Author |
Message
|
nattylife |
Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2015 2:56 pm Post subject: windows development requirement |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 23 Jan 2015 Posts: 7
|
im having issues upgrading an old C++ project built in visual studio 6.0 to visual studio 2010. im running into linker errors with the libraries im linking to.
my question is the dev box im developing on with VS2010 doesnt have MQ installed at all on it, we just have the folder package copied from the server we have it installed on so that the project is pointing to the includes and libs from it.
do i need to have MQ installed on the same box as VS2010?
the old project was using MQ 5 i believe, and the customer is upgrading to MQ8 along with going from win server 2k3 to win server 2012R2. we orginally tried just putting the old code on the new server but it would crash when it tried to send a message through MQ (it connected fine to the queue manager). |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
RogerLacroix |
Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2015 3:25 pm Post subject: Re: windows development requirement |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 3264 Location: London, ON Canada
|
nattylife wrote: |
we just have the folder package copied from the server we have it installed on so that the project is pointing to the includes and libs from it. |
Bad idea. Just install MQ v8.0 on your dev box and everything will be fine.
Regards,
Roger Lacroix
Capitalware Inc. _________________ Capitalware: Transforming tomorrow into today.
Connected to MQ!
Twitter |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
nattylife |
Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 10:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 23 Jan 2015 Posts: 7
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
RogerLacroix |
Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 11:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 3264 Location: London, ON Canada
|
nattylife wrote: |
is it possible that using VS2010 for my dev could be causing a linking issue? |
No. I use MQ v8.0 on Win 7 64-bit with Visual C++ 2010 and it works just fine.
nattylife wrote: |
just find it weird that it looks to have an issue with a function that in our own code |
First fix issues in your own code then move on to other issues.
Regards,
Roger Lacroix
Capitalware Inc. _________________ Capitalware: Transforming tomorrow into today.
Connected to MQ!
Twitter |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PaulClarke |
Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 2:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 17 Nov 2005 Posts: 1002 Location: New Zealand
|
What actually are the linker problems. If we had the complete set of messages we may be able to suggest something.
Cheers,
Paul. _________________ Paul Clarke
MQGem Software
www.mqgem.com |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
nattylife |
Posted: Tue Jan 27, 2015 5:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 23 Jan 2015 Posts: 7
|
ok, i solved the linker issues. seems converting from the old VC++6.0 to 2010 has its share of conversion issues that were not completely solved. so we've made it pasting compiling and linking. on a whim i posted on the VS forums in a more general search involving converting from 6.0 to 2010.
my mistake was thinking that MQ was the culprit as the linking issue was with MQ derived classes. so now we can move forward with testing. thanks for your advice and info! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Tue Jan 27, 2015 5:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
So, exactly how did you fix this? What was/were the underlying probmem(s)? _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
nattylife |
Posted: Tue Jan 27, 2015 1:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 23 Jan 2015 Posts: 7
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|