ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity

MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups

Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages

RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Performance Monitoring » MQ response time

MQ response time « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
sandeep1234
PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 11:35 am    Post subject: MQ response time Reply with quote

HI,

I am fairly new to MQ adminstration. I have a requirement to log the time when a message was put and when the response was recieved with a precission of 0.01 seconds.

both MQ server and Applilcation are on the same windows machine and We have queues defined with persistence option set to not persistent.

can you suggest how this could be achieved

Thanks in advance
Vitor
PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 12:02 pm    Post subject: Re: MQ response time Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

sandeep1234 wrote:
when the response was recieved

Is this the response to the put message? Or is the put message the response?

By "received" do you mean put to the queue, made available to the consuming application or consumed by the application?

Are you trying to capture total round trip time or the time WMQ takes to handle the message excluding any application overhead?

sandeep1234 wrote:
We have queues defined with persistence option set to not persistent.

Before someone else says it, queues are neither persistent nor non-persistent; persistence is a property of a message. Search the forum for seemingly endless debates on this point.

sandeep1234 wrote:
can you suggest how this could be achieved

The queue manager monitoring and statistics would seem to be a place to start.

fjb_saper