Author |
Message
|
matthewcanty |
Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 5:09 am Post subject: Unable to run IBM.XMS once deployed |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 09 Jul 2012 Posts: 8 Location: Brixton, London
|
Good day. I have developed an application which works successfully on my local machine but I have run into a problem when moving out to production.
The error is as follows:
Code: |
System.IO.FileNotFoundException: Could not load file or assembly 'IBM.XMS.Admin, Version=2.5.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=d2666ab12fca862b' or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified.
File name: 'IBM.XMS.Admin, Version=2.5.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=d2666ab12fca862b'
|
I understand where this file is - C:\Prog... - and my .Net application is simply referencing IBM.XMS.dll which works. It's when I deploy and run I get the error above.
I cannot post the link of where I followed installation instructions, but if you Google "Installing WebSphere MQ classes for .NET" it is the top result... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 7:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
And is the dll present on the Production machine? If it is, have you set up any environment necessary for your application to function? _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
matthewcanty |
Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 7:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 09 Jul 2012 Posts: 8 Location: Brixton, London
|
exerk wrote: |
And is the dll present on the Production machine? If it is, have you set up any environment necessary for your application to function? |
Yes IBM.XMS.dll is present in the application directory. IBM Websphere MQ 7.0.1.8 is present in Programs and Features. The only - currently known - difference is it is now Windows Service rather than Console Application.
PATH includes:
C:\Program Files (x86)\IBM\WebSphere MQ\Java\lib;
C:\Program Files (x86)\IBM\WebSphere MQ\bin64;
C:\Program Files (x86)\IBM\WebSphere MQ\bin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 7:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
matthewcanty wrote: |
The only - currently known - difference is it is now Windows Service rather than Console Application. |
So I'm going to ask the obvious questions:
1. Did it run successfully as a service on your local machine?
2. Is the OS build the same on both machines?
3. What's the difference in the users under which you are running them in each machine? _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 7:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
matthewcanty wrote: |
The only - currently known - difference is it is now Windows Service rather than Console Application. |
So it's running as a different user & is instanciated in a different way?
That's a clue. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
matthewcanty |
Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 8:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 09 Jul 2012 Posts: 8 Location: Brixton, London
|
Sorry having a bit of trouble getting it going as a local windows service... Working on it!
What I can tell you is we have set up a specific user which the service is running as for use of the SSL keystore. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 8:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
matthewcanty wrote: |
What I can tell you is we have set up a specific user which the service is running as for use of the SSL keystore. |
I'm impressed! Seriously, no duff, and no sarcasm intended. At a guess I'd look at permissions on the various directories your user needs to access. _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
matthewcanty |
Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 8:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 09 Jul 2012 Posts: 8 Location: Brixton, London
|
Haha, I literally just pinged off an email to the guys who sort that stuff out. Now I have the pleasure of waiting for a response...
I've asked if the user has access rights to the C drive - sound right? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 8:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
matthewcanty wrote: |
I've asked if the user has access rights to the C drive - sound right? |
Only the bits of it it needs... _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
matthewcanty |
Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 8:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 09 Jul 2012 Posts: 8 Location: Brixton, London
|
Will have to pick this up again in the morning - just so you know I haven't dropped the topic.
EDIT it is now the morning |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
matthewcanty |
Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 1:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 09 Jul 2012 Posts: 8 Location: Brixton, London
|
Okay I just tried changing the name of the IBM folder so it definitely would not be able to locate the files it needed even if it could. The error message is the same which indicates that it might not be looking in the right place to begin with.
This is different to when I run the local console app however, whereby if I rename IBM in Program Files it fails to even build. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
matthewcanty |
Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 1:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 09 Jul 2012 Posts: 8 Location: Brixton, London
|
Okay! Closer.
Turns out due to a cock-up different versions of the Java/.Net clients were installed. So got 7.5 - instead of 7.0.1.8 - up on the server and I am now looking at an issue creating Initial Context from bindings.
Having just logged onto the server as our user it turns out the username inherited come spaces and capital letters which is nice but is probably having adverse effects on SSL key authorization - emails ahoy.
Will update in due course. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
matthewcanty |
Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 2:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 09 Jul 2012 Posts: 8 Location: Brixton, London
|
Working.
What I fixed/noticed:
- Installed MQ Client 7.5 - "Windows Client" and "Java and .Net Messaging and Web Services"
- I have had to specify the Bindings and SSL key repository directories from C:\ rather than from the install location.
- It did not matter that spindaluser was named Spin Dal User.
- The user did not require any special permissions, although if you are looking at this for guidance it may be something worth checking.
Thanks for your help - sometimes things just need spelling out for you  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 8:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
So you've found out that V7.5 has new features when compared to V7.0.1.8 when looking at XMS...
If you need to work with V7.0.1.8 you need to run the compile with those binaries. V7.5 should be backward compatible i.e. you can run an earlier version, but you cannot run a V7.5 build against an earlier version and be assured that it works.  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|