Author |
Message
|
reshds |
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2011 5:57 pm Post subject: mqinput timeout |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 25 Mar 2010 Posts: 37 Location: LA
|
I need to send timeout message when there is a delay of more than 30 seconds in processing.MB6.0
Flow
Mqinput ->compute-> mqreply
Please let me know how to achieve this? _________________ Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2011 10:39 pm Post subject: Re: mqinput timeout |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
reshds wrote: |
I need to send timeout message when there is a delay of more than 30 seconds in processing.MB6.0
Flow
Mqinput ->compute-> mqreply
Please let me know how to achieve this? |
Processing What?
A delay in this flow?
A delay in calling this flow?
Oh, and btw, MB 6.0 is out of support.... _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
reshds |
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2011 10:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 25 Mar 2010 Posts: 37 Location: LA
|
Hi,
I want to sent a timout error message if the processing time is greater than 30 seconds.
Mqinput ->compute-> mqreply
Here compute node retrives the data from db and do some computation and send the response back to mqreply
Appreciate your help in this regard. _________________ Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 12:40 am Post subject: Re: mqinput timeout |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
smdavies99 wrote: |
Oh, and btw, MB 6.0 is out of support.... |
Unless you purchase extended support.  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 2:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
You are using MQ.
MQ is an asychronous protocol.
The only way you could implement this is if you used a separate request/reply flow, and an MQGet node to wait for 30 seconds for the response. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 3:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
mqjeff wrote: |
You are using MQ.
MQ is an asychronous protocol.
The only way you could implement this is if you used a separate request/reply flow, and an MQGet node to wait for 30 seconds for the response. |
I didn't want to say that option as ... well it is so obvious.
However that assumes you know WMQ in a little more detail than most people do these days. A dying art perhaps? _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 4:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
smdavies99 wrote: |
However that assumes you know WMQ in a little more detail than most people do these days. A dying art perhaps? |
How many web developers do you think who actually know HTTP? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
reshds |
Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 11:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 25 Mar 2010 Posts: 37 Location: LA
|
Thanks Jeff, You guys are really helpful to beginners like us.
Quote: |
The only way you could implement this is if you used a separate request/reply flow, and an MQGet node to wait for 30 seconds for the response. |
if you use a seperate message flow then what happen to the current flow.
My current flow is
Mqinput ->compute-> mqreply
Are you suggesting
Mqinput ->compute-> mqreply
mqget -> compute (throw timeout message)->mqreply ?
how does mqinput node knows there is a timeout? _________________ Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 11:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
reshds wrote: |
Are you suggesting
Mqinput ->compute-> mqreply
mqget -> compute (throw timeout message)->mqreply ?
how does mqinput node knows there is a timeout? |
Be ashamed you think you can start a flow with an MQGet node.
What I would do is
MQInput -> MQOutput -> MQGet -> Compute -> MQReply
where the MQOutput node sends a message to your original flow, the MQGet waits 30 seconds for a response and the Compute either generates a timeout message if the MQGet node times oout or doesn't if it didn't, and whichever message is generated goes back through the MQReply. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
reshds |
Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 11:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 25 Mar 2010 Posts: 37 Location: LA
|
Quote: |
Be ashamed you think you can start a flow with an MQGet node.
|
 _________________ Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|