Author |
Message
|
ggriffith |
Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 6:30 am Post subject: SAP Adapter Issue |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 17 Oct 2007 Posts: 67
|
During our migration from v6.1 to 8.0 we've come up with the following problem.
Our flow extracts data from SAP via a SAP Request node calling a rfc enabled function module (that's the only relevant bit) then populates a database with the data.
The flow has always worked in v6.1 in dev, qa and production environments
The v8 version is ok in dev and qa but we get the following exception in prod.
Quote: |
RecoverableException
Text: throw a RecordNotFoundException
Insert: InvalidRequestFault
Insert:
Insert:
Insert: BAPI Interface failed to process the request.com.ibm.j2ca.sap.exception.SapBAPIException: connection with handle 2 [65208239] closed after cancel Stack trace:
at com.sap.conn.rfc.engine.RfcIoOpenCntl.RfcCancel(RfcIoOpenCntl.java:1908)
at com.sap.conn.jco.rt.MiddlewareJavaRfc$JavaRfcConnection.cancel(MiddlewareJavaRfc.java:789)
at com.sap.conn.jco.rt.ClientConnection.cancel(ClientConnection.java:246)
at com.sap.conn.jco.rt.ConnectionManager.releaseWithCancel(ConnectionManager.java:211)
at com.sap.conn.jco.rt.Context.closeConnections(Context.java:319)
at com.sap.conn.jco.rt.Context.reset(Context.java:412)
at com.sap.conn.jco.rt.DefaultJCoRuntime.releaseRuntimeContext(DefaultJCoRuntime.java:226)
at com.sap.conn.jco.rt.SessionTimeoutChecker.execute(SessionTimeoutChecker.java:52)
at com.sap.conn.jco.rt.AutoJobRunner.run(AutoJobRunner.java:91)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:736)
|
The flow runs for 10 minutes (a lot af data) before failing, which is about the time the extract part takes in the successful 6.1 flow.
This started as an intermittent problem (failed 1 out of 3), but now it fails nearly all the time.
I've found posts on the net reporting the same issue dating back to 2010 ( so probably not a v8 problem) but unfortunately there are no resolutions listed. A debug trace only shows the above exception, and our SAP guys can't find anything in the SAP logs/traces. _________________ Message Broker since 2.1
MQ since before that |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 6:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
The reason you don't get the detail you need in the stack trace is the adapter is not embedding the application exception in the faultexception during BAPI because the SAP Java error is too long.
You'll need to open a PMR and follow the tech support directions to get the right detail (or take a service trace of the BAPI component and review the logs yourself).
Since it works intermittently, the error is either data- or volume- driven. You could pace the data input (ie. slow it down) to see if the frequency of the error changes. _________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mb01mqbrkrs |
Posted: Tue Mar 19, 2013 12:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 18 Nov 2011 Posts: 48
|
Well - we raised a PMR...
It turns out that there is a bug in the SAP adapter in 8.0.0.0-8.0.0.1 that causes SAP sessions to time-out after 10 minutes if the session is idle.
We only came across the issue when the function that we were calling took more than 10 minutes to respond.
In fairness to IBM, the default 10 minute time-out is actually a SAP JCO default introduced in JCO3 - which is why we didn't see the behaviour in WMB 6.1 as that uses JCO2.
Hope that helps some of you! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Tue Mar 19, 2013 1:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
mb01mqbrkrs wrote: |
We only came across the issue when the function that we were calling took more than 10 minutes to respond.
|
Well, that says something about how speedy SAP is. (or rather how SLOOOOWWWW it is). _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 2:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
smdavies99 wrote: |
mb01mqbrkrs wrote: |
We only came across the issue when the function that we were calling took more than 10 minutes to respond.
|
Well, that says something about how speedy SAP is. (or rather how SLOOOOWWWW it is). |
Have to disagree. It says something about how bad the query to retrieve the SAP data is. Or how big the volume of data being retrieved is (same thing).
You need to review your query with somebody who knows SAP to see if there is a way to optimize data access. If you have to wait for more than a minute your premise is wrong and you have to reengineer the data access in SAP, or reduce drastically the scope (number of rows returned).  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 3:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
SAP Lies to you when it says 'Done'
If the Bapi that you are calling calls another Bapi you can only guarantee that the first Bapi has completed it's work.
Many times in my last job we had to query the DB to see if the previous job had completed before we sent another on in for processing.
I don't rate SAP very highly I'm afraid. _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 3:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
smdavies99 wrote: |
SAP Lies to you when it says 'Done'
If the Bapi that you are calling calls another Bapi you can only guarantee that the first Bapi has completed it's work.
Many times in my last job we had to query the DB to see if the previous job had completed before we sent another on in for processing.
I don't rate SAP very highly I'm afraid. |
SAP has 2 levels of processing. Normal foreground transaction processing and statistics processing. Statistics processing gets put to a background queue and gets performed when that process gets time. The transaction is marked as complete when the foreground process is done. Looking for the statistics might take "some" time, or forever if there is a program error in the statistics processing program...
Enjoy  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
yuvarajc |
Posted: Mon Apr 15, 2013 12:34 pm Post subject: SAP Request node issue |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 27 Nov 2009 Posts: 2
|
Hi
We are also facing the same problem as part of our migration from v6.1 to 8 of message broker. While testing we are finding that BAPI request response via SAP Request Node is taking long time whenever the session has been idle for some time. For initial requests it takes anywhere around 15mins to obtain the response but all subsequent requests are obtained faster.
Please could you share the PMR or IBM response for the PMR raised for the issue and the suggested solution from IBM. Appreciate your support.
Thanks
Yuva |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|