Author |
Message
|
Cogito-Ergo-Sum |
Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2011 6:31 am Post subject: WMB and RTC : Can build BAR in WMB but not in RTC. |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 07 Feb 2006 Posts: 293 Location: Bengaluru, India
|
Hi,
I have a WMB project that references a Java project and a message set. I have a Ant build file that invokes mqsicreatebar in a exec task after the jar task to build the JAR from the Java project. The Ant build goes on perfectly in WMB ToolKit. But, from RTC client, I get an error as one particular message map having errors in it. There is no clarity as to what is the error. Although, I think, this is a red herring as the project builds correctly from WMB ToolKit.
So, has anyone tried building a BAR file, in RTC client, from a project checked-out from Jazz server ? _________________ ALL opinions are welcome.
-----------------------------
Debugging tip:When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
---Sherlock Holmes |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2011 7:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
The error will be in the log file in .metadata directory.
Nothing is a red herring. There is a reason for the error.
Please post what you find in the log file (in a [c o d e] block, please).
Yes, it is possible to have fully automated builds. _________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Cogito-Ergo-Sum |
Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2011 9:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 07 Feb 2006 Posts: 293 Location: Bengaluru, India
|
Yes, I remember seeing the .log file in the .metadata directory. But, it wasn't much of help; to me at least. Let me recreate and post back. _________________ ALL opinions are welcome.
-----------------------------
Debugging tip:When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
---Sherlock Holmes |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Cogito-Ergo-Sum |
Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2011 9:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 07 Feb 2006 Posts: 293 Location: Bengaluru, India
|
Here is what I see
Code: |
!ENTRY org.eclipse.core.resources 2 10035 2011-08-12 23:11:20.714
!MESSAGE A workspace crash was detected. The previous session did not exit normally.
!ENTRY org.eclipse.osgi 2 1 2011-08-12 23:11:27.926
!MESSAGE NLS unused message: MappingMarkers_invalidAggregateFunctionMappableSourceParm in: com.ibm.etools.mft.mapping.builder.plugin.messages
!ENTRY org.eclipse.osgi 2 1 2011-08-12 23:11:27.927
!MESSAGE NLS missing message: MappingMarkers_invalidAggregateFunctionSourceRefParm in: com.ibm.etools.mft.mapping.builder.plugin.messages
!ENTRY org.eclipse.osgi 2 1 2011-08-12 23:11:43.663
!MESSAGE NLS unused message: MQHeader_MQMD_CCSID in: com.ibm.etools.mft.ibmnodes.plugin.ibmnodesresources
!ENTRY org.eclipse.osgi 2 1 2011-08-12 23:11:43.663
!MESSAGE NLS unused message: MQHeader_MQMD_EXPIRY in: com.ibm.etools.mft.ibmnodes.plugin.ibmnodesresources
!ENTRY org.eclipse.osgi 2 1 2011-08-12 23:11:43.663
!MESSAGE NLS unused message: MQHeader_MQDLH_CCSID in: com.ibm.etools.mft.ibmnodes.plugin.ibmnodesresources
!ENTRY org.eclipse.osgi 2 1 2011-08-12 23:11:43.665
!MESSAGE NLS missing message: Error_MQHeader_MQMD_CCSID in: com.ibm.etools.mft.ibmnodes.plugin.ibmnodesresources
!ENTRY org.eclipse.osgi 2 1 2011-08-12 23:11:43.665
!MESSAGE NLS missing message: Error_MQHeader_MQMD_Expiry in: com.ibm.etools.mft.ibmnodes.plugin.ibmnodesresources
!ENTRY org.eclipse.osgi 2 1 2011-08-12 23:11:43.665
!MESSAGE NLS missing message: Error_MQHeader_MQDLH_CCSID in: com.ibm.etools.mft.ibmnodes.plugin.ibmnodesresources
!ENTRY org.eclipse.osgi 2 1 2011-08-12 23:11:43.665
!MESSAGE NLS missing message: Error_JMSHeader_jmsMessageExpiration in: com.ibm.etools.mft.ibmnodes.plugin.ibmnodesresources
!ENTRY org.eclipse.osgi 4 0 2011-08-12 23:11:43.825
!MESSAGE An unexpected runtime error has occurred.
!STACK 0
java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: org.eclipse.wst.server.core.internal.ResourceManager$ServerResourceChangeListener
at org.eclipse.wst.server.core.internal.ResourceManager.init(ResourceManager.java:202)
at org.eclipse.wst.server.core.internal.ResourceManager.<init>(ResourceManager.java:176)
at org.eclipse.wst.server.core.internal.ResourceManager.getInstance(ResourceManager.java:262)
at org.eclipse.wst.server.core.internal.ServerPlugin$1.bundleChanged(ServerPlugin.java:277)
at org.eclipse.osgi.framework.internal.core.BundleContextImpl.dispatchEvent(BundleContextImpl.java:1202)
at org.eclipse.osgi.framework.eventmgr.EventManager.dispatchEvent(EventManager.java:189)
at org.eclipse.osgi.framework.eventmgr.EventManager$EventThread.run(EventManager.java:291)
!ENTRY org.eclipse.wst.server.core 4 0 2011-08-12 23:11:43.827
!MESSAGE FrameworkEvent.ERROR
!STACK 0
java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: org.eclipse.wst.server.core.internal.ResourceManager$ServerResourceChangeListener
at org.eclipse.wst.server.core.internal.ResourceManager.init(ResourceManager.java:202)
at org.eclipse.wst.server.core.internal.ResourceManager.<init>(ResourceManager.java:176)
at org.eclipse.wst.server.core.internal.ResourceManager.getInstance(ResourceManager.java:262)
at org.eclipse.wst.server.core.internal.ServerPlugin$1.bundleChanged(ServerPlugin.java:277)
at org.eclipse.osgi.framework.internal.core.BundleContextImpl.dispatchEvent(BundleContextImpl.java:1202)
at org.eclipse.osgi.framework.eventmgr.EventManager.dispatchEvent(EventManager.java:189)
at org.eclipse.osgi.framework.eventmgr.EventManager$EventThread.run(EventManager.java:291) |
I even tried removing the .snap file as mentioned here. I referred that link as I was also seeing an error message similar to the following
Code: |
org.eclipse.core.internal.dtree.ObjectNotFoundException: Tree element /DBAdminHelper/WebRoot/WEB-INF/struts-config.xml not found. |
The actual mqsicreatebar command being used itself is similar to what is documented in the infocenter or in this developerWorks article. _________________ ALL opinions are welcome.
-----------------------------
Debugging tip:When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
---Sherlock Holmes |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2011 10:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
Please post the lines in the log file that relate to mqsicreatebar command line.
This is an easy problem to fix, I can walk you through the resolution. I need to see your actual command line for mqsicreatebar that is written in the log file. _________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Cogito-Ergo-Sum |
Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2011 7:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 07 Feb 2006 Posts: 293 Location: Bengaluru, India
|
These are the lines in .log file related to mqsicreatebar.
Code: |
!SESSION 2011-08-12 23:14:49.419 -----------------------------------------------
eclipse.buildId=unknown
java.fullversion=J2RE 1.5.0 IBM J9 2.3 Linux x86-32 j9vmxi3223-20071005 (JIT enabled)
J9VM - 20071004_14218_lHdSMR
JIT - 20070820_1846ifx1_r8
GC - 200708_10
BootLoader constants: OS=linux, ARCH=x86, WS=gtk, NL=en_GB
Framework arguments: -noupdate -application com.ibm.etools.mft.bar.cmdline.mqsicreatebar -b /home/projects/workspace-rtc/NewProject0000-BAR/NewProject00-00/NewProject00/NewProject00.bar -cleanBuild -p NewProject00-00 NewProject00-00Java Request-Payload -o NewProject00-00/NewProject00/NewProject00Main.msgflow NewProject00-00Java/NewProject00/NewProject00-00Java.jar Request-Payload/Request-Payload/messageSet.mset -wmbtData
Command-line arguments: -noupdate -os linux -ws gtk -arch x86 -application com.ibm.etools.mft.bar.cmdline.mqsicreatebar -data /home/projects/workspace-rtc/NewProject0000-BAR -b /home/projects/workspace-rtc/NewProject0000-BAR/NewProject00-00/NewProject00/NewProject00.bar -cleanBuild -p NewProject00-00 NewProject00-00Java Request-Payload -o NewProject00-00/NewProject00/NewProject00Main.msgflow NewProject00-00Java/NewProject00/NewProject00-00Java.jar Request-Payload/Request-Payload/messageSet.mset -wmbtData |
_________________ ALL opinions are welcome.
-----------------------------
Debugging tip:When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
---Sherlock Holmes |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Cogito-Ergo-Sum |
Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2011 7:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 07 Feb 2006 Posts: 293 Location: Bengaluru, India
|
The other thing I noted is, there is no difference in the error output even when the mqsicreatebar is run directly from the command line. The mqsicreatebar works correctly when the workspace points to WMB ToolKit workspace; but not to the RTC workspace.
In an earlier post about mqsicreatebar, you mentioned creation of a new workspace. So every time, I have to build a BAR, I need to have a new RTC workspace ? Currently, in RTC client, I have a workspace, say WRKRTC and under that an Eclipse project, say WMBPROJ01. This Eclipse project imports the WMB ToolKit project and, therefore, in the mqsicreatebar I mention WRKRTC/WMBPROJ1 for the -data option. With this, I was hoping to create different WMBPROJn whenever I have to build.
I found this APAR too that sounds similar to the issue I am facing. Wonder, if this applies to me .... ? _________________ ALL opinions are welcome.
-----------------------------
Debugging tip:When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
---Sherlock Holmes |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2011 10:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
Very good! You are on the right track.
We will solve this problem by simplifying the complex.
Let's prove to ourselves that mqsicreatebar actually works. Therefore, from your WMB toolkit workspace, manually create a command line that calls mqsicreatebar and successfully builds your barfile.
If you get stuck on an error, like you did before, post the mqsicreatebar command line from the log file as well as the error that is getting generated. If you have questions, post your questions and we'll address them one at a time. _________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Cogito-Ergo-Sum |
Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2011 10:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 07 Feb 2006 Posts: 293 Location: Bengaluru, India
|
lancelotlinc wrote: |
Let's prove to ourselves that mqsicreatebar actually works. Therefore, from your WMB toolkit workspace, manually create a command line that calls mqsicreatebar and successfully builds your barfile.
|
Yes, this is confirmed. That is, the mqsicreatebar works correctly; both from command line when pointing to WMB workspace and when invoked from Ant from WMB ToolKit.
When invoking from command line with RTC workspace, it fails with a message as there is an error in a message flow or a message map or whatever is it's whim. This is the same behaviour in case of invocation from Ant.
As for the log file contents, I have already posted above. _________________ ALL opinions are welcome.
-----------------------------
Debugging tip:When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
---Sherlock Holmes |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2011 10:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
You cannot have any red-x in your workspace, even if the red-x is not related to the bar you are building. Do you have a red-x in the RTC workspace? _________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Cogito-Ergo-Sum |
Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 07 Feb 2006 Posts: 293 Location: Bengaluru, India
|
Quote: |
You cannot have any red-x in your workspace, even if the red-x is not related to the bar you are building. Do you have a red-x in the RTC workspace? |
No; none; neither in WMB nor in RTC toolkits. _________________ ALL opinions are welcome.
-----------------------------
Debugging tip:When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
---Sherlock Holmes |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2011 6:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
RTC may be marking several files in the workspace as read only. These would not show up as errors in the Problems view, but would still prevent mqsicreatebar from running correct. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Cogito-Ergo-Sum |
Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2011 12:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 07 Feb 2006 Posts: 293 Location: Bengaluru, India
|
I had noticed another behaviour.
I import a WMB project as 'Existing Eclipse project' in RTC workspace but do not share it in Jazz server. Then I build it from Ant or command line. It would fail with a message as an error in some message flow. Whereas, the same message flow would successfully build in WMB workspace.
Now, I import a WMB project as 'Existing Eclipse project' in RTC workspace and also share it in Jazz server. Then I build it from Ant or command line. It would fail with an error as being unable to read the .project file. The message would be to the effect that, the contents of .project were changed and hence could not be built. Of course, there would be no difference between the WMB and RTC .project. And, same message flow would successfully build in WMB workspace.
The behaviour I mention in my original post is when I create an Eclipse project in RTC workspace. Then, I import from file system the folder that is a WMB project. This causes the build to go correctly; until this case where there is a Java project and a message set.
BTW, all this (WMB 6.1 ToolKit and RTC 2.0 client) is on Linux (Ubuntu 10.04) _________________ ALL opinions are welcome.
-----------------------------
Debugging tip:When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
---Sherlock Holmes |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Sun Aug 14, 2011 10:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Go back, and re-install RTC into the same Eclipse shell that WMB is using. This may mean that you have to choose the right level of the RTC client install.
You are running into issues because the RTC Eclipse base does not have the necessary tools to build WMB projects (because it doesn't have WMB) and issues because the WMB Eclipse doesn't know about RTC additions.
And thirdly likely because RTC is marking files (perhaps particularly .project) as read-only. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Cogito-Ergo-Sum |
Posted: Mon Aug 15, 2011 6:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 07 Feb 2006 Posts: 293 Location: Bengaluru, India
|
Quote: |
Go back, and re-install RTC into the same Eclipse shell that WMB is using. This may mean that you have to choose the right level of the RTC client install.
|
The WMB 6.1 and RTC clients cannot be in the same package group because of Eclipse differences. So they have been installed separately. The WMB 7.0 and RTC 2.0 can be installed in the same package group. We are on 6.1; despite screaming for upgrade to 7.0; but, that is a separate story.
Secondly, as I see it, this is not as much about the Eclipse client as it is about the mqsicreatebar command. Outside of Eclipse, when this command is run from the command line, it does not work with RTC workspace. It works with WMB workspace.
Quote: |
You are running into issues because the RTC Eclipse base does not have the necessary tools to build WMB projects (because it doesn't have WMB) and issues because the WMB Eclipse doesn't know about RTC additions. |
Does it matter ? Firstly, RTC has Ant; and Ant can invoke the mqsicreatebar command. Secondly, why should WMB Eclipse know about RTC or CVS or SVN or git or what not ... ?
Quote: |
And thirdly likely because RTC is marking files (perhaps particularly .project) as read-only. |
umm...does it really ? I don't think the file permissions were altered. Will check. _________________ ALL opinions are welcome.
-----------------------------
Debugging tip:When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
---Sherlock Holmes |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|