Author |
Message
|
sebastia |
Posted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 1:57 am Post subject: how to know if a broker is 32-bit or 64-bit |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 07 Oct 2004 Posts: 1003
|
Hi. We are using MB v7 under Windows 7, 64-bit op sys.
We installed MB v 7.0.0.1, x86-64 taste.
I've been told "if broker is 64 bit, then do this, if it is 32 bit, then do that".
How can I tell if my broker is 32 bit or 64 bit ?
I know, all seems to say "64 bit" .. but I'd like a command to display a value ... Is it possible ?
Thanks. Sebastian. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
longng |
Posted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 8:50 am Post subject: Re: how to know if a broker is 32-bit or 64-bit |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 22 Feb 2013 Posts: 42
|
sebastia wrote: |
Hi. We are using MB v7 under Windows 7, 64-bit op sys.
We installed MB v 7.0.0.1, x86-64 taste.
I've been told "if broker is 64 bit, then do this, if it is 32 bit, then do that".
How can I tell if my broker is 32 bit or 64 bit ?
I know, all seems to say "64 bit" .. but I'd like a command to display a value ... Is it possible ?
Thanks. Sebastian. |
Try 'mqsiservice -a' |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sebastia |
Posted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 10:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 07 Oct 2004 Posts: 1003
|
I did,, and I see nothig "32-bit / 64-bit" related - maybe I just can't see ...
Machine 1 (windows XP, 32-bit)
Code: |
================================
C:\MQSI\7.0>mqsiservice -v
BIPmsgs es_ES
Console OEM CP=850, ICU CCSID=5348
Default codepage=ibm-5348_P100-1997, in ascii=ibm-5348_P100-1997
JAVA console codepage name=cp850
BIP8996I: Versión: 7002
BIP8997I: Producto: WebSphere Message Broker
BIP8998I: Nivel CMVC: S700-FP02
BIP8999I: Tipo de build: Production
BIP8071I: El mandato ha finalizado correctamente.
================================
|
Another machine (Windows 7, 64-bit)
Code: |
================================
C:\MQSI\7.0>mqsiservice -v
BIPmsgs es_ES
Console OEM CP=850, ICU CCSID=5348
Default codepage=ibm-5348_P100-1997, in ascii=ibm-5348_P100-1997
JAVA console codepage name=cp850
BIP8996I: Versión: 7001
BIP8997I: Producto: WebSphere Message Broker
BIP8998I: Nivel CMVC: S700-FP01
BIP8999I: Tipo de build: Production
BIP8071I: El mandato ha finalizado correctamente.
================================
|
More ideas ? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
marko.pitkanen |
Posted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 10:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Chevalier
Joined: 23 Jul 2008 Posts: 440 Location: Jamsa, Finland
|
Hi,
Try mqsiservice command with -v option and componentName. You perhaps then can find something like
Code: |
BIP8996I: Version: 7003
BIP8997I: Product: WebSphere Message Broker
BIP8998I: CMVC Level: S700-FP03
BIP8999I: Build Type: Production, 32 bit, x86_nt_4 |
--
Marko |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sebastia |
Posted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 10:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 07 Oct 2004 Posts: 1003
|
Hi, Marko - are you using a Windows op sys ?
Mine says
Code: |
=============================
C:\MQSI\7.0>mqsiservice -v BKAS
BIPmsgs es_ES
Console OEM CP=850, ICU CCSID=5348
Default codepage=ibm-5348_P100-1997, in ascii=ibm-5348_P100-1997
JAVA console codepage name=cp850
Install Path = C:\MQSI\7.0
Shared Work Path = NOT_HA_ENABLED_BROKER
Local Work Path = C:\ProgramData\Application Data\IBM\MQSI
Component UUID = 551d2c65-19eb-4f7c-86b2-4afc322d6955
process id = 0
broker db userId = brk
broker db password =
queue manager = QMAS
pubsub migration = no
fastpath Queue Manager = no
configuration timeout = 300
configuration delay timeout = 60
statistics major interval = 60
ComponentType = Broker
Fixpack capability level = (effective level 7.0.0.1)
BIP8996I: Versión: 7001
BIP8997I: Producto: WebSphere Message Broker
BIP8998I: Nivel CMVC: S700-FP01
BIP8999I: Tipo de build: Production
BIP8071I: El mandato ha finalizado correctamente.
C:\MQSI\7.0>
=============================
|
"Build type" is still .. almost empty "Production" ...
Good try !
( ) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 6:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
What marko meant was to run mqsiservice -v without any broker parameter.
Your installation is either 32 bit or 64 bit and all your broker instances on this box will follow the installation setup.  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sebastia |
Posted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 7:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 07 Oct 2004 Posts: 1003
|
"msiservice -v" output without parameter was inserted few entries before the one with the parameter - no 32-bit or 64-bit indication either.
mr Saper - I do trust the broker shall be 64-bit ... but shall be some command to display it to the customer ... no ?
Marko's output had some interesting text, indicating "32-bit" :
" BIP8999I: Build Type: Production, 32 bit, x86_nt_4 "
Unfortunatelly windows 7 does not display this text ...
Cheers. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
longng |
Posted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 10:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 22 Feb 2013 Posts: 42
|
It's rather strange that your output does not show if the broker is 32 or 64 bit??? Here's what I have on a Windows 7 system of mine
Code: |
C:\tmp>mqsiservice -v
BIPmsgs en_US
Console OEM CP=437, ICU CCSID=5348
Default codepage=ibm-5348_P100-1997, in ascii=ibm-5348_P100-1997
JAVA console codepage name=cp437
BIP8996I: Version: 7005
BIP8997I: Product: WebSphere Message Broker
BIP8998I: CMVC Level: S700-FP05
BIP8999I: Build Type: Production, 64 bit, amd64_nt_4
BIP8071I: Successful command completion.
C:\tmp>java -fullversion
java full version "JRE 1.6.0 IBM Windows AMD 64 build pwa6460sr10fp1-20120321_01
(SR10 FP1)" |
Since WMB uses java, it's logical to infer from the java version as shown in the example above.
A bit of a hack, another way to find out if a Windows application is 32-bit or 64-bit is to go to the Windows Task Manager and identify the broker's processes (bipbroker.exe, bipservice.exe etc.). If those processes have *32 string appended to them then they are 32-bit, otherwise they are 64-bit. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
marko.pitkanen |
Posted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 10:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Chevalier
Joined: 23 Jul 2008 Posts: 440 Location: Jamsa, Finland
|
Perhaps more details were added in more recent fixpack that sebastia has?
--
Marko |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|