ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Problem while using PROPAGATE statement

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Problem while using PROPAGATE statement « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
radhika.tharayil
PostPosted: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:08 am    Post subject: Problem while using PROPAGATE statement Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 06 Apr 2010
Posts: 7

I am having a provider flow, which has a MQInput node followed by compute and the some downstream nodes.

I am using the compute node to send requests to multiple destinations one at a time. For which I am using the PROPAGATE statement. Below the code snippet.

DECLARE countDBResult INTEGER COALESCE(CARDINALITY(InputRoot.MQRFH2.usr.SOAP[]),0);
DECLARE j INTEGER 1;
WHILE j<=countDBResult DO

Some logic……………

PROPAGATE TO TERMINAL 'out' DELETE NONE;

SET j = j + 1;
END WHILE;


RETURN FALSE;

The problem I face is if the countDBResult is 2 for e.g. Propagate will output two different messages out of compute node. But during this the original message is getting stored in the MQInput node input queue, and when the count of j reaches 3, the message flow restarts again by picking the message from the input queue and process it further 2 times. Hence if the countDBResult was 2, I get 4 outputs 2 for every iteration for a typical failure scenario where both the endpoints are down.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

Don't use CARDINALITY to write loops. It's bad.

Use reference variables or use the for loop that uses reference variables.

Nothing you have shown would cause the behavior you are asking about.

A failure in the flow somewhere, likely after the propagate loop has finished, that causes the message to roll back and retry, would cause the behavior you are asking about.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lancelotlinc
PostPosted: Fri Mar 29, 2013 4:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 22 Mar 2010
Posts: 4941
Location: Bloomington, IL USA

You may like to set Transactionality to OFF. You may like to have a formal error handler. You may like to have a backout queue.
_________________
http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Problem while using PROPAGATE statement
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.