell to read in the script but then run the commands in the script as child processes (i.e. fork/exec). So any commands to set environment variables would then not be done in your current shell, but in the child processes that you fork/exec.

It sounded like you correctly sourced the script, but then logged out/in again. That would kill your shell that did have the script sourced inside it, and then start a new shell that does not have your script sourced inside it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2015 8:21 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

tczielke wrote:
It sounded like you correctly sourced the script, but then logged out/in again. That would kill your shell that did have the script sourced inside it, and then start a new shell that does not have your script sourced inside it.


I would agree except for
Anant.v wrote:
2. As prescribed, add it to .bash_profile under mqm user.

. /etc/opt/mqm/mqprofile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tczielke
PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2015 8:30 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Shaman

Joined: 08 Jul 2010
Posts: 720
Location: Illinois, USA

Good point. I did not read that original post, correctly.

I assume then the mqm id is set up to run with the bash script when it logs in? It sounds like .bash_profile is not getting executed when the mqm id logs in. I would check what shell is being used when the mqm id logs in:

i.e. grep mqm /etc/passwd

or check ps output
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anant.v
PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2015 11:03 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 26 Nov 2014
Posts: 40
Location: Malaysia

Actually , The thing is, its not even running when i tried to run it manually.
Also, the script has an inbuilt debugging capability and generates an output called "mqprofile.out". But Iam unable to see any fault in that too.

If anyone has been successful in using this script, please let me know..

If not, nevermind.. we can always source them each time we want using setmqenv.

Thanks for the support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2015 6:01 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 19744
Location: LI,NY

Quote:
The mqprofile script is intended for POSIX compliant shells, the Bourne shell, and the Z shell.

So are you using one of those shells?
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mqjeff
PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2015 7:34 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

fjb_saper wrote:
Quote:
The mqprofile script is intended for POSIX compliant shells, the Bourne shell, and the Z shell.

So are you using one of those shells?


.bash_profile only exists and is used in the Bourne Again SHell.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ivanachukapawn
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2018 3:31 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Knight

Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 560

I encountered the exact same problem. mqprofile does not function as advertised in the IBM MQ support page. [url] ttps://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.wss?uid=swg21587504#Old[/url] I setup mqm .bash_profile as specified (by IBM) and followed by running setmqenv as follows:

Code:
 .  /etc/opt/mqm/mqprofile

setmqenv -n Installation1 -x 64 -z


I have 8.0.0.5 and 9.0.4 queue managers on the server. when I try strmqm for the Installation1 qmgr, everything is good. but when I try strmqm for the Installation2 qmgr (8.0.0.5) I get the
Code:
 AMQ5691: Queue manager 'V8TEST1' is associated with a different installation
('Installation2').
message. That message is not supposed to appear when mqprofile is functioning.
I am running /bin /bash shell which is Posix compliant (according to my research via google)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ Installation/Configuration SupportSourcing the "mqprofile" script ( MQ v8)
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.