|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
EBCDIC to ASCII translation ??? |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
Lisa |
Posted: Sun Nov 24, 2002 7:54 am Post subject: EBCDIC to ASCII translation ??? |
|
|
Master
Joined: 07 Jun 2002 Posts: 287 Location: NJ
|
Hi All,
I need your advice!
Environment:
OS/390 to HP-Unix 11
MQSeries sender channels set to Convert=Yes
WMQI 2.1 CSD02
Many EBCDIC data files contain packed-decimal and binary fields. For example, in a packed-decimal field, seven decimal digits and the sign are packed into four bytes. Any character-by-character EBCDIC to ASCII translation software or hardware will corrupt these fields and the original data will no longer be recoverable. The typical solution is to write a custom COBOL program to unpack the fields on the mainframe.
How are you all handling this type of data movement?
Should I remove the Convert equal Yes option on the sender channels? If yes, do I convert the data in the message flows? Will I have the same field corruption problems?
Thanks, Lisa |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kirani |
Posted: Sun Nov 24, 2002 1:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Jedi Knight
Joined: 05 Sep 2001 Posts: 3779 Location: Torrance, CA, USA
|
Hi Lisa,
On which platform the broker is running?
I would NEVER use CONVERT=YES at channel level to do the data conversion. You should leave this on receiver program!
WMQSI is capable of doing data conversion for you. There are two ways to do this,
1. In the MQInput node you could set CONVERT=YES and specify the CCSID and Encoding, this process maps to MQGMO_CONVERT option in MQSeries API.
2. Change CCSID and Encoding in Properties folder.
If you have already defined your input message format into MRM-CWF format, then use WMQI to do the data conversion by setting appropriate CCSID/Encoding in the properties folder. For example, If I want to send message to M/F then I would use following to do the Data conversion.
Code: |
SET OutputRoot.Properties.CodedCharSetId = M/F ccsid;
SET OutputRoot.Properties.Encoding = M/F Encoding;
|
_________________ Kiran
IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Lisa |
Posted: Sun Nov 24, 2002 2:55 pm Post subject: EBCDIC to ASCII translation ??? |
|
|
Master
Joined: 07 Jun 2002 Posts: 287 Location: NJ
|
Thanks for responding!
The Broker is running on HP-UX 11. I have imported the COBOL copybook, which contains COMP-3 fields in to the MRM.
From your response, it sounds like I have two options:
1. To set the Convert option in MQInput node or
2. Set the Output.Properties.CCSID and Encoding to the HP-UX values.
I will test this tomorrow and report the results.
Thanks, Lisa |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kirani |
Posted: Sun Nov 24, 2002 7:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Jedi Knight
Joined: 05 Sep 2001 Posts: 3779 Location: Torrance, CA, USA
|
If you are only receiving the data from M/F then you don't have to do anything special to do the Data conversion!
Just parse your input message using appropriate message definition using MRM-CWF and then you could refer to the value of COMP-3 field by referencing the Element within your message flows. _________________ Kiran
IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ajju. |
Posted: Mon Nov 25, 2002 8:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 26 Jul 2002 Posts: 77
|
Hi All,
Even i am having the problem for data conversion from EBCDIC-ASCII.
sender program is OS390 and receiver program is AIX.
What are the param values for
SET OutputRoot.Properties.CodedCharSetId = ?;
SET OutputRoot.Properties.Encoding =?;
or how or where to find this values.
Thanks,
Ajju. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|