ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » MQSI - checking for low values and putting high values???

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 MQSI - checking for low values and putting high values??? « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
kwelch
PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2001 7:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 16 May 2001
Posts: 255

I have a situation where I have a message coming in with a string valued at low-values. I check my input for spaces and if not spaces populate the output field. I do not want to send the low values. Is there a way to check for low values? I tried Casting the string to blob but the cast fails as it does not consider low values a valid character. Does anyone know of a way around this? My second problem is that I want to put an end of file indicator of high values on an output message for a smalltalk app. to read. I tried the same thing. I created a hldarea blob then tried to cast it as character and received an error again. If anyone knows how to handle these special characters in MQSI your help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Karen Welch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
EddieA
PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2001 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 28 Jun 2001
Posts: 2453
Location: Los Angeles

For the input, can you check for null or spaces.

For the output, after you've built the output message pass it though an RCD node to make it a BLOB. In a Compute, you can then concatenate a x'ff' at the end because you're working in binary at this point.

Cheers

_________________
Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kwelch
PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2001 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 16 May 2001
Posts: 255

I do check the input for spaces and did try checking for null but it does not meet that criteria because something is there and that something is not spaces. That is why I tried to cast the field to blob so I could check for x'00' but it fails on the cast.
I will try your suggestion on the output though. Thanks.
Karen

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
EddieA
PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2001 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 28 Jun 2001
Posts: 2453
Location: Los Angeles

IF InputBody.e_Field1 = '' THEN
SET OutputRoot.XML.Top.Field1 = 'Nulls12345';
ELSE
SET OutputRoot.XML.Top.Field1 = InputBody.e_Field1;
END IF;
IF InputBody.e_Field2 = ' ' THEN
SET OutputRoot.XML.Top.Field2 = 'Spaces7890';
ELSE
SET OutputRoot.XML.Top.Field2 = InputBody.e_Field2;
END IF;

Cheers.

_________________
Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kwelch
PostPosted: Thu Dec 12, 2002 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 16 May 2001
Posts: 255

Hi gaussspg,

We could not get the IS NULL to work. We had to check for '' and this worked but now with WMQI 2.1 CSD2 we found that the '' does not work either unless you have your padding character defined as NUL instead of SPACE on the field in your messageset. Lucky for us we don't use this particular Message as output or we would be in trouble because we really want our string fields to be padded with spaces.

Karen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » MQSI - checking for low values and putting high values???
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.