Author |
Message
|
sudaltsov |
Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 2:12 am Post subject: UKora24.so: using ORACLE_HOME or not, using libraries or not |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 02 May 2012 Posts: 82
|
Hi all
Is UKora24.so using Oracle libraries located in $ORACLE_HOME (on AIX, if it matters) - or not? I could not find in the WMB requirements explicit reference to Oracle client libraries. But on the other hand, I see the string ORACLE_HOME in the file UKora24.so. Also, I tried ldd UKora24.so - again, no explicit mentioning of oracle libs (well, they can be open dynamically).
Is there a definitive document from IBM? WMB version 7.x, if that matters.
Thank you |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 3:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sudaltsov |
Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 3:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 02 May 2012 Posts: 82
|
Yes I did! Actually it is all fine with me and WMB:). My question is whether the WMB functionality should be retested after any changes in the local Oracle installation (like upgrade). |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 3:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
sudaltsov wrote: |
Yes I did! Actually it is all fine with me and WMB:). My question is whether the WMB functionality should be retested after any changes in the local Oracle installation (like upgrade). |
So, your changing out a significant part of your infrastructure, and you want to know if you should regression test your application ?
My wife sometimes asks me questions like this, and my response to her is invariably:
"Is this a trick question?" _________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dogorsy |
Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 3:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
Knight
Joined: 13 Mar 2013 Posts: 553 Location: Home Office
|
sudaltsov wrote: |
Yes I did! Actually it is all fine with me and WMB:). My question is whether the WMB functionality should be retested after any changes in the local Oracle installation (like upgrade). |
you don't have to. In fact, you do not have to test anything, just code and put into production and see what happens. BUT, make sure you already have someone else to take the blame for it when it fails. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sudaltsov |
Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 3:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 02 May 2012 Posts: 82
|
It is not a trick question. If WMB depends on the Oracle client libraries - it has to be tested. If it does not depend on them - there is no need to test. What's wrong with that logic?
The actual Oracle DB is on different system altogether. I am asking if WMB accesses that database with the help of local Oracle client libs - or doing it itself (if latter, I do not see why I should test WMB functionality after changing completely irrelevant parts of the system).
Last edited by sudaltsov on Fri Aug 02, 2013 3:37 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 3:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sudaltsov |
Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 3:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 02 May 2012 Posts: 82
|
Are you saying it is not using them? Or is it just another bit of sarcasm? Anyway, thank you. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 3:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
sudaltsov wrote: |
Are you saying it is not using them? Or is it just another bit of sarcasm? Anyway, thank you. |
If it were me, I'd run some of my Junits through on the STAGE environment just to be sure. _________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sudaltsov |
Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 3:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 02 May 2012 Posts: 82
|
I totally understand that position. You can never be too paranoid with testing (and hope that statement ends the sarcasm line here). But that does not directly answer my question. I was looking for some document describing those things - but could not find anything. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dogorsy |
Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 4:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
Knight
Joined: 13 Mar 2013 Posts: 553 Location: Home Office
|
sudaltsov wrote: |
I totally understand that position. You can never be too paranoid with testing (and hope that statement ends the sarcasm line here). But that does not directly answer my question. I was looking for some document describing those things - but could not find anything. |
I do not understand the purpose of your question. You either test it or not. Whether WMB uses the libraries or not, it is completely irrelevant. It is up to you. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 4:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
Google and the InfoCentre are the definitive source:
Code: |
;# Oracle Real Application Clusters stanza
[ORACLERACDB]
Driver=<Your Broker install directory>/ODBC/V6.0/lib/UKora24.so
Description=DataDirect 6.0 Oracle Wire Protocol
HostName=<Your Oracle Server Machine Name>
PortNumber=<Port on which Oracle is listening on HostName>
ServiceName=<Your Oracle Real Application Cluster Service Name>
AlternateServers=(HostName=<Your alternative host name>:PortNumber=<Port on
which Oracle is listening on the alternative host>:ServiceName=<Your
Oracle Real Application Cluster Service Name>)
CatalogOptions=0
EnableStaticCursorsForLongData=0
ApplicationUsingThreads=1
EnableDescribeParam=1
OptimizePrepare=1
WorkArounds=536870912
ProcedureRetResults=1
ColumnSizeAsCharacter=1
LoginTimeout=0 |
WMB ships with its own client libraries and does not normally use client installations outside of its own filesystem.
If a system admin changed that stanza, then this may not be true.
Check your odbc.ini file to see where the client libraries are being loaded from.
Using client libraries not shipped with WMB is an unsupported configuration. _________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 5:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
The odbc.ini file configuration given in the Broker Info Center uses the Data Direct driver to make a 'wire-level' connection, which does not require a full Oracle client install, nor require ORACLE_HOME, nor make use of the Oracle tns.ini file.
The DataDirect driver *can* be configured to use an Oracle client install locally, which would then require that ORACLE_HOME be set in the broker command shell, by specifying alternative lines in odbc.ini.
It's less clear if this is actually supported or not, but it is at least documented by Data direct. I forget if the alternate entries in odbc.ini are still in the Broker Info Center or not. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sudaltsov |
Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 6:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 02 May 2012 Posts: 82
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sudaltsov |
Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 6:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 02 May 2012 Posts: 82
|
mqjeff wrote: |
The odbc.ini file configuration given in the Broker Info Center uses the Data Direct driver to make a 'wire-level' connection, which does not require a full Oracle client install, nor require ORACLE_HOME, nor make use of the Oracle tns.ini file.
The DataDirect driver *can* be configured to use an Oracle client install locally, which would then require that ORACLE_HOME be set in the broker command shell, by specifying alternative lines in odbc.ini.
It's less clear if this is actually supported or not, but it is at least documented by Data direct. I forget if the alternate entries in odbc.ini are still in the Broker Info Center or not. |
Thank you, that generally answers my question... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|