ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Java Compute Node problem finding Java Class

Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
 Java Compute Node problem finding Java Class « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
EricCox
PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2013 10:13 am    Post subject: Java Compute Node problem finding Java Class Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 08 Apr 2011
Posts: 292

To all,

Happy New Year!

I'm happy to tell you I'm now assigned to migrating services from V60 to V80.

IBM has asked us to do the intermediate Import to V70 and then Export to V80.

I have a JCN on a Subflow. In v6.0.0.8 everything is good. When I export to V70 and then to V80 the JCN can no longer find the java class referenced on the JCN node.

The class was Imported into a Package in a Java Project. This Java Project looks to be working. It has some warnings about variables not being read, but it looks to be building fine.

Can someone give me some hints on what to look for that would be interfering with the JCN finding the class in the Package?

Let me know if you want to see code.

I see this bug referenced in V70:
106838 Unable to locate a class definition error on JavaCompute node

The link to the document is:
http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.wss?uid=swg24028530

I applied the Fix Pack 2 but that didn't solve it in V70.

Thanks,
Eric
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lancelotlinc
PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2013 11:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 22 Mar 2010
Posts: 4941
Location: Bloomington, IL USA

7.0.0.2 is a very old bug laden version. 7.0.0.5 is recent. Try that.
_________________
http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
EricCox
PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2013 1:23 pm    Post subject: Occuring in V80 also. Thinking more fundamental. Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 08 Apr 2011
Posts: 292

I'm experiencing this in V80 also. Is it possible this doesn't work in v80 also? I was kind of doubting that which makes me think it's me.

My initial thought is I'm doing something more fundamental incorrectly.

I'm going to try and build a JCN flow and Java Project from scratch and merge in code from the legacy application manually.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smdavies99
PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2013 10:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 6076
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.

Have you tried any of the sample flows? A good number of them use JCN's
_________________
WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995

Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
McueMart
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 1:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chevalier

Joined: 29 Nov 2011
Posts: 490
Location: UK...somewhere

Are you using Apps/Libs at v8? If so is your App/Lib correctly referencing the Java Project which contains the classes needed?

Is this a build time or a runtime problem you are seeing?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EricCox
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 6:28 am    Post subject: No Apps/Libs, Buildtime Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 08 Apr 2011
Posts: 292

I am not using Apps/Libs in v80. I'm just exporting/importing the lower level project containers.

The problems I see are at build time. The subflow that has the JCN is not recognizing the java class assigned as a property.

The funny thing is when I do the Open Java menu item on the JCN it sends me right to the Package and class declaration which is assigned to the JCN.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lancelotlinc
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 6:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 22 Mar 2010
Posts: 4941
Location: Bloomington, IL USA

In (right click) Project -> properties -> Java Build Path -> Libraries tab -> add external jars, do you have each external jar you are referring to specified?
_________________
http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
EricCox
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 2:26 pm    Post subject: External Jars added Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 08 Apr 2011
Posts: 292

Yes, I did add those. Now it seems to build fine.

Somehow I got it to add a new Java Project through the Open Java | Menu and it worked.

Now what was the difference from what I was doing building it manually. I can't find any difference.

Geez!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lancelotlinc
PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2013 5:54 am    Post subject: Re: External Jars added Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 22 Mar 2010
Posts: 4941
Location: Bloomington, IL USA

EricCox wrote:
Now what was the difference from what I was doing building it manually. I can't find any difference.


Don't ever build any WMB artifact manually. This is your first mistake.

Always use a build script to build each artifact. You can use one of several languages to write your build script. My favorite is Ant.

Manual builds are prone to failure and the outcome varies by person. Scripted builds are repeatable and the outcome is consistent no matter who builds the asset.
_________________
http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
EricCox
PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2013 1:35 pm    Post subject: Ant builds Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 08 Apr 2011
Posts: 292

Do you have any documentation on how to script and execute builds using Ant?

Thanks for your suggestions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lancelotlinc
PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2013 1:40 pm    Post subject: Re: Ant builds Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 22 Mar 2010
Posts: 4941
Location: Bloomington, IL USA

EricCox wrote:
Do you have any documentation on how to script and execute builds using Ant?


It's a bit dated, but the concepts still apply. Start slowly with a very small Ant script. Capture the mqsicreatebar command and options from <workspace>/.metadata/.log file. Run those options on the WMB command line interactively till you get the mqsicreatebar options just right.

http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/websphere/library/techarticles/0706_spriet/0706_spriet.html

EricCox wrote:
Thanks for your suggestions.


You're welcome. Happy New Year.
_________________
http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
lancelotlinc
PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2013 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 22 Mar 2010
Posts: 4941
Location: Bloomington, IL USA

Also, once you get the Ant script working, you can run it directly from toolkit or any Continuous Integration tool you like (ie. Hudson, CruiseControl, Jenkins, etc).
_________________
http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
EricCox
PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2013 1:46 pm    Post subject: Awesome Info Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 08 Apr 2011
Posts: 292

I'm going to read, understand and then build and execute.

This is a great help and is much appreciated.

Happy New Year to you Too!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
emiddleware
PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2015 4:24 am    Post subject: Re: Java Compute Node problem finding Java Class Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 03 Apr 2006
Posts: 120

EricCox wrote:
To all,

Happy New Year!

I'm happy to tell you I'm now assigned to migrating services from V60 to V80.

IBM has asked us to do the intermediate Import to V70 and then Export to V80.

I have a JCN on a Subflow. In v6.0.0.8 everything is good. When I export to V70 and then to V80 the JCN can no longer find the java class referenced on the JCN node.

The class was Imported into a Package in a Java Project. This Java Project looks to be working. It has some warnings about variables not being read, but it looks to be building fine.

Can someone give me some hints on what to look for that would be interfering with the JCN finding the class in the Package?

Let me know if you want to see code.

I see this bug referenced in V70:
106838 Unable to locate a class definition error on JavaCompute node

The link to the document is:
http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.wss?uid=swg24028530

I applied the Fix Pack 2 but that didn't solve it in V70.

Thanks,
Eric


Hi Eric Cox,
I have WMB artifacts in Unix and the version is 6.1. There are more than 100 flows and subflows.
I want to have the common flow and one flow imported to my IIB v9 which I have configured in my Windows system.
If I have to import from 6 to 9 , first I have to convert the artifacts from 6 to 8 .. which means that I need to install v8 once again in my system ?
I want
_________________
Best Regards,
E-MiddleWare
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
EricCox
PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:10 am    Post subject: Not on IIB Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 08 Apr 2011
Posts: 292

We have not migrated to IIB v9 so I can be of little help in that regard.

Best of luck!

Eric
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next Page 1 of 2

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Java Compute Node problem finding Java Class
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.