Author |
Message
|
goodwill |
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 8:42 pm Post subject: Free visual tool to map your MQ network? Help us improve it. |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 17 Jul 2010 Posts: 31
|
https://github.com/tgqc/QView
QView explorer is a newly open sourced (MIT Lic) utility with a lot of potential, but we NEED YOUR HELP!
What does QView do?
* Automagically maps your MQ network, including queue and channel objects.
* Displays an interactive and printable tree view of your network.
* Provides configurable MONITORING including queue depth and channel status, with sensible defaults.
* Provides a One-click EDITABLE list of attributes for each of your MQ objects.
* Provides a ‘runmqsc’ type interface for each Queue Manger node at the click of a button.
* Provides 2 step channel stop/start, and queue put and get disable/enable.
* Will read and parse messages from and to a queue.
* Will write back or move read messages to any queue.
Functionality could do with some polishing, and there is so much more we can do with the rich data model. Please - Download, Test drive, Help out.
https://github.com/tgqc/QView |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 11:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
Is there a simple to follow installation guide?
I.e. click this link, download, run setup.exe, all done - would be ideal.
Also - does it show MQ client connections in the network view? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
goodwill |
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 12:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 17 Jul 2010 Posts: 31
|
Installer is not a bad idea.
At present, you need to download the windows distribution from the dowload tab (or https://github.com/tgqc/QView/downloads) and download the file 'qview_utility.zip'.
Unzip this to any directory, and navigate to 'qview\bin\qview.exe'. You sould be up and running. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
goodwill |
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 12:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 17 Jul 2010 Posts: 31
|
And yes, can optionally show client connection channels and their status. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 4:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
OK, then what is the first thing to do when it starts up?
My PC is a MQ client, I don't have local QMs running, (or when I do they are not connected to anything else).
--------------
Looks like when it connects to a QM over a client channel, it is passing through a blank connection id. Can this behaviour be changed? Our security exit will not permit such connections.
What version of the IBM MQ JAR files have you imbedded? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
goodwill |
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 4:21 pm Post subject: Add connection ID |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 17 Jul 2010 Posts: 31
|
Yeah can be done fairly easily.
The code is organised into an MVC structure.
The property will only need to be added to the connection props table in the 'data' (model) PCF class 'MQConnect.java',
I believe the value will be sourced from the 'control' classes 'Discovery.java' (connection event) and 'EntryPoint.java' (user options).
I will look at that today sometime.
Of course, if you want to play around, load it up into Netbeans. A new build takes less than a minute. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
goodwill |
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 8:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 17 Jul 2010 Posts: 31
|
Ok, the new windows zip is up, complete with connection userId.
If the defaults do not suite, set the Connection Id along with the server conn channel name etc in the network node properties pane to the left.
Then hit the target icon.
The initial user ID is the default, however it is possible to set a different user ID for any mapped queue manager, including those to which a connection was refused. Simply make the change and hit the target icon again. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 10:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
The blank id question is interesting, it should really be inherited from the windows userid (which would be fine). It would be much more preferable to do that than to have to set it in options.
IBM change the default behaviour in this area from time to time, which is why I asked about the version of the MQ jar files that you have included. I think they provide a JVM parameter to influence it on later fixpacks.
I don't tend to re-build packages myself. Clicking on exe files is about my limit! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqtablet |
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 11:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 09 Jun 2009 Posts: 71
|
If you need any help with development, please let me know. I've developed many MQ admin and monitoring tools in java and C#.
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 11:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
goodwill |
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2012 1:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 17 Jul 2010 Posts: 31
|
Yes, seems it was broken. Have uploaded again, is good now. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2012 2:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
That download site is blocked for me.
I can download tgqc-QView-5c26cf8.zip - is it also in there? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
goodwill |
Posted: Sat Apr 21, 2012 2:51 am Post subject: Another download link |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 17 Jul 2010 Posts: 31
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 6:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
OK that works. Looks interesting - I can think of several refinements though, let's start with this one.
How about reading the CCDT file on the Windows PC (found in the usual location as per MQ documentation).
This can be used to build an initial list of known queue managers (or just provide a selection list to choose from) and of course the connection details are inside the CCDT (I use v6 format CCDTs), or you can actually use the CCDT to connect to the QM.
At the very least - if a QM name is manually entered, the connection could be via the CCDT instead of having to enter host/port/channel details (also can these fields please be made adjacent?)
In terms of possible bugs. Even though I de-select the queue options I still see some model queues on the network view.
When the log reports MQRCs - can it also show the QM name in each case? - there are a lot of 3008s (we don't use MQ clusters).
When QMs are spidered - the same userid and svrconn channel as per the original node is used to connect to it. This won't always work and I couldn't see a way to override properties for discovered QMs.
In the network view - all the QMs are shown joined together by one channel - but I am not sure this represents the actual situation where links might include A<->B, B<->C and A<->C etc. Would QM A appear in the network view twice? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
markt |
Posted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 7:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Knight
Joined: 14 May 2002 Posts: 508
|
Redistributing IBM jar files is not permitted by the license terms. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|