Author |
Message
|
Gideon |
Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 6:54 am Post subject: Database integration: ESQL vs Database nodes |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 18 Aug 2009 Posts: 403
|
I can either use ESQL with ODBC or Database nodes withJDBC to provide database integration
Which would be the most commonly used interface ?
I would assume that 80 percent of people use ESQL, Would that be correct ? (more or less) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 7:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
If your incoming tree has datatypes more compatible with the database, DB nodes are very convenient.
If your incoming tree needs alot of massaging to get the right data for DB consumption, ESQL is better. _________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Gideon |
Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 7:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 18 Aug 2009 Posts: 403
|
The documentation mentions ODBC and the DB nodes. I thought you could only use the DB nodes with JDBC from previous conversations
Are the DB nodes ODBC, or do I have to write a new JDBC connection ? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 9:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
The DatabaseRetrieve and DatabaseRoute nodes use JDBC. The other Database nodes use ODBC.
You are not, generally, able to use JDBC from within ESQL. You can use JDBC from within a JavaCompute node, and Broker can create and manage the JDBC connections for you. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Gideon |
Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 10:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 18 Aug 2009 Posts: 403
|
Can the Database node use ODBC, JDBC, or either ? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 10:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Gideon wrote: |
Can the Database node use ODBC, JDBC, or either ? |
There are at least 7 database nodes.
The node named EXACTLY "DatabaseRetrieve" uses JDBC.
The node named EXACTLY "DatabaseRoute" uses JDBC.
The OTHER Database nodes use ODBC.
Which node, specifically, do you mean by "Database" node? The node named EXACTLY "Database"? How is that not one of "the other Database nodes"? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Gideon |
Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 10:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 18 Aug 2009 Posts: 403
|
So apparently the JDBC nodes are:
Code: |
DatabaseRetrieve
DatabaseRoute |
and the ODBC nodes are:
Code: |
Database
DataDelete
DataInsert
DataUpdate |
I want to use a database node to pull data from a table using ODBC
So the DatabaseRetrieve node is out
I checked on the Database node, and the doc stated:
Code: |
You define the nature of the interaction by coding ESQL statements that specify the data from the input message, and perhaps transform it in some way (for example, to perform a calculation), and assign the result to a database table. |
Is therre a database node other than DatabaseRetrieve that does not use JDBC, but ODBC that you can pull data from a table with. I know I can do this with a Compute node, but are there any other nodes I can pull data from a table with ?
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 10:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
The Database node will retrieve data from a database using an ESQL SELECT statement.
It will also allow you to insert data into a database using an ESQL INSERT or UPDATE statement. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Gideon |
Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 10:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 18 Aug 2009 Posts: 403
|
Thanks, just one last question
Why does WMB provide a DatabaseRetrieve node using JDBC, but not a corresponding DB node for ODBC ? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
nits_018 |
Posted: Fri May 03, 2013 9:49 am Post subject: insert opertion on DB2 database using JDBC provider Via ESQL |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 24 Oct 2012 Posts: 34
|
Hi guys,
Thanks for this topic it clears a lot of things. I have one small query:
I want to perform a Database insertion on a DB2 table via ESQL using a JDBC provider.
Is there a way out for this or i hav to use JCN only.
Thanks in advance |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Fri May 03, 2013 10:30 am Post subject: Re: insert opertion on DB2 database using JDBC provider Via |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
nits_018 wrote: |
Thanks for this topic it clears a lot of things. I have one small query:
I want to perform a Database insertion on a DB2 table via ESQL using a JDBC provider.
Is there a way out for this or i hav to use JCN only. |
Did you read the thread? How can things be clear and you ask that?
There's no way out for you. You can't use the ESQL statement you say you want to use inside a JCN. You can only use Java inside a JCN. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Fri May 03, 2013 12:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
nits_018 doesn't want to use ESQL from within a JCN.
nits_018 wants to use a JDBC datasource from within ESQL.
Can't do that, either. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
nits_018 |
Posted: Sat May 04, 2013 3:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 24 Oct 2012 Posts: 34
|
@all
Thanks for replying
@mqjeff
So now my requirement is to perform insertion on a DB2 table via ESQL. How can i accomplish that as i do not want to use JCN in my flow.
Please provide your valuable inputs on it |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Sat May 04, 2013 9:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
nits_018 wrote: |
So now my requirement is to perform insertion on a DB2 table via ESQL. How can i accomplish that as i do not want to use JCN in my flow.
Please provide your valuable inputs on it |
Have you looked at the facilities of the ESQL Language to see if you can do this?
The InfoCentre can really help here.
There are also many posts on this forum about DB access. Why not spend some time reviewing them and thinking about your problem? _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
nits_018 |
Posted: Sun May 05, 2013 6:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 24 Oct 2012 Posts: 34
|
Yaa..I have done that and by which i am sure that via ESQL i can perform DB2 database operation..but i am stuck in very silly problem of identifying how to connect to DB2 via ODBC driver. I searched in the infocenter i found that we have a IBM DB2 ODBC driver. So hunt is on from my side but any inputs from you guys will def act as a catalyst. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|