Author |
Message
|
yupoet |
Posted: Thu May 03, 2012 4:59 am Post subject: Alter SVRCONN definition cause connecting channel interrupt |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 26 Nov 2008 Posts: 36
|
MQ Version: 6.0.2.8
Platform: AIX
App Type: JAVA
Channel Type: SVRCONN
Multiple threads are being connected to the queue manager via SVRCONN channel A.
Later I would like to alter this SVRCONN channel parameters (to install a channel exit) without disconnecting the applications and stopping the channel in advance.
After I altered the definition of the channel, most of the threads are still running well. But the newly installed exits doesn't work as expected.
A few hours later, some MQ RC2018 error happened and the channels got interconnected. Application program have to re-connect to the SVRCONN again and then the EXIT works fine.
alter chl(CLIENT_CHAN) CHLTYPE(SVRCONN) +
TRPTYPE(TCP) MCAUSER('mqm') +
SENDEXIT('wmqcml64.so(wmqcml)') +
RCVEXIT('wmqcml64.so(wmqcml)') +
SENDDATA('+') +
RCVDATA('+') +
DESCR('LF=/mlog/#QM#C#N;LO=0-6,11;LC=99;LS=999')
05-03 10:31:47.045 FATAL ZHBJ-01139207 [MQClientPair ]
IBM_MQ_Client @ 向队列【AFE.TO.RATEFEED.RLYQ.UAT】中发送数据时异常:
com.ibm.mq.MQException: MQJE001: MQException 出现:完成代码是 2,原因为
2018
MQJI002: 未连接至队列管理器。
05-03 10:31:47.045 FATAL ZHBJ-01139207 [MQClientPair ]
IBM_MQ_Client @ Completion Code【2】Reason Code:【2018】
05-03 10:31:47.045 FATAL ZHBJ-01139207 [MQClientPair ]
IBM_MQ_Client @ 【MQJE001: MQException 出现:完成代码是 2,原因为 2018
MQJI002: 未连接至队列管理器。】
My questions are related to how the MQ channel internally worked:
1. When I altered the channel definition, are the running instances of the SVRCONN channels interuppted?
2. If not interrupted, are those running channel still using the old definition, until they got disconnected and reconnect again?
3. Not sure if the 2018 error is related to the alternation, or just temporary network issue.
Thank you in advance! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Thu May 03, 2012 5:03 am Post subject: Re: Alter SVRCONN definition cause connecting channel interr |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
yupoet wrote: |
My questions are related to how the MQ channel internally worked:
1. When I altered the channel definition, are the running instances of the SVRCONN channels interuppted? |
No.
yupoet wrote: |
2. If not interrupted, are those running channel still using the old definition, until they got disconnected and reconnect again? |
Yes.
yupoet wrote: |
3. Not sure if the 2018 error is related to the alternation, or just temporary network issue. |
I'm not sure either. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
yupoet |
Posted: Thu May 03, 2012 5:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 26 Nov 2008 Posts: 36
|
Thank you Jeff, agree with you.
Do you have any idea if there is any IBM official document talking about changing definition while channels are running?
I would like to convince my customer on this. _________________ With warm regards and thanks! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Thu May 03, 2012 5:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
I'm sure there's something in the section of the Info Center on intercommunications. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
yupoet |
Posted: Thu May 03, 2012 5:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 26 Nov 2008 Posts: 36
|
Great hints!
Many thanks! _________________ With warm regards and thanks! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gbaddeley |
Posted: Thu May 03, 2012 4:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 25 Mar 2003 Posts: 2538 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
yupoet wrote: |
Thank you Jeff, agree with you.
Do you have any idea if there is any IBM official document talking about changing definition while channels are running?
I would like to convince my customer on this. |
I am pretty sure that you can't alter any parameters on any type of channel and have it effect any running instances of the channel. Basically, when a MCA starts up a new instance of a channel it takes a copy of the channel definition and uses that for the life of the instance. _________________ Glenn |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Thu May 03, 2012 4:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
gbaddeley wrote: |
yupoet wrote: |
Thank you Jeff, agree with you.
Do you have any idea if there is any IBM official document talking about changing definition while channels are running?
I would like to convince my customer on this. |
I am pretty sure that you can't alter any parameters on any type of channel and have it effect any running instances of the channel. Basically, when a MCA starts up a new instance of a channel it takes a copy of the channel definition and uses that for the life of the instance. |
Yes, but svrconn channels are active very briefly; so an altered attribute, like exit, could take effect in what seems like real-time. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Thu May 03, 2012 4:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
bruce2359 wrote: |
Yes, but svrconn channels are active very briefly; so an altered attribute, like exit, could take effect in what seems like real-time. |
Beg to differ. It all depends on the app. You can have the channel open and the last message was 10 hours ago... Now if you close and reopen the channel the changes will take effect. If you just keep it open and use it, no changes to take effect yet...  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Thu May 03, 2012 8:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
Yes, it depends on the app(s). _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gbaddeley |
Posted: Sun May 06, 2012 4:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 25 Mar 2003 Posts: 2538 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
When channel parameters are altered its a good idea to stop & start the channel so that the alterations take effect immediately. That way you will be able to confirm that the alterations worked as expected, otherwise it could be hours / weeks / months before a new instance of the channel starts. _________________ Glenn |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
yupoet |
Posted: Sun May 06, 2012 7:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 26 Nov 2008 Posts: 36
|
Thank you, all is clear now.
The definition would be copied when a new instance is established.
We don't want to manually stop/start the channel because the change is to install a channel msg exit only and do not want to request for an outage window. _________________ With warm regards and thanks! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gbaddeley |
Posted: Mon May 07, 2012 3:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 25 Mar 2003 Posts: 2538 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
yupoet wrote: |
Thank you, all is clear now.
The definition would be copied when a new instance is established.
We don't want to manually stop/start the channel because the change is to install a channel msg exit only and do not want to request for an outage window. |
Surely the change window should include verification testing that the exit is working as expected. What are you going to do if the msg exit fails when it is first used on a new channel instance hours / days / weeks after you made the change?
Its less risky to request an outage window and do proper testing than have an unexpected outage or incident at some random time in the future. _________________ Glenn |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|