Author |
Message
|
smeunier |
Posted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 1:56 pm Post subject: MQ Listener handshake logs? |
|
|
 Partisan
Joined: 19 Aug 2002 Posts: 305 Location: Green Mountains of Vermont
|
Have been working with a vendor who's code is not connecting to out QMGR and receives MQRC 2058 Errors. Vendor claims same code works in multiple other customer shops with no issues.
This is client side code in C, running with client MQ V7.5 libraries on a Windows 7 platform is trying to connect to a remote QMGR on an iSeries running MQ V7.1
After checking all the obvious for connectivity(Typos, parameters, etc.) and running AMQSPUTC to validate connectivity to the ISeries server, everything checks out. Meaning the AMQSPUTC and RFHUTILC clients are able to connect in just fine. The difference here is that these clients use MQSERVER environment variable, where as the Vendor code takes connection parameters from a SQL database and fills in the MQCD fields for connectivity, using MQCONN method.
What I'd like to be able to do, is determine what is being sent over and thought perhaps at the MQ Listener level there may be some sort of handshake log. Or, is this something that can only be gotten from an MQ Trace? I have run a MQ Client side trace, but no information was produced there of any value. I'm thinking that a MQ Trace at the sever may be the only way.
So my question is: Is doing a MQ trace the only way to get information about a client connection? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 2:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
Are there any errors in the qmgr error logs?
Are there any errors in the client error logs? _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gbaddeley |
Posted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 3:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 25 Mar 2003 Posts: 2538 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
2058 usually means that the qmgr name presented by the client connect is not accepted by the qmgr that is listening on the channel / host / port. A network sniffer such as Wireshark will show the MQ protocol packets. _________________ Glenn |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
tczielke |
Posted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 5:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Guardian
Joined: 08 Jul 2010 Posts: 941 Location: Illinois, USA
|
Does ISeries support the Application Activity Trace? If so, you can turn that on and it may give you details about the MQCONN call. TraceLevel=HIGH will also give you the MQCD (channel descriptor) that is negotiated between the CLNTCONN and SVRCONN channels.
It sounds like you can trace the MQ Client app side. if so, a simultaneous trace of the MQ Client side and also the MQ Server side (probably the amqrmppa process?) would be helpful. Sorry, I don't use ISeries. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PaulClarke |
Posted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 11:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 17 Nov 2005 Posts: 1002 Location: New Zealand
|
I'm surprised that you say the MQ Client trace is of no value. There's all sorts of stuff in there that you can see.
However, the most obvious thing should be where the 2058 is generated from.
If the trace shows you actually connecting to a remote Queue Manager then you know that the client configuration is 'correct' and you 'found' a CCDT entry (or SQL entry) for your required Queue Manager. So, it would imply that you are connecting to a remote system but it is not called the same as the Queue Manager name you gave. ie. you are connecting to the wrong place.
If there is no sign of a connection to a remote system then it suggests that the Queue Manager name you gave was not found in the MQ client config (however that is done).
Cheers,
Paul. _________________ Paul Clarke
MQGem Software
www.mqgem.com |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Fri Feb 06, 2015 5:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
The name of the qmgr specified by the app or CCDT must match exactly the name of the qmgr on the server. MQ names are case-sensitive. A qmgr named 'BOB' is different from 'Bob', for example.
What is the exact name of the qmgr? What is the exact qmgr name specified in the CCDT? Exactly how does the C app specify a qmgr name in the MQCONNX? _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smeunier |
Posted: Fri Feb 06, 2015 6:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Partisan
Joined: 19 Aug 2002 Posts: 305 Location: Green Mountains of Vermont
|
Quote: |
Are there any errors in the qmgr error logs?
Are there any errors in the client error logs? |
There were no errors recorded in either the Client or the QMGR error logs. Even when I started a client side trace, I was surprised that the trace showed no error, after the client had failed, the trace was stopped and the trace files viewed. From what i could tell, no activity. I believe I traced all. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Fri Feb 06, 2015 6:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
What was the exact command you used to turn on client tracing? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smeunier |
Posted: Fri Feb 06, 2015 6:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Partisan
Joined: 19 Aug 2002 Posts: 305 Location: Green Mountains of Vermont
|
Quote: |
It sounds like you can trace the MQ Client app side. if so, a simultaneous trace of the MQ Client side and also the MQ Server side (probably the amqrmppa process?) would be helpful. Sorry, I don't use ISeries. |
We are looking into doing a server side trace. iSeries is not my bailey-wick either. But I found instructions on how to do it. will try to get that run for more information |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smeunier |
Posted: Fri Feb 06, 2015 6:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Partisan
Joined: 19 Aug 2002 Posts: 305 Location: Green Mountains of Vermont
|
Quote: |
What was the exact command you used to turn on client tracing? |
STRMQTRC -e is what was run |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Fri Feb 06, 2015 6:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
smeunier wrote: |
Quote: |
What was the exact command you used to turn on client tracing? |
STRMQTRC -e is what was run |
I might have used
Code: |
strmqtrc -t all -t detail |
or maybe -t api.
not sure that early tracing will give a lot of value on the client side. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
tczielke |
Posted: Fri Feb 06, 2015 6:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Guardian
Joined: 08 Jul 2010 Posts: 941 Location: Illinois, USA
|
I usually trace the way mqjeff suggested, but I did try "strmqtrc -e" and it did capture a client trace, as well.
Maybe you are hitting an environmental error very early in the process or running through the MQ stub code. You said your MQ client environment was Windows. I am not sure if you have this installed, but I have found the Sysinternals (freeware) procmon and procexp tools helpful in monitoring an application and finding out internal details of why things are not working for Windows. procmon (Process Monitor) would probably be most helpful in your case. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smeunier |
Posted: Fri Feb 06, 2015 8:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Partisan
Joined: 19 Aug 2002 Posts: 305 Location: Green Mountains of Vermont
|
I will try another client side trace the way Jeff suggested. I just enabled Server side tracing and captured some of that data, but have not reviewed yet.
This is a real bug-a-boo........I'm thinking application code error, since we had them point to another server, with different parameters, with same results. But, they stand by their guns that they have this same code running in different locations.............
Will keep at it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Fri Feb 06, 2015 10:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
On suspicion, have them first verify that they did link their code with the client libraries and not with the server libraries...  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smeunier |
Posted: Fri Feb 06, 2015 10:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Partisan
Joined: 19 Aug 2002 Posts: 305 Location: Green Mountains of Vermont
|
Quote: |
strmqtrc -t all -t detail |
Resulted in the same client side installation information about the stanza/configurations of the environment in the trace files. No visible signs of activity. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|