Author |
Message
|
Umarul Farooq |
Posted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 4:49 am Post subject: Could not read EBCDIC data properly |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 15 Jan 2012 Posts: 14
|
Hi All,
I have Message Driven Bean (MDB) to recieve EBCDIC data, When i read (print) the ebcdic data, it is not the exact data which put into the Queue.
I am getting some junk data.
Test Case:
1. I sent Ebcdic data to Queue, using Java Programe
2. MDB is listening to same queue, and immediately MDB will receive the data, But the data is not the same data
Could you please help me to solve this issue.
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 5:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
What platform is the sending Java on? If it's a non-EBCDIC platform why are you sending the data in EBCDIC rather than using the WMQ conversion?
What conversion options exist in the transport between the 2 apps?
What conversion options are being applied by the receiver? Both explicitly coded by you and implicitly?
Define "junk". Do you just mean "not what I need"?
What is the hex values of the payload being sent and being received? How does it differ (if at all)? _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Umarul Farooq |
Posted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 5:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 15 Jan 2012 Posts: 14
|
Thank you for your response,
I need to read/listion the message from queue through MDB.
In production, (our client system) mainframe system will put the EBCDIC data into the queue.
For my testing, i writtern Java programe (simulator) to send EBCDIC data (I convert the text message to EBCDIC)
Not used any options, all are default values. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 5:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
Umarul Farooq wrote: |
For my testing, i writtern Java programe (simulator) to send EBCDIC data (I convert the text message to EBCDIC)
|
Convert how? Did you just convert the payload or actually send an EBCDIC message with the correct descriptor?
Umarul Farooq wrote: |
Not used any options, all are default values. |
I never said you had, I asked what options were in use. Which includes those used by your admin.
You've also decided not to answer my question about junk, or what the values are. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
rekarm01 |
Posted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 12:33 pm Post subject: Re: Could not read EBCDIC data properly |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 1415
|
Umarul Farooq wrote: |
When i read (print) the ebcdic data, it is not the exact data which put into the Queue. |
The problem is often with the application that writes the message data, not the application that reads it. Make sure that the message header(s) correctly describe the message data, before putting the message on the queue.
Umarul Farooq wrote: |
I am getting some junk data. |
That's not nearly enough information. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 1:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
There is a known bug / behavioral difference in early versions of WMQ 7.0
Upgrade to the latest version (7.0.1. and let us know if you still have the problem.
Have fun  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 11:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
Step 1 - browse it on the queue, without conversion, check the CCSID is correct for the message data (both should be ebcdic).
The data should be "unreadable". because your PC expects ASCII.
Step 2 - browse it on the queue, with conversion, check the data is now readable and the CCSID has changed to ASCII.
Step 3 - check why your app is not doing data conversion properly - use MQMGO_CONVERT, or JMS text (not byte) messages.
I use the support pac MO71 to view messages - it has a browse queue context menu option of convert or not (the default is to convert data). |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|