Author |
Message
|
sarmahdi |
Posted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 1:12 am Post subject: Need an MQ replacement in dev |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 31 Oct 2011 Posts: 7
|
Hi All,
We are not trying to phase out Websphere MQ from our systems. We ar trying to setup a development environment and trying to connect to test environment for our MQ communication as we cannot have another license for MQ in dev.
I am a java developer, I can connect to MQ using java api but here is the issue. Its slow. very slow. Our architecture is like this: our web App connects and communicates to MQ for data and MQ connects with our databases and retreives data for us. So our app doesnot have any hibernate or database access layer. In test environment it works fine cos of the configuration of the machine and everything is local. My machine is not that very heavy (core 2Duo with 3GB ram). So it is slow. how do developers solve this issue.
Will it solve by having the MQ server setup to commnicate with remote DBs locally on my machine?
If thats not possible due to license restrictions, then how can i simulate or emulate that. Some one told me you need Active MQ, but active MQ is a message broker which only comunicates the MQ to get data (through JMS). My Mq adapter that uses the ibm.mq.jar does the same as well.
i have been working all my life with a database with SQL queries. So what do i do to solve this.
I will really appreciate any help on this.
P.S we have a running App but we never had a dev enironemnt, it was developed by some other company. they must be mocking it through some way but we dont know how.
Thanks
mahdi. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 8:04 am Post subject: Re: Need an MQ replacement in dev |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9471 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
I'm confused. You have a qmgr instance in production, but none in test/development. Why not? _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 9:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Calculate the amount of extra time you spend in a single day because your connection to the test region runs so slowly.
Calculate the amount of money that sums up to based on your salary/hourly rate for a single day. Multiple that number by 350 days a year (assuming you have vacation time).
Multiple that number by the total number of developers you have who need to interact with WebSphere MQ.
Subtract from that number the cost of a non-production development license for WebSphere MQ.
Tell the CIO that the company is wasting that much money. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 12:18 pm Post subject: Re: Need an MQ replacement in dev |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
sarmahdi wrote: |
I am a java developer, I can connect to MQ using java api but here is the issue. Its slow. very slow. |
Well this is your problem.
sarmahdi wrote: |
Our architecture is like this: our web App connects and communicates to MQ for data and MQ connects with our databases and retreives data for us. So our app doesnot have any hibernate or database access layer. |
You're describing a very standard architecture.
sarmahdi wrote: |
In test environment it works fine cos of the configuration of the machine and everything is local. My machine is not that very heavy (core 2Duo with 3GB ram). So it is slow. |
No, that's not why it's slow. If it's faster because everything is local in test get your network people to fix what they've misconfigured.
sarmahdi wrote: |
how do developers solve this issue. |
They either have a development environment, or they use resources from the test environment as you're attempting.
sarmahdi wrote: |
Will it solve by having the MQ server setup to commnicate with remote DBs locally on my machine? |
MQ servers don't communicate with databases. At least not the WMQ software on those servers. Something running on them that your site has written is doing that.
sarmahdi wrote: |
P.S we have a running App but we never had a dev enironemnt, it was developed by some other company. they must be mocking it through some way but we dont know how. |
Or they had a development environment they developed things in? _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sarmahdi |
Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 1:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 31 Oct 2011 Posts: 7
|
Thanks for all your answers, i do really appreciate that, both vitor and mqjeff.
well the company that developed the app used two things to bypass having an MQ. first they just sent for every request a prepared response xml which they were expecting from mq. which of course only caters one case. the second was they had a database and it was filled with requests and their respective responses. I am trying the first approach to see how much time does it take to load pages w.r.t when i try it through connecting the UAT MQ.
bruce we have an MQ server in test and that is what we were connecting to. but its slow when i run the same app on my machine but its fast when i run on the UAT.
Thanks
Really appreciate your help. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 5:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9471 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
sarmahdi wrote: |
bruce we have an MQ server in test and that is what we were connecting to. but its slow when i run the same app on my machine but its fast when i run on the UAT.
Thanks
Really appreciate your help. |
Sounds like you need to upgrade your hardware platform, doesn't it? _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vmcgloin |
Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 3:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
Knight
Joined: 04 Apr 2002 Posts: 560 Location: Scotland
|
To add to mqjeff's calculations you should add:
- the estimated cost of delaying defect fixes by not having a development integration test environment, and
- the risks of those defects making their way downstream towards your live environment through only using MQ stubs to simulate responses in development,
- and the costs of maintaining substantial libraries of 'pre-prepared responses'.
- Also the risks introduced to your user acceptance test environment by having developers potentially connecting directly from uncontrolled dev machines. How do you manage versioning & lifecycles in your current environment? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|