ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Clustering » Mixing LU62 and TCP in cluster?

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Mixing LU62 and TCP in cluster? « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
sdiz
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 12:24 am    Post subject: Mixing LU62 and TCP in cluster? Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 17 Oct 2011
Posts: 4

Hi,
Is it possible to mix LU62-only node and TCP-only node in the same cluster?
The FR will support both transport type .

Can they communicate with each other?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 3:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 6622
Location: US: west coast, almost.

What does the IBM documentation have to say about this?
_________________
I'm not paranoid; but the fellow following me is.
I have nothing to hide from the people I trust.

Energizer Bunny arrested! Charged with battery.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 5:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 6622
Location: US: west coast, almost.

Moved to Clustering forum.
_________________
I'm not paranoid; but the fellow following me is.
I have nothing to hide from the people I trust.

Energizer Bunny arrested! Charged with battery.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 5:47 am    Post subject: Re: Mixing LU62 and TCP in cluster? Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 20877
Location: Ohio, USA

sdiz wrote:
Can they communicate with each other?


Queue managers communicate by using WMQ channels. They don't know what protocol the channel is using, and don't care.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 5:54 am    Post subject: Re: Mixing LU62 and TCP in cluster? Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 6622
Location: US: west coast, almost.

sdiz wrote:
Hi,
Is it possible to mix LU62-only node and TCP-only node in the same cluster?
The FR will support both transport type .

Can they communicate with each other?

As I re-read the OP, you are asking if a qmgr that only supports tcp/ip can establish a channel to a qmgr that does NOT support tcp/ip.

Is this your question?

The Intercommunications documentation describes channel attributes that must match at both ends of a channel for the channel to successfully start.
_________________
I'm not paranoid; but the fellow following me is.
I have nothing to hide from the people I trust.

Energizer Bunny arrested! Charged with battery.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sdiz
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 17 Oct 2011
Posts: 4

Just want to confirm cluster won't do message relaying with multi hop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 6622
Location: US: west coast, almost.

Why do believe this to be the case?

Do you understand what channels are, and what they do?

Do you understand how messages are routed across mq networks?
_________________
I'm not paranoid; but the fellow following me is.
I have nothing to hide from the people I trust.

Energizer Bunny arrested! Charged with battery.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 5:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 20877
Location: Ohio, USA

sdiz wrote:
Just want to confirm cluster won't do message relaying with multi hop.


What has this got to do with your original post? That was talking about comminucation protocols?

You link queue managers together, in a cluster or not, with channels. These channels use protocols common to both hosting machines. This ends one part of the story.

You then group these queue managers into a topology of your choosing, based on your criteria. One such topology is a cluster. This has nothing to do with the underlying communications. This is basic WMQ.

Another very basic concept is that all the members of a WMQ cluster interconnect with all others and all message tranfer is direct. The location of an FR is irrelevant to this.

Re-read the clusters documentation, carefully. If you have a need to multi-hop clustered messages because of network (for some reason) then you should be thinking about overlapping the clusters.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 6:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 12974

I do not believe that there is anything that stops a queue manager from defining two different CLUSRCVRs that use different network protocols, provided the queue manager is running on a machine that physically supports two different network protocols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 6:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 20877
Location: Ohio, USA

mqjeff wrote:
I do not believe that there is anything that stops a queue manager from defining two different CLUSRCVRs that use different network protocols, provided the queue manager is running on a machine that physically supports two different network protocols.


I don't believe that anything stops that either. I was just pointing out (given the OP talked about multi hop) that the clustered equivalent of a multi-hop is an overlap.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 7:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 12974

Vitor wrote:
the clustered equivalent of a multi-hop is an overlap.

I suppose it depends on what you exactly mean by "overlap".

But, yes, a cluster multi-hop is when qmgr A sends a message to qmgr B over cluster CLUSTER1. Qmgr B is a member of both CLUSTER1 and CLUSTER2. When the message arrives at QmgrB, qmgrB discovers that the destination for the message is actually a queue on qmgrC that belongs to CLUSTER2, and sends the message to qmgr C.

EDIT: My point about the ambiguity of "overlap" is that in the above, qmgr A *only* belongs to CLUSTER1 and qmgr C *only* belongs to CLUSTER2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 7:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 6622
Location: US: west coast, almost.

Multi-hopping (how many p's?) is possible across (through) both cluster- and non-cluster qmgrs. Still not sure why the OP believes this is not the case.
_________________
I'm not paranoid; but the fellow following me is.
I have nothing to hide from the people I trust.

Energizer Bunny arrested! Charged with battery.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Clustering » Mixing LU62 and TCP in cluster?
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.