ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ Installation/Configuration Supportmultiple instance of same channel on same MQ box

Post new topicReply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
multiple instance of same channel on same MQ box View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
ankurlodhi
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 11:00 am Post subject: multiple instance of same channel on same MQ box Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 248

I have a very weird condition here we have a box which has server connection channel with 3 diff client boxes.

suppose the Server name is "MAIN"

first client box is A
second client box is B
third client box is C

the server connection channel name is CLIENT.TO.MAIN

now this channel is communicating with all the three boxes A,B,C

but the interesting thing is that .

when i give the command dis chs(*)

the result is i get is

there are :
3 instances of channel CLIENT.TO.MAIN between A and MAIN

4 instances of channel CLIENT.TO.MAIN between B and MAIN

3 instances of channel CLIENT.TO.MAIN between C and MAIN

the version of mq server is 5.3

i dont understand how this configuration was does anyone know how can this type of configuration be created ?


cause i have to recreate this configuration with version 7.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 11:23 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 5961

That type of configuration can be created by using the same CCDT (Client Channel Definition Table) file for all three client boxes, or setting the same value in the MQSERVER variable on the client boxes. Read the clients manual, then de-construct what has been done on each client box to find out which. Do NOT replicate the set-up to the new infrastructure - give each client box its own SVRCONN so that if any of the clients go totally tonto you can kill that connection without prejudicing the others.
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ankurlodhi
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 12:01 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 248

i understand that one same amqclchl.tab file is used for communicating with different client boxes at the same time.

but i have some doubts.

is there any limited no of server connection channel for a server.
how to make a amqclchl.tab file
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 12:07 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25365
Location: Ohio, USA

ankurlodhi wrote:
is there any limited no of server connection channel for a server.


Yes. Each queue manager has a limit, this limit is whatever you've configured it to be for that queue manager.

ankurlodhi wrote:
how to make a amqclchl.tab file


As described in the Client documentation
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 12:08 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 5961

ankurlodhi wrote:
i understand that one same amqclchl.tab file is used for communicating with different client boxes at the same time.

Good, then you should have a good understanding of the current infrastructure.

ankurlodhi wrote:
...but i have some doubts.

Don't we all!

ankurlodhi wrote:
...is there any limited no of server connection channel for a server.

Yes, the physical specification of the server will be the limiting factor for all channels, e.g. memory, but luckily V7.0 of WMQ has ways of limiting the number of connections by clients to each SVRCONN.

ankurlodhi wrote:
...how to make a amqclchl.tab file

By reading the manual and understanding how it all ties together.
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 12:10 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25365
Location: Ohio, USA

And presumably this is the next stage of the rather ill-conceived migration you discussed here?
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ankurlodhi
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 12:30 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 248

No vitor this is not that issue we have been some server boxs to create. its been resolved.

I haven't used the CCDT (client channel definition table) till now.
so I am bit confused how is it possible about it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 12:32 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 5961

ankurlodhi wrote:
...I haven't used the CCDT (client channel definition table) till now.
so I am bit confused how is it possible about it.

All your confusion will be resolved by reading the Client and Intercommunication manuals, also by 'playing' around in a sandbox to become familiar with it.
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ankurlodhi
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 12:44 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 248

it all comes to one question in the end.

can there be 2 channel with same channel name and diff conname on queue manager
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 12:49 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25365
Location: Ohio, USA

ankurlodhi wrote:
it all comes to one question in the end.


How did you reach that conclusion?

ankurlodhi wrote:
can there be 2 channel with same channel name and diff conname on queue manager


No, channels are matched by name. So you can't create 2 channels with the same name on the same queue manager.

But I don't think that's what you meant. Because that's not what you described in your original post.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ankurlodhi
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 12:55 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 248

the condition i am viewing is having many channels with same channel name but they have diff connname and one one single port there can be 100 outstanding requests.



so i think if the ans to the question is a yes. picture will be a bit more clear for me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 1:01 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25365
Location: Ohio, USA

ankurlodhi wrote:
the condition i am viewing is having many channels with same channel name but they have diff connname and one one single port there can be 100 outstanding requests.


So the 3 channels in your original post from A, B & C all go to MAIN and all have different conames?

The fact that there's 100 different outstanding requests is irrelevant.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mvic
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 1:02 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 2050

What you see with DIS CHS(*) is the status of instances of channels.

On the server you can have a SVRCONN channel definition (let's say it is called MYSVR).

You can have 10 clients connected using the channel MYSVR. They will appear as 10 separate instances of channel MYSVR when you run DIS CHS(*).

You don't have 10 channel definitions, but you do have 10 channel instances.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ankurlodhi
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 1:22 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 248

vitor : the server connection channel from A,B,C has there respetive IP address so the conname is different but all the channel form A are identical with the same conname , and same applies for B and C

but as MVIC said :
On the server you can have a SVRCONN channel definition (let's say it is called MYSVR).

You can have 10 clients connected using the channel MYSVR. They will appear as 10 separate instances of channel MYSVR when you run DIS CHS(*).

You don't have 10 channel definitions, but you do have 10 channel instances.


I have come to understand how is it happening.

Thanks MVIC

but still I have question?
how is it configured that we can use 10 channel instances?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 1:32 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8219
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

ankurlodhi wrote:

but still I have question?
how is it configured that we can use 10 channel instances?

Look at the v7 documentation: MQSC manual, Intercommunications manual. Search for a channel attribute named something like maximum channel instances.
_________________
There are two types of people in this world:
1) Those that can extrapolate from incomplete data
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next Page 1 of 3

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ Installation/Configuration Supportmultiple instance of same channel on same MQ box
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.